Shadow doing better at lower dose?

Status
Not open for further replies.
In order to get a better picture of the curve I would probably recommend getting more tests right before you give a dose. Its great that there are mid-cycle tests that you've done but it's hard to tell if there's any bouncing going on without those pre-shot tests. :)
 
In order to get a better picture of the curve I would probably recommend getting more tests right before you give a dose. Its great that there are mid-cycle tests that you've done but it's hard to tell if there's any bouncing going on without those pre-shot tests. :)
He was just 433 at +9. I am not sure what you mean by bouncing....you mean rebound?
 
I agree. He did get better numbers at the lower dose. You might try going back to 0.5 for a cycle and see if things improve. Has anything else changed? Litter box and appetite still okay?
 
I agree. He did get better numbers at the lower dose. You might try going back to 0.5 for a cycle and see if things improve. Has anything else changed? Litter box and appetite still okay?
Sue - the peeing has increased with the numbers but I started him back on Clavamox this evening, just in case the urinary tract has flared. He was 347 pm pre-shot and at +4, 397. That was with .5 units. I will see how he is in the morning. I wish that I had some Regular or Humulin N insulin to bring down those higher numbers but I will wait through another cycle to see how he does. If it's a UTI, the Clavamox ought to make a difference. I am working with a new vet who is reluctant to give me a short-acting insulin so I will try to maintain some consistency with the PZI. I did discuss a switch to Lantus - we will see. I appreciate your thoughts - thank you****
 
A UTI would definitely explain the increased urination and the higher numbers.
301 pre-shot this morning after dropping his dose back to .5 U and starting back on Clavamox yesterday evening. He is ravenous but looks like he is feeling a bit better. Yesterday at his highest numbers, he sat on the stove top and turned his back on me. He is also eating the hell out of green beans tossed lightly with either tuna juice or watered down baby food. And he is trying to break into the overhead cabinets where the kitty treats reside. Will test at +4 and +8 if I can and see what that reveals!
 
Glad to hear that he seems to be feeling better! Keep us posted...I know how tough those urinary issues can be.
 
That sounds better, Diane. Hope the Clavamox gets him back on track. Does he have the usual symptoms of a UTI - going often, acting like it's painful? You may hav already read it but Dr. Lisa has great info on UTI issues:

http://www.catinfo.org/?link=urinarytracthealth
Thanks for the link, Sue. I will reread it! Dr. Lisa is my go-to on most things, for sure. Shadow was 288 at +3 and is busily chowing down on flavored green beans. Thank God for low glycemic veggies! I 'think' he may have been rebounding on the increased insulin dose since he's only had two doses of Clavamox. However, I will see the Clavamox through for a 10-day stint to make sure. I would like to get a handle on this in the next week since I start my seasonal job on 3/15. My plan is to keep the dose at .5 units for another cycle or two, or three. We will see. If he needs really small doses of PZI, I may have to go to diluted insulin to be able to measure it. If that is the case, I wonder if Lantus might work better. I have never used it and I guess I will go read the protocol in detail. What I did with Velvet that got her into remission was using PZI and a short-acting insulin to keep her numbers well below 200. Any thoughts are very welcomed***
 
Glad to hear that he seems to be feeling better! Keep us posted...I know how tough those urinary issues can be.
Rachel, he is trying to wear a hole in the kitchen cupboard to get at the treats. I may have to put them in the freezer!!! Since I am doing two things at once - lowering the insulin dose AND starting him on Clavamox, I don't really know which is working but I suspect it's the lower dose. When he was diagnosed, I changed his food to wet and started him on Clavamox. I didn't start the insulin until 5 days later. His numbers dropped dramatically - I suspect the diet change did it but the Clavamox may have helped too. Always a guessing game, eh? Thanks for your words of encouragement!
 
The insulin I am using is U100 so I guess that won't work, unless I am missing something. I have both U40 and U100 syringes but only U100 BCP PZI.
insulin. BG at +6 was 285 and I found out how Shadow was able to get the cabinet doors open enough to slide one arm in and dig out the salmon treats. Duct tape has been applied.!!
 
Sorry, didn't realize your BCP was 100U. It comes in both. Are you using 0.5 needles? If so, you should be able to give smaller gradients. This is a picture of the 0.5 gradients

http://s214.photobucket.com/user/jillsphotos2/media/Lantus Group/resource.gif.html

Duct tape is such a wonderful invention!
I may have to invest in some U40 if it looks like Shadow will require mini doses, eh? I do have the half-unit markings on my current syringes so that is a help. The most I can do with that is 'fat' or 'skinny' half units so maybe I will call BCP Pharm this week and discuss it. In the meantime, I am going to keep Shadow at .5 units and see how that falls out. His pre-shot just now was 338 so his curve is fairly flat. I can see I am going to need some designer duct tape that looks pretty in the kitchen, at the rate Shadow is going.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top