Seeking help regulating my cat's BG

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi Isabella (and Bob)

I answered on Health also. I post on both boards. This forum is friendly but much smaller than Health, so be patient waiting for responses. Meanwhile, you might check other people's threads and spreadsheets and see how they are doing.

If you have an emergency or need an immediate answer, post on Health where there are more eyes. If you have a specific question about dosing and ProZinc, this is the best spot. Nhere was my last post on your thread on Health:

Generally a PZI kitty hits the lowest point between 5-7 hours after the shot, but if he has been bouncing, it makes that much more unpredictable. If he flattens out and drops a little, he may stretch out the cycle and nadir later.

So I'd try the lower dose and see if the cycle lengthens. Then his nadir should be easier to figure out.


How is Bob doing this morning?
 
Yay, Sue! So much help :) Bob started his day with a much better AMPS than yesterday (yesterday was 506 and today 365). I am starting to see what you were describing to me. Of course, if he keeps bouncing, that's all out the window, but I have the feeling (wishful maybe) that he may stop bouncing as of today. I'm retesting at +4. That's all regarding his BG. As for Bob himself, he kept me up all night, bouncing off the walls. Not sure at all whether this is diabetes related or not, but I'm going to guess it's because he's spoiled rotten. Anyway, he's on my lap, sucking on my dress at the moment, so the rest of the cats and dogs are temporarily safe :)
 
Not a bad cycle - 2 nice blues that may not prompt a bounce. And a pretty normal nadir time! Just for reference:

We generally consider a cat regulated if they are in the mid 200s at preshot and in double digits at nadir, though not under 50 which is approaching hypo territory. If a kitty has been off insulin for 2 weeks and ranges from 40 - 120, they are considered to be in remission. So, regulation is the first goal and Bob seems on his way. :-D
 
Once again, such useful information. I actually managed a smile with Bob's BG numbers yesterday. But that was yesterday! Today his pre shot was 411 and his +2 536! I'm so worried again. He thew up the breakfast I gave him as he was getting his AM shot, sticking to our routine, but he ate again a few minutes later. Is it normal to have their BG go UP two hours post shot?
 
It may be that the upset tummy is throwing things off; i'd just see what the day brings.

I'd guess your high amps is a bounce from a low number overnight. If he was at 83 at +4, he might have gone down quite low by +6-7. If that is the case, you might need to reduce the dose a smidge, but let's wait to see.
 
Thanks for the immediate reply. I'm so strung out. I'll keep monitoring, and I'll lower accordingly, maybe… I don't know :( BTW Bob goes through phases of intense activity, running around, being loud, acting like his on cocaine. It's also happening right now. I haven't slept in almost a year because of that. Do you think there's a relation between the way he behaves and his diabetes?
 
Hi Isabelle and Bob! Welcome to the board!

I can so relate to your lack of sleep. My Lucian won't eat left over food, so he wakes me every 2-3 hrs to be fed. Been that way for going on 18 months now. ohmygod_smile Although I'm pretty much used to it, I still don't like it! I can also relate to having an unregulated cat with crazy numbers. At almost 18 months into it, Lucian is just now starting to show some promise and I'm keeping fingers crossed, I just might be able to get him regulated finally, with the 3rd insulin we've tried. Lucian is on PZI and he is responding better than he did on Lantus or Levemir.

I'm flying by the seat of my pants since Lucian is unique in that he refuses to act like a 'normal' sugarcat and respond accordingly. I've tried to get him to read the 'sugarcat handbook', but he refuses! ohmygod_smile

It can be a little slow on weekends around here, so if you ever need help and there is no one around, be sure to go the Health board, it gets more traffic. You can get help with anything 'standard' there, just probably not specific to ProZink or PZI.

