Sept 19 Felix AMPS=329, +3=206, +6=283, PMPS=231

Status
Not open for further replies.

Susan&Felix(GA)

Member Since 2017
prior thread (Sept. 12)

Felix has been at 5.75 units for a week, and nothing too dramatic has happened for good or bad. It's nice to see a little more yellow from a boy so fond of the valentine colors, but this isn't looking like the right dose for him.

I had been thinking of doing a curve tomorrow, but is that necessary? He's already hiding in the closet part of the time from all the testing; I think a curve would put him in the closet full-time for a few days.

My understanding is that SLGS protocol calls for an increase of .25 now based on his nadirs, although .5 would be appropriate considering his somewhat high dose. I feel that the way he's been dancing around 6 units the past 2-3 weeks makes me inclined to go with an increase of just .25 back to 6 units.

All the testing is starting to show a pattern: nadir around AM+2, but high at PMPS and PM+2.

Would you recommend going back to 6 units?
Should I do a curve tomorrow before making a change?
Thoughts on his pattern of lows/highs?

Regarding food, I got some EVO dry for this die-hard kibbleman and he's eating mostly that now (transitioning over several days to prevent tummy upset and any blood glucose surprises). He loves it--maybe too much for a chubby boy! Unfortunately, one of the two civvies I've been fairly successfully transitioning to canned loves it, too! Felix was pretty enthusiastic this morning about dry EVO mixed with about a tablespoon of canned Friskies Turkey and Giblets. Later he was asking for food, but wouldn't have any with canned mixed in. Will continue to work on this. :rolleyes:
Thanks for taking a look at Felix's spreadsheet and letting me know what you think! :cat:
 
Last edited:
I don't think a curve is necessary because of the tests you've been able to get. Also agree to increase to 6u. Going to 6u will also get you back on the line for dosing.

Keep trying with the wet, my boy was also a die hard addict.
 
Just got an unusually low PMPS of 231. Went up to 6u from 5.75 tonight.

Thank you, Ms. Karen. I don't like curves--meowch!
XOXO,
Felixoxo
 
Getting those before bed tests at night are key. If possible mix up the times a bit. Although The+2 is helpful to know if more testing is needed.

Nice and easy now Felix
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top