Series of Ailments and now Diabetes

Status
Not open for further replies.

vtkn

Member Since 2014
Hi All - Gracie's a rescue Russian Blue I've had for 6years. She's 10 1/2. When she was 5 1/2 she developed diabetes which I treated with insulin once a day. She quickly went into remission. Over the past year she's been diagnosed with urinary crystals, IBD, inflammation of pancreas, kidneys and liver (prednisolone .5mg every other day) suspected abdominal tumor requiring surgery - the vet removed a circular sponge left behind during spaying - severe urinary tract infection, extreme!! constipation for which the only relief was RC Gastrointestinal DRYfood (she'd been on wet only, high protein since the original diagnosis) and now she is once again diabetic. Her food at the moment is Purina DM and I'm considering other high protein low/no carb and I am sprinkling a bit of the Royal Canin simply because nothing else has worked for her constipation and that issue must also be addressed. She's no longer on Prednisolone - I do know it's harmful regardless - and I pray her body can heal the inflammation without it. The initial BG reading was 659. After her evening and then morning injections - 1 unit Prozinc - she was down to 150 and I continue to give her 2 injections daily. She's spending more time around me lately but hasn't returned to being playful. She's had a really tough year.
Insulin treatment started Monday. I'm doing all I know to do. I have a question I'm hoping you loving souls can answer: I have a required activity tonight where I'll be out of the house between 5 and 12pm, clearly missing her evening dose. And Saturday I have another. There is no one else here to help out. What do we do in these circumstances?
We so appreciate your support.
May you and your 4 legged loves be well. Thank you!
Vicki and Gracie
 
Welcome Vicki and Gracie,

It sounds like you both have had a difficult year! Sometimes you can skip or dose late with ProZinc. I am wondering when you got the 150? Preshot or nadir? Do you have some numbers you could share with us? If you put them in this kind of format, it is easy for those in all time zones to figure them out.

amps (morning preshot number before food) Amount of insulin given
+# (any number you get during the cycle. Numbers between 5-7 hours after the shot are particularly helpful because that is normally near the nadir. So, +5 or +7)
pmps (evening number before food and shot) Amount of insulin given
 
Have you been to the Feline Constipation site?

You may be able to use some of those ideas while feeding low carb canned again. Specifically, check out Miralax, plain psyllium, squash, or plain pumpkin.
 
BJM said:
Have you been ti the Feline Constipation site?

You may be able to use some of those ideas while feeding low carb canned again. Specifically, check out Miralax, plain psyllium, squash, or plain pumpkin.

If you use the pumpkin, make sure it is just pumpkin and not pumpkin pie filling. You can also add extra water to her food and that may help with the constipation.

Witn(GA) often had an issue with constipation. I found either using the Miralax or the pumkin daily helped her a lot.
 
I have had to skip a shot before due to schedule... I felt bad about it until someone reminded me that it is no different than a fur shot!!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top