Hang in there, it takes a lot of patience. There's probably an extra pair of 'Patience Pants' around here somewhere, if you need to borrow them. ;-)

Will be sending good vibes to your boy. :-D
 
OMC, you shouldn't have "shared" Lucian with me. He's adorable! Bob is a possible Russian too. He's missing his tail. Because of the location he was found, we think he may be a Manx. I wouldn't really care, except that Manx kitties have health issues (nothing related to diabetes, spinal and neurological issues mainly). Anyway, I saw your docs and I'm shaking my head. What you two have been through! Your initial chart looks pretty scary. Thank goodness things have turned around a lot, it seems to my inexperienced eye, after you switched to ProZinc.
Anyway, I'm glad to say that Bob's BG dropped again a bit. I'll post on the Health Board. I was told to use the {?} to catch people's attention.
Wishing you and your beautiful sweet boy the best!
Isabelle
 
Hi Isabelle and Bob! Been having connectivity problems but I wanted to stop and say welcome to PZI! We are glad to have ya!
 
Deb & Isabella -

Grayson used to be RAVISHING (due to another condition)... but I slept in another room with the door closed, so he didn't wake me up unless he started SCREAMING! :shock: I bought a Petsafe 5 auto-feeder at Petsmart. It has 5 compartments in it and you program the timer to rotate the dish at as many as 9 different times. Grayson normally eats 1/4 can at +2, +4, +6 and +8 of both am and pm cycles. All I have to do is fill the bowls. Not sure if the "picky left-over non-eaters" would like it, but you can also put your frozen food-sicles in so they don't thaw until shortly before mealtime. The feeder was $49 on Petco's website - $65 at my local Walmart. I took a printout of the ad and asked them to pricematch, which they did. Best money I've spent! And although money gets really tight when you're testing and buying insulin, I really wished I had gotten it sooner. FIND A WAY to fit it into your budget, then get some rest!!! When I'm running on empty, like I have the past 2 weeks, I'm WORTHLESS at most everything else I'm doing. There's something to say for sleeping through the night! And knowing they are getting food, at the times when they are most likely to go low, or when the insulin is at "onset", and it's much easier on you. Grayson usually nadirs (well, most of the time) at ~ +9; so I've got his shot schedule at 10:00 am & pm. In theory, I can shoot and go to bed, knowing he's got food on board, and every 2 hours, and I'm awake and home from work when he's most likely to go low. Recently he's started nadiring earlier, so I've been adjusting a bit. If at all possible, put your kitty on a schedule that works for you! I'm so over setting the alarm and getting up to test twice during the night!

Lu-Ann
 
Oh, shoot. Thanks Lu-An. You're so right. I'm so sleep deprived, I was going to mention the feeder to Deb, but forgot. Partially, I forgot because she mentioned that her baby does't eat left over food … Anyway, mine is in the mail and it better get here fast! I hope that it'll allow me to sleep, but I can't be sure at the moment because this has been going on for so long. Fingers crossed. I also need to figure out Bob's nadir. Not gonna happen soon, since he's all over the BG chart. When I close the door to my bedroom, Bob screams outside and then he starts to knock (yes, I said knock, I don't know how he does it), and then he starts to body slam the door too. Isn't my kitty awesome? Now, somebody, get my feeder delivered asap! :) My best to you, Lu-Ann
 
LOL Bob knocks? Lucian tries to dig his way to China if I don't get up with the meow. He scratches the closet door so hard and fast, I come out of the bed like I was shot out of a cannon! :lol:

As for the timed feeder... I honestly feel like it would be a waste of money for us. I've tried the frozen pucks, too, no dice. I've baked it to make it 'dry' food and that lasted about a week and he quit eating that too. If food has sat out for 30 mins, he refuses to eat it. I don't have much of a choice but to feed him fresh food every 2-3 hrs. I've been doing it so long, it really has become old hat now, not a big deal. He's just spoiled rotten. I only have issues trying to shoot in my sleep, that's when he ends up with fur shots. But as long as he's on a set schedule, I'm ok, because I'm awake at shot time.

Isabelle, there are lots of members that swear by the timed feeders, hope it works out well for you and Bob.
 
