Shadow is a mystery to me!!

Status
Not open for further replies.
Current dose is .5 units of BCP PZI U100. AM pre-shot today: 245, +4: 334. Once again, curve seems very flat and certainly higher than I would like. I am wondering if the PZI is working much but I guess the only way I will know is to increase his dose again and see what happens. I am also not clear about when the PZI is kicking in, etc. I am going to call Vet Pharm and talk to a pharmacist there. Maybe get another bottle of PZI, U40 this time so I can do smaller and larger doses. His appetite is BIG and he is peeing sticky large volumes. Continues on Clavamox. I am also reviewing the Lantus protocol, in case a switch is in the offing. Any thoughts are welcomed******
 
The +4 is puzzling. Let's see what the rest of the cycle looks like. He is on a tiny dose so an increase may be a good idea, but I'd wait till the day is over.
 
The +4 is puzzling. Let's see what the rest of the cycle looks like. He is on a tiny dose so an increase may be a good idea, but I'd wait till the day is over.
Sue - just now +8 was 398; I will also get a pre-shot and see what that looks like. He is ravenous and eats green beans soaked in tuna at each test, etc. That may be a factor but seems like it shouldn't. I am leaning towards increasing his dose this evening to a skinny one unit. Thoughts?

Perhaps I should break down his meals to 4-5 smaller. Right now he gets 1.5 cans FF mixed with 1/4-1/3 cups of green beans pre-shot with tuna green beans in between. Maybe 3/4 can FF plus green beans over 4 meals. I dunno. First things first.
 
I think I would just do a full one unit. He seems like he needs more insulin. It wouldn't hurt to divide his meals up. It may make him feel like he is getting more treat. Some people think small frequent emails help support the pancreas.
 
Will do re: the 1 unit. Shadow gets 'fed' every time I test him so he has been getting frequent meals the last few days for sure. He is a lot like my good old kitty Asia was. I couldn't test him unless he was eating something! Shadow is much better about eating the green beans than Az was! I sometimes wonder if Asia has reincarnated as Shadow......thanks for your help, Sue**
 
How funny that he likes green beans!
If they weren't soaked in tuna, he would never touch them. I tried to get away with mixing some meat baby food into a broth and soaking the beans in that; a total failure. I did get a chance to test for ketones and he is negative, thankfully. At +5.5 hours this evening, he was 310. I wish I could stay up longer for another test but we both are done, eh? ;)
 
Remember you have to sleep! What good are you to Shadow if you never get any rest? I know the feeling of wanting to stay up and test all the time but we all must get sleep at some point!
 
Nice number! Did you stick with one unit?
Sue - yes, I did. Interesting to see how it goes this evening. I will probably get one more bg at around 10 or 11 pm when Shadow has his Clavamox. I am wondering if the PZI is lasting beyond the 12 hours but time will tell on that. Shadow himself has gained some weight and practically ate my hand off when I was preparing his food. I think he is more animated, growling at me over food. I am not worried about that but he only became an inside kitty two weeks ago so maybe he is feeling more at home as well as a little better physically. He is due in to the vet for a check in a week or so. Hopefully I won't have to pull her teeth to get some short-acting insulin. I always feel better when it's at least available. Those emergency runs can cost hundreds of dollars.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top