Jeff Phillips
Member Since 2016
Mogs and Linda this is a continuation of the thread on introducing Scooter.
Hi Jeff,
There are a few posts from Linda and myself at the end of Scooter's previous thread which I strongly recommend you read before seeing the vet today to discuss Scooter's insulin.
Here's a link to the first of them:
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/introducing-scooter.169382/#post-1843545
Mogs
.
My original vet has limited experience with diabetes and the second vet is no better. She is a part of Rehm clinics that have multiple offices throughout two counties. (A big operation)Hi Jeff. Your vet is obviously not up on the latest research regarding feline diabetes. Lantus and Levemir have an excellent track record and a good number of kitties have gone into remission on them.
Some folks may be able to manage a TID (three times per day) schedule of insulin but most can't. So while I have no experience with the Dr. Hodgkins protocol, and it may work for some cats, I think the idea of TID dosing makes it more difficult and constraining from a caregiver perspective. ProZInc works great for some cats but in some it will produce dramatic drops....not quite as dramatic as Vetsulin....but nevertheless it can be a bit of a rollercoaster. With HyperT in the picture I still think a gentler, longer acting insulin is the way to go. Many folks use ProZinc on a 12 hour cycle and get good results so if that's what your vet is willing to prescribe, so be it. If you are up for doing an 8 hour shot schedule, then it's worth a shot to see if that helps Scooter. The principle is sound but the actual doing is another story altogether.
I agree that clinical signs are very important but I have a kitty who can be very active while her BG levels are giving me panic attacks and quiet when her BG is where it should be. Clinical signs are part of the equation but not only can they be misleading but they only give you part of the picture.
Not sure if anyone gave you these documents but they clearly indicate that Lantus/Levemir are excellent and even optimal choices of insulin for cats. Perhaps giving your vet some reading material will persuade her.
Priceless.I printed and took the studies of the longer lasting insulin but she didn't read them and said no studies show a benefit over insulin specifically for cats like prozinc or vetsulin for dogs and cats.

Scooter has a perfect bell curve now but 600+ are the highs and 130 are lows
I printed and took the studies of the longer lasting insulin but she didn't read them and said no studies show a benefit over insulin specifically for cats like prozinc or vetsulin for dogs and cats.
I disagree with this vet (and many others like her): both clinical signs and BG levels are of equal importance when assessing the level of success of an animal's insulin treatment. (Example: a cat may be running around like a kitten one moment only to collapse seconds later with a severe hypo. If the cat had been regularly checked, the low BG trend would have been caught, carbs given, and the hypo averted. Clinical signs alone are not a reliable means of assessing whether a cat's BG is in a safe range. Conversely, good BG levels may not necessarily mean the cat's as well as it could be: even at good numbers a particular insulin may disagree with a particular cat, and the only way of determining this is through monitoring of clinical signs.)She said don't look at the levels but more the clinical signs of treatment.
I could not agree more strongly with this statement. Here's why:Sliding scales work for some cats where you have lots of data and kitty is somewhat regulated and predictable but in the early days and if kitty is the least bit unpredictable which many cats are, they can be very dangerous.
That's a pretty strong statement to make for any diabetic cat and especially one on Vetsulin. Expect the unexpected is my motto because I've been monumentally surprised by my girl more times than I care to count on long acting insulin. Cats don't follow a straight or consistent path, every day is a new day, and things aren't always going to go as you expect they should. Just saying!won't be dropping anymore
You definitely have more experience than I do on this but im using the past curves from October, November and part of December that when he gets to his nadir around +4 to +5 it levels and doesn't drop anymore. At least not in the past months. Checked it sgain at 10:30 and it was 109. its also predictable that it rises to 600 after +6 to + 7.I'm glad to hear you are checking levels hourly.
That's a pretty strong statement to make for any diabetic cat and especially one on Vetsulin. Expect the unexpected is my motto because I've been monumentally surprised by my girl more times than I care to count on long acting insulin. Cats don't follow a straight or consistent path, every day is a new day, and things aren't always going to go as you expect they should. Just saying!![]()
Thanks Mogs, I do like to keep a buffer and I also don't agree with not giving them honey if they drop below 70. If Scoot drops farther in level than he does in duration (time) I feed him extra pre nadir.Jeff,
For safety FDMB advocates not letting Vetsulin cats' nadir BG numbers go under 100 on a human meter (higher on a pet meter - I personally would not want to see a nadir for my cat lower than about 130-135 on an Alphatrak). That's on a 12/12 cycle. You need that sort of safety buffer.
