Sept 19 Blackie AMPS-346 *Update*

Status
Not open for further replies.

Team Blackie (GA)

Member Since 2009
AMPS - 346
+6.25 - 308

Its been a while (once again), hope you're all doing well. Life for me as been very hectic and stressful at times. Blackie has been doing well as usual but somewhere down the line we dropped the ball.

His numbers have not improved much since the last time I was here. I'm thinking that Blackie needs to switch to a different insulin because we're not getting the lower numbers like we used to. Sometimes we get the odd green and blue but overall numbers are rising back up.

We were giving him 7 units for quite a while but his numbers were so high I decided to go up to 7.5 units. I know I should have only raised it by 0.25 units but we were wanting better results. Also missing his shots probably screwed up the whole cycle. We're so burnt out and are not able to check on him as much as we want to.
 
Hey Ken!!

Nice to see you and Blackie!

Are you thinking of Lev?
If you need Lev help add that to your subject line ok? Lots of beans here use Lev too and/or have switched over.

Take it easy and dont stress so much dude!
 
You know the reason we increase by .25 units is so we don't skip over the ideal dose. If you give him more than he needs he may go into bouncing where you think he needs more, but he actually would be better with less. I may be wrong, but that's the way I understand it.

I LOVE Levemir. Since we switched, I found J.D.'s BGs to be a lot more constant and more predictable, and his bounces now (mainly) only last a cycle, instead of 3 days. His onset and nadir are now about 3 hours later, so I don't worry about him dive bombing when I go to work. His nadir is around +8.5, so he's usually going up when I shoot. It's just so much more comfortable.

I'm sorry you're life is so hectic. I hope it is good hectic. You do the best you can.
I hope to see you posting more often. I often wonder how Blackie is doing.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top