Hi Isabelle. Welcome to the Prozinc site. I thought I would add my two cents regarding the PetSafe 5 feeder. I just got it a couple of weeks ago and it has been very worthwhile to Merlin. I set it up for him to eat two times during the night i.e. 12:30, 3:00am and then 4:00am. The last one (4am) moves the food around to an empty feeder to ensure he doesn't eat two hours before his 6am shot. Sometimes he eats both meals, sometimes just one and sometimes not at all. Lately, I have been feeding fresh wet food and fill the two sections at 11pm and sometimes I will add a section with just his freeze dried chicken or beef liver. He seems to like the fresh wet food better than the frozen ones but I mix it up between fresh and frozen. Anyway, it gives me a peace of mind knowing that he has the option to eat if he wants to.

Oh one more thing. On your signature, where you have his "chart," it opens up to your profile. I think you want it to open up to your spreadsheet.
 
Merlin,
Thank you for your welcome and your information on how I can use the Petsafe 5 feeder (still not here, ugh). I'm going to use your notes for sure, but I may have to wait a bit because Bob is throwing up now. I am going to have to do tricks, like spreading it on a plate like someone else suggested. The Petsafe will come in handy when I need to be gone post shot, and maybe once at night, to catch up on some much needed zzzs. :)
Thank you for pointing out my spreadsheet mistake. I fixed it for now, but I had to leave it as a link.
Isabelle

Lucian's Mommy,

You think it's funny that he knocks!!! At any given time in the a.m.??? LOL it's hilarious but oh-so awful at the same time. It sounds like he's taken his hi-heeled shoe off and is using it to knock on the door. And that's when I come out of bed just like you, the human cannon!
Yes, on the feeder. I got it, and that's why I didn't recommend it to you. Lucian would snob it and you'd be wishing you could get a refund. Nah. Treating diabetes is pricey enough as it is. Let's all be prudent. BTW My Bob's spoiled rotten as well.
Isabelle
 
Isabelle

Look up Feline Hyperesthesia. It is a neurological disease and involves nerve endings. My Bing has it and he goes through episodes where his back ripples and he frantically licks it and then runs around the house as if his back is on fire. Some cats' backs ripple from just having itchy dry skin which is common for diabetics. FH usually is accompanied by behavioral symptoms as well.
 
When Merlin isn't eating very well, I sprinkle freeze dried chicken or beef liver on top of his food. I get it at Petco or Petsmart. It is called Purebites. I go to the dog section because for some reason, it is much cheaper than the cat package and it is even in a much larger bag. You have to cut it down to size to give your kitty for snacks. Then I also take some of it and crush to like sand, so it sprinkles like parmesan cheese on his food. He loves it. Oh by the way, you can also sprinkle a little parmesan cheese on the food too. Some cats love that too and it is usually something that is in the frig. Good luck.
 
Hi Robin,
Interesting take. I will investigate further to see if indeed I do have a "Twitchy Cat" . Thanks!


Merlin's Mommy,

I do have Purebites at home. I'll use them accordingly :) NIce suggestions!
 
Does he throw up due to eating fast (the old scarf and barf?). Soreading the food out or smaller meals can help there. Just curious of you knew if that was the issue or something else.
 
Rachel, that's what I've been asking myself too. I'm stressed and tired for many reasons, including Bob, so I make mistakes. I decided that perhaps I "overfeed" compared to other meals at night, so that I can get a bit more sleep, and that may be why he throws up in the mornings mostly. I'm not sure about it though. He does SCARF! but I feed many small meals normally, during the day especially. I'll need another day or two to assess properly. I have gotten tons of useful info though: freezing portions, placing objects for him to eat around in the auto feeder, partially frozen food, spreading the food over a large platter... Luckily, so far, at least I have a good eater (okay, so it's the diabetes talking, but still).
 
Add a little water, use a big platter, spread the food thinly across it. That slows down the eating, the water keeps it from drying out too much. May help reduce any scarf 'n' barf.
 
BJM, I started the water/platter spread combo yesterday morning, kept up with it throughout the night and so far he hasn't thrown up once! Thank you :)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top