Please be extremely careful with what you're attempting here.
Mogs
.
It's unlikely that you'd see any change in duration of dose, Jeff. In the majority of cats treated with it Vetsulin does not last long enough (and that's for "uncomplicated" diabetes - no additional issues with hyperT metabolic rate impacts). If numbers stay lower for longer on a 12/12 dosing schedule then it will more likely be pancreatic insulin keeping levels down in the latter part of a cycle, not Vetsulin. You can see this even in very well regulated cats like Elmo:What I'm looking for is that when stress is relived from his pancreas with the constant higher levels, I will see changes in duration of the insulin working with his system.
I stand corrected Mogs, thanks.It's unlikely that you'd see any change in duration of dose, Jeff. In the majority of cats treated with it Vetsulin does not last long enough (and that's for "uncomplicated" diabetes - no additional issues with hyperT metabolic rate impacts). If numbers stay lower for longer on a 12/12 dosing schedule then it will more likely be pancreatic insulin keeping levels down in the latter part of a cycle, not Vetsulin. You can see this even in very well regulated cats like Elmo:
https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1ZAoPctvtyhkyKhyx_vJh8ffy8ZTl_Ac1AqiCovCd_70/pubhtml
FYI Elmo is also a hyperT kitty. As you can see from his data he's spending a lot of time in the healing range but his Vetsulin is still pooping out around +8. He had his hyperT med dose adjusted a couple of days ago and you'll be able to see how it's impacting his BG levels at the moment.
What can be worrying is if a healing pancreas decides to sputter unexpectedly in the middle of a cycle. Should such a thing happen when a cat is already at nadir and in lower BG numbers the burst of pancreatic insulin could see numbers going lower. (Safety Note: As the pancreas recovers more function BG numbers may actually go down in the hours following a meal, not up.) The safety buffer is vital.
Mogs
.
I like the idea of a dose reduction. He dropped quite low today after very high AMPS. I know that Mogs has been discussing the idea of a longer acting, gentler insulin with you.
Im going to reduce his am and pm dose to 3 units beginning tonight in lieu of 3.5 units.
I would feel much safer following this route, Jeff.I did find a vet that will use long lasting insulin but they wanted to wait till after the holidays.
His amps and pmps were way aboce 600. My meter doesn't read above 600 but on multiple occasions it took 2-3 hours to regester below 600.I guess I'm confused about what you mean by AM and PM levels. The PSs I see on your SS are all blacks. Are you referring to the BGs in the +1 and +2 time frame after his AM and PM shot? Basically, I'm focusing on AM/PMPS (blacks) and what the nadir is and when it occurs. Lowering the dose might well keep the nadir a little higher and reduce the rate of descent of BG but you still have the issue of a very large delta BG with Caninsulin. The goal is to have PSs is decent numbers and a small delta BG between PS and nadir.
Jeff,Peak is +5 for Scooter.
Hes not on 12/12. He's on 6/6I've no experience with the dosing method you're using here, Jeff, but if I saw the numbers you've seen with the green background if it were my cat on a 12/12 schedule I would definitely reduce the dose.
The only guidance I can suggest is that the FDMB Vetsulin Guide recommends not letting BG go below 100mg/dL at nadir for cats on Vetsulin on a 12/12 dosing schedule.
I am glad that Scooter is feeling better and that his clinical signs are really improving. Please be very careful and test very frequently.
Mogs
.
Mogs I never have seen the 2nd kick with Scooter ever since the end of September when diagnosed. I have been to the vetsulin site and have read that also. He hits peak and then shoots up after +6 normally. On the new dosing he stays below 200 for most of the time now. Today he doesn't require the +6 to + 8 (.50-1 unit) on the hodgekin approach the goal is to keep them low without the spikes. Gradually getting there and eventually bringing his level to a flatter curve back to a 12/12 dosing. Now just want his levels down to heal so we can change insulin in January to a longer lasting one. Scooter has seen + 600 levels most of a 24 hour period from October till the middle of December. Been dehydrated and tremendous weight loss over that time. I can tell he feels better by his activity level and him jumping on the kitchen table and bed.Jeff,
Vetsulin is made of TWO fractions - amorphous and crystalline:
- The amorphous fraction is stronger and has a peak effect in cats anywhere from +2 to +5ish (though this can move around).
- The crystalline fraction kicks in after +6 and has its strongest period of effect in cats is between +7 and +10 (and this can move around, too).
