seeking advice on interpreting glucose numbers

Status
Not open for further replies.

andyprchrd

Member Since 2012
I'm hoping someone here can help shed light on how my treatment plan is going, although I'm not certain I have enough data yet to make any determinations. I've created a google doc copy of the spreadsheet I've been maintaining. It details the last week or so that I've shifted my cat (Boreas) to .5 units, from his initial recommended start dose per the vet of 2 (too high), then to 1.5 (still too high), then 1 (weird results - low low's and weird highs in the mornings - so he'd be low (100 or less) in the evening and end up at +200 in the morning, even after receiving his shot in the evening.

I decided that 1.0 was still too high, and he has been on .5 for a week (see attached). Doing a curve yesterday, and I noticed that, even after 16 hours, his numbers had barely begun to rise. Today, after no insulin in the morning, he's still in the 60-70 ranges 16 hours post injection. I'm torn between giving him a shot, or trying to keep him on one shot per day. Anything below .5 seems difficult to gauge, even on the half unit needles I have.

Anyway, this is just a random plea for help. My vet suggested the above course, but having read the boards here I feel you folks may actually be more in touch with what is going on. Thanks in advance...
 
Hi, it is Andy?

There's something "wrong" with the link to your spreadsheet, and when I click on it, I get a google error message saying I can't view it.
I think it is just a problem with the permissions on it. If you go back into google docs, you can set it so it can be shared with others. Right now, I think only you have permission to view it.

Carl
 
Without being able to see the numbers, and based just on the numbers in your post, I would say that Boreas seems to only need a very tiny amount of Lantus (possibly less than the .5u dose), especially if you have been on that dose for a week already. It isn't likely you are seeing residual effects from the days he was on higher doses.

In any case, if you are looking at a preshot number under 100, I would say "no shot", not even the .5u dose. We'll be able to tell you more once we can see all the data you have.

Carl
 
First, I'm going to guess you switched Boreas over to low carb food after he was diagnosed and/or you found us. The switch to a low carb diet has helped many kitties stay in this sort of range. Also, was Boreas experiencing any medical problem at the time of diagnosis?

Rather than try one shot per day, even though it will make you nearsighted (or cross-eyed), I'd suggest considering a 0.25u dose twice a day. Otherwise, I suspect you might see higher number by the time you're giving the single dose. That said, your numbers today could make a liar out of me. Depending on where Boreas' numbers are this evening, you may want to see what happens if you don't give a shot. What it looks like happened this morning is that once you fed your kitty, his pancreas produced endogenous insulin and pulled his numbers down. He may need to be on a very small dose of insulin to help his pancreas to fully heal (which is why I'm thinking in terms of a twice a day dose).

If you look in the "New to the Group" sticky, there are photos of microdoses.
 
Ah - thank you so much! This is about 10 times more info than I received froom the vet - and I ws somewhat skeptical of the once a day idea, since he'd inevitably be in a period with no insulin (lantus, at least) in him. I must have missed the post about small doses - I only wish someone would make syringes for animals specifically!

As for his health - standard story, drinking more than usual, suddenly spraying, tried to get him into the vet before we left for a vacation but they were all booked. We came home to a suddenly much smaller cat (4 pounds!) and took him in immediately, upon which time he was diagnosed. Besides some problems with his teeth, no health problems at all in his 10 years with us. And yes, I immediately switched him to a super healthy all moist food diet. His water consumption immediately dropped, and I've been able to put all his weight back on. I'm hoping it was caught soon enough to put him in remission. I had another diabetic cat many years ago, and learned a lot then - I'm determined to get him well and off insulin if possible.

Thanks again for your help, it is very much appreciated.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top