Shadow 81 at +4!

Status
Not open for further replies.
Shadow and I are working on the art of testing and thankfully I was able to get a +4 test today. 81 is a great number; it would help if I had more info on his pre-shots and +6 and +8! We are working on it. He is now having a snack of hi-protein food. His appetite has noticeably decreased as has his urinary output. I increased his dose to 1 unit last nite and this morning; am hoping to get more tests in today before going back to .5 units. It's a good thing I can be home with him up until the end of the week.
 
This sounds good and a safe number for +4. Just in case: Remember that 50 is the intervention point. Just a little regular low carb first, test in 20 minutes. If still dropping, then a teaspoon or so of the gravy off higher carb and retest in 20 minutes. If still dropping honey on his gums or mixed with the gravy. You relax after 3 rising tests.

It looks like I might be the only one around today and I am leaving for a few hours. If he drops lower and you want help, post on the Health forum.

Can I set you up with a spreadsheet? So much safer to get advice when we know his history. If you want help, click on my aviator and start a private conversation. I can get it done later this afternoon.
 
Understanding the spreadsheet/grid:

The colored headings at the top are the ranges of glucose values. They are color-coded to clue you in as to meaning.

Each day is 1 row. Each column stores different data for the day.

From left to right, you enter
the Date in the first column
the AMPS (morning, pre-shot, test) in the 2nd column
the Units given (turquoise column)

Then, there are 11 columns labeled +1 through +11
If you test at +5 (5 hours after the shot), you enter the test number in the +5 column
If you test at +7 (7 hours after the shot), you enter the test number in the +7 column
and so on.

Halfway across the page is the column for PMPS (evening, pre-shot, test)
To the right is another turquoise column for Units given at the evening shot.

There is second set of columns labeled +1 through +11
If you snag a before bed test at +3, you enter the test number in the +3 column.

We separate day and night numbers like that because many cats go lower at night.

The nadir is the lowest glucose between shots. There is a general period when it will happen which is specific to the insulin being used and testing then helps make sure your cat doesn't go too low.

It is merely a grid for storing the info; no math required.
 
I'll try to check in, but I've got to run out for a bit too. How far away from +6 are you?
 
This sounds good and a safe number for +4. Just in case: Remember that 50 is the intervention point. Just a little regular low carb first, test in 20 minutes. If still dropping, then a teaspoon or so of the gravy off higher carb and retest in 20 minutes. If still dropping honey on his gums or mixed with the gravy. You relax after 3 rising tests.

It looks like I might be the only one around today and I am leaving for a few hours. If he drops lower and you want help, post on the Health forum.

Can I set you up with a spreadsheet? So much safer to get advice when we know his history. If you want help, click on my aviator and start a private conversation. I can get it done later this afternoon.


Sue - I 'think' this is the spreadsheet so far! I will figure out how to do it on a more permanent basis later. https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet...xktV7uVpZ0hBu-cPzsVF9vb29k/edit#gid=361360320
 
It looks close. Over on the right hand side of your copy (saved to your computer) pull down the share menu. Choose "share with anyone with the link"
 
It looks close. Over on the right hand side of your copy (saved to your computer) pull down the share menu. Choose "share with anyone with the link"
Thanks, Sue. I didn't notice that but it is fixed now......I think! No test this morning yet, will try for +6. However, less pee and he ate a can of FF for breakfast. Will see!!!! He seems to be a little more interactive but not sure if that is simply his adjustment to being OUR inside cat, among others.
 
Now it works. You need to include it in your signature so it comes up each time you post, updated. So, go to the left hand top of the spreadsheet you have saved to your computer, choose Publish to the Web. Copy the url. Go to the website, bring up your signature and paste the long URL into that box, choose Submit.

Why is it hard to get an amps? Maybe we can troubleshoot that with you. With the small amount of insulin he is getting and the low numbers you are seeing, shooting blind is scary. If you shoot into a low preshot, it can go on to drop lower during the day.
 
Now it works. You need to include it in your signature so it comes up each time you post, updated. So, go to the left hand top of the spreadsheet you have saved to your computer, choose Publish to the Web. Copy the url. Go to the website, bring up your signature and paste the long URL into that box, choose Submit.

Why is it hard to get an amps? Maybe we can troubleshoot that with you. With the small amount of insulin he is getting and the low numbers you are seeing, shooting blind is scary. If you shoot into a low preshot, it can go on to drop lower during the day.
 
Shadow and I are still getting better at testing. Just now I was able to get a test at +10, which will serve as a pre-shot. It was 191, following a +4 of 171 this morning. I will try to get a test later in his cycle this evening, hopefully at +6, which is around midnight. He did have a snack of Temptations, which is how I get him to hold still(sort of) and some FF following during the day. Information at +6 and +8 will help assess how low he is going, etc. He weights in at around 10 pounds, and is getting a 1-1.5 cans of FF pre-shot and .5 cans as snacks in between. His appetite is decreasing and his peeing is much less again today.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top