With the numbers you're seeing today be very careful to test right the way through the cycle. I would worry that you might see another dip in the second half of the cycle when the crystalline fraction kicks in.
Mogs
.
I understand that, Jeff. I was trying to get across to you that I only know something about 12/12 dosing of Vetsulin.Hes not on 12/12. He's on 6/6
My main objective and the goal of this site is to help my cat. Ive been having issues with 2 different vets. You can see from Scooters spreadsheet that his pmps and amps have been off the chart. His +1 and +2 were still black for months.I believe the Hodgkins TR protocol was originally written for PZI type insulins. ProZinc is one of those. They're similar to Vetsulin in how they work but have longer duration and generally a less sharp drop to nadir. I'm sure there are people out there who have tried this protocol with Vetsulin/Caninsulin. This protocol isn't popular on FDMB for a number of reasons so you don't see posts about it. Your Diabetic Cat is another forum where (I believe) there are people who do this.
You certainly have a lot on your plate with Scooter, Jeff. It's obvious that you care about him a lot and it's unfortunate that you're having a hard time finding a helpful vet. As I said above there aren't many, if any, people who post here frequently that use the Hodgkins protocol so it will be difficult to get guidance on FDMB.My main objective and the goal of this site is to help my cat. Ive been having issues with 2 different vets. You can see from Scooters spreadsheet that his pmps and amps have been off the chart. His +1 and +2 were still black for months.
I searched remission from diabetes when T4 levels are controlled and found the hodgekins protocol. Since my luck with 2 vets has failed to put him on a longer lasting human insulin I searched other options to help him. Nothing like watching your cat exhibit signs of PU and PD while battling an out of control thyroid after being controlled for 4+ years. His increased dose of methamazole to 17mg a day taxes his kidneys. This combined with the losd placed on his liver, kidneys and pancreas and the toxic nature of his blood changed my thought process.
I was referred to this site by a moderator over st the hyperT site and thankfully found Mogs and Linda pretty quickly. They helped put Scooter on the right path and recommended longer lasting insulin. I meet with the vet in January.
Since vetsulin is similar (I did research before starting this) to pzi, decided to try. Vetsulin peak with Scooter is +5 to +6
Hopefully Scooter will have a little pancreas repair before January. The path he was on was not ideal with mostly black, red and pink levels peaking at yellow.
Thank Kris, for whatever reason I called several vets in our area and one was willing to talk about L Insulin.You certainly have a lot on your plate with Scooter, Jeff. It's obvious that you care about him a lot and it's unfortunate that you're having a hard time finding a helpful vet. As I said above there aren't many, if any, people who post here frequently that use the Hodgkins protocol so it will be difficult to get guidance on FDMB.
Linda and Mogs are extremely knowledgeable and I'm glad they've been able to give you a lot of helpful information. They both have recommended the L insulins (lantus or levemir) to you. I hope you're able to get a prescription for one of them from your vet in January. If Scooter responds well, his BGs will come down nicely and stay relatively flat for much of the dose cycle. That would be really beneficial for him. Those insulins are very expensive in the US and many American users order from a Canadian Pharmacy, Marks Marine Pharmacy.
That's strange. Lantus is the insulin of choice for most vets because of the Roomp & Rand research although ProZinc is promoted as being an insulin specifically for cats. That's marketing though - it's a human recombinant insulin like lantus. My vet here is part of a large practice and lantus is their go to for FD kitties. My guy is the only one there on ProZinc.Thank Kris, for whatever reason I called several vets in our area and one was willing to talk about L Insulin.
I had a diabetic cat go into remission on L insulin back in the early 2000's.
When Scooter was diagnosed I asked about that type and they said it's not used anymore. Crazy since it worked on Frisky. Frisky ended up going to the rainbow bridge from old age and not diabetes.
I think the vets must get incentives for prescribing certain types.
Jeff n Scooter
Prozinc was the only other insulin my current vet would recommend over vetsulin. Not sure why but most of the other vets I called named prozinc as the best choice.That's strange. Lantus is the insulin of choice for most vets because of the Roomp & Rand research although ProZinc is promoted as being an insulin specifically for cats. That's marketing though - it's a human recombinant insulin like lantus. My vet here is part of a large practice and lantus is their go to for FD kitties. My guy is the only one there on ProZinc.
Not really. ProZinc is human R (human recombinant insulin) insulin with protamine zinc additive to extend it duration.That's marketing though - it's a human recombinant insulin like lantus.