Shaak, PMPS 334, Feb. 12, 2016

Status
Not open for further replies.

Cathie and Shaak Ti (GA)

Member Since 2016
AMPS 78

@Marje and Gracie @Sue and Oliver (GA) , or anyone else who might be around

I know I jumped the gun on this and now we won't know how Shaak would have done the rest of the day . I gave her her regular food with a drop of karo and a tea of gravy lovers mixed in. I was scared and it was first thing of the morning. After I calmed down I knew I overdid it but by then it was too late.
 
Last edited:
I just kind of freaked out. I know I shouldn't have, I used to have to check my BG every morning and sometimes I woke up with below 100 and I just ate a little meal and tested again 30 minutes later. I just got scared with Shaak.
 
Wow, it's a good surprise, too!


Sue's right it's always a good idea to retest when you get something you don't expect....
78 is an awesome number, no danger at all (because she hasn't had a shot today (right?))
 
Good to know. Still too low to shoot but moving up. Might be partly the karo as it acts pretty fast.

Good news and bad news.

Good news. 1. Skip the shot, catch up on your rest and regroup later. 2. In case you needed it, a retort to the vet who said you shouldn't be testing. Can't imagine what insulin would have done to that number... 3). Great number. Shows her pancreas is most likely waking up and helping out. The reason I think so is that it would be very unusual for N to last 12 hours and still give you such a low number.

Bad news. 1. She is likely to be running high today. (The way the pancreas seems to work is that it wakes up awhile and helps out and then takes a rest. It rarely starts working again and continues from then on - although anything is possible). 2. If her pancreas is starting to contribute, dosing becomes "interesting". With ProZinc - another in and out insulin - people chase the number. They wait until the number rises to their target and shoot a tiny amount. Then they wait again, most often off any kind of a schedule and more than 12 hours apart.

You might devote some time today to practice drops, as it looks like mini dosing will be in your future. Pull up some colored water in a syringe to a level you are confident seeing - maybe 0.5. Let out the insulin in drops, counting as you do so. Now you know how many drops are in a 0.5 dose. So if you want to give 2 drops, pull up 0.5 and let out drops, save 2.

And take some time to give yourself a lot of credit. How much you have dealt with and learned in such a short time. You have done an amazing job keeping your sweet kitty safe and healthy.
 
I have such nervous hands, I was diagnosed with Rheumatoid Arthritis about six months ago, I don't know how good I am going to be at releasing drops as so far I have barely been able to get the dose right, my son has had to help me several times draw up the needle as I could not do it on my own. Unfortunately he goes to college several days a week and all different hours so I can't depend on his being able to help. I will start practicing as soon as I get back home from taking my daughter to her day program/school.
 
when it goes up is there anything else I can give her besides insulin today to help it come back down, like a certain food or something... I know that is stupid to ask, if you could do that no one would need to be on insulin. :facepalm:
 
There are no stupid questions! And that one has a pretty good answer. Since we tend to think small frequent meals stimulate the pancreas, feeding her some small snacks of her regular low carb could help. Can't hurt. Just be sure to stop 2 hours before her pre shot test tonight.
 
Just getting up. Ok...this is just so totally bizarre. I actually dreamt she was 73 this morning. How weird is that?

@Sue and Oliver....why can't she shoot the rise as soon as we know Shaak is over 200 after a couple hours when food/karo wears off?
 
She certainly could, Marje and still can at any point. I just figured she had a pretty complicated schedule and maybe she didn't want to mess it up. But Cathie, as soon as she is over 200 - and anytime after, you could shoot. Just be sure you can test after to catch an early drop if there is one.
 
She isn't terribly high, but she still needs insulin. Do you think you could pull up your 0.25 and let out some? I would think she could use a drop or two.
 
I'd try that. And then get a before bed test and maybe one later if you can. If you can leave food out for her, that'd be good, so if she feels herself dropping low, she can eat and bring herself up.

I know you are probably nervous about giving her anything - I am- but I don't think it is wise to leave her in the 300s.
 
how many times if she does not drop low do you think I should test her, like four or more, I know I tend to test at +2, but tonight I am testing at +1 and +2, and probably +3 as well. I will go to bed at around +5.5, and then one more before morning, or do you think that is overkill?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top