Severe Blood Glucose drop after 1.5 weeks on Lantus--Help!

Status
Not open for further replies.

ekoren

Member
Hello FDMB people,

I am writing to draw on the collective wisdom here. I'm trying to see if anyone else here has experience with severe drop in blood glucose after 1.5 weeks on insulin, and get your perspective on next steps to discuss with my vet.

Brief review: I have 2 brother cats, Sander and Tree age 10.5 years, diagnosed diabetic in January 2010. I was about to leave the state for 6 weeks when they were diagnosed, and, in coordination with my vet, decided to just change their diet to low-carb canned food until I returned from my trip. When I returned, 1.5 weeks ago, their blood glucose levels were still relatively high, so we put them both on insulin. They are now on 2.0 units of Lantus twice a day. (Sander, who weighs more, started at 2.7 units twice a day, but he had a hypo on day 2, so we lowered his dose to 2.0.). This morning, their twelfth day since starting insulin, I tested blood glucose levels at 48 for Sander and 59 for Tree. I called the vet, and we agreed that I would not give them insulin this morning, and I'd check Blood glucose tonight and only give insulin if it had risen above 180. My vet was surprised at the low numbers. She wasn't sure what the next steps would be but surmised that maybe they are not true diabetics, and that we'll have to check blood numbers over the next day or two and see where we are.

My questions to you all are: Have you seen this before? If so, what is the best course to take next? What are my options: lowering insulin dose or frequency, eliminating insulin? Is it possible that 1.5 weeks of insulin was all the cats needed?

My charts are linked in my signature. Please note, that my cats (and, thus, I) HATE doing blood tests, and that I decided, in coordination with the vet and to preserve my sanity, that I would commit to testing once a week and more when necessary. I understand that it would be better to test regularly, but it's just not what I can do.

Thanks for all your help,

Elisa
 
Re: Severe Blood Glucose drop after 1.5 weeks on Lantus--Hel

Well, Elisa, this looks like good (although a little scary for you) news! It does look like your 2 units is too high a dose.

Have you seen our Lantus support group? viewforum.php?f=9 It has some great informational stickies on the top of the page. Read them, as everyone will ask if you have. :mrgreen: And then post as a NEWBIE NEEDING ADVICE. They have seen all sorts of scenerios and should be able to guide you with dosing.

It is wonderful that you are hometesting and keeping track of the doses/ numbers. Your history will be very helpful.

Edited to add: Looks like you posted over there. Fantastic!
 
Re: Severe Blood Glucose drop after 1.5 weeks on Lantus--Hel

Generally, you want to start around 1 unit, twice a day with Lantus, and at a minimum, test pre-shot and 6 hours after shots (+6) to see how it is working and to determine dose adjustments. Starting @ 2 units may have been too high for both cats, but only 1 showed it by going into hypo.

A sudden drop after mostly high readings may indicate the dose was too high.

Dosing for Lantus is based on the nadir - the lowest point in a 12 hour cycle between shots - rather than the pre-shot level. In general, if you are new to Lantus, we suggest you not give insulin below a 200 blood glucose; if you are very experienced and have data to support it, then the cut-point becomes 150.

Definitely read over the stickies in the Lantus forum. They explain dosing, what to do with low values, and more.

Also, be aware that changes in diet or illness may affect glucose levels.
 
Re: Severe Blood Glucose drop after 1.5 weeks on Lantus--Hel

I agree, 2 units sounds like it is too high. We generally recommend starting at 1 unit twice a day and only giving insulin if the BG is over 200. Once you know how the dose works in your cat, you may be able to lower that 'don't shoot' number.

I suggest starting over at 1 unit and keep using that dose for at least one week before increasing it. Then if you do need to increase it, only increase it by either .25 or .5 a unit. Again keep using the new dose for at least a week before adjusting it again (unless you find the new dose is too much insulin, then decrease it). One week at a consistant dose is needed so the body has time to adjust to it and you can tell if how well it is working.
 
Re: Severe Blood Glucose drop after 1.5 weeks on Lantus--Hel

2 units is definitely seems too high. Bandit never needed more than 1u through his entire run on Lantus. From what I've seen here, most cats (regardless of weight) end up on a similarly low dose.
 
Re: Severe Blood Glucose drop after 1.5 weeks on Lantus--Hel

Thanks, all, for your feedback. I have read through the stickies on the Lantus site, and I understand how testing at +6 will be valuable. I'll lower the dose for both cats, and test more frequently to get a sense of what's going on.

Elisa
 
Re: Severe Blood Glucose drop after 1.5 weeks on Lantus--Hel

another note: not all cats hit their nadir at +6, so doing curves, either every 2 hours or every 3 hours, once a dose is stable (a minimum of 6 cycles, ie 3 days, but may go up a few days for some cats), will help you determine how each cat handles Lantus.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top