Scheduling Injections...And Mulitiple other Questions

Status
Not open for further replies.

G & I

Member Since 2017
I am finding myself getting further and further behind. The morning injection is falling behind, yet I do keep track and get the evening injection in at the 12 hour mark. This morning, I was delayed due to taking care of some of Goma's friends. Not by much but as I say it is starting to get later. I guess my question really is:
In order to get back on track, is it safe to give an injection an hour earlier, a half hour earlier, or 15 minutes earlier. I understand consistency is key in all areas as I treat Goma and I am trying my best to accomplish this. However I also need to get this routine back on an earlier schedule.

Her numbers remain high, so this morning I increased the dosage by 0.5 units so I am now up to 1.5 units. I will let this be for the next 3 or 4 cycles (each 12 hours is a cycle, right?). The go from there. I am anticipating having to go up to 2 units

On Saturday, 16 December, Goma's urine test revealed +/- for ketones. Can someone please let me know what this actually means? What are the levels of ketones. Is it just the cat either has them or not? On the 13th Goma showed a "-" for ketones. The vet is saying this can be treated with diet. This is the same guy that starved her when starting insulin, and he is pretty insistent that I am moving too fast. I think not, probably more on the other side, but I am being cautious since I have no really decent vet nearby.

I continue to feed Goma pretty much as much as she wants of the Mon Petite and lightly boiled ground chicken. She gets one tablet of potassium/taurine supplement mixed in once a day. I do not feed her two hours before each bg. Her appetite remains ravenous I am sure due to the high levels of bg.

I attempted to get a bg in at 0500 this morning but for the life of me could not get any blood. After numerous failures (and then protests from Goma) I stopped as I thought I had probably already stressed her out enough that I would not get an accurate reading anyway. Anyone ever have this happen after two weeks of being successful?

One final question...for now anyway...How sensitive and sturdy are the Alpha Trak 2 meters. The one I have is a loaner as I advised previously, but I was wondering if it was dropped would it knock it out of whack. I was reading there is a testing fluid or something that comes with the kit that determines if it is reading correctly. I don't have that. Hopefully the one I ordered via my daughter will arrive soon.
 
ProZinc is an in and out insulin as opposed to one with a deposit. The benefit is that it's more flexible with timing. Generally it's OK to adjust the time by up to an hour as long as the preshot reading is high enough. So go ahead and adjust your time. Id probably suggest by a half hour at a time.

You can get ketone testing strips at most pharmacies. Anything above a trace you need to see a vet asap. I would pick up some.

Struggling to get blood those first few weeks can be tricky. Try warming the ear, massaging the ear, and don't be afraid to poke all the way through.

My alphatrak is sturdy... Although I don't think I've ever really dropped it. You could always test yourself and see if the readings look accurate. Do you feel like it's reading too high or too low?
 
ProZinc is an in and out insulin as opposed to one with a deposit. The benefit is that it's more flexible with timing. Generally it's OK to adjust the time by up to an hour as long as the preshot reading is high enough. So go ahead and adjust your time. Id probably suggest by a half hour at a time.

You can get ketone testing strips at most pharmacies. Anything above a trace you need to see a vet asap. I would pick up some.

Struggling to get blood those first few weeks can be tricky. Try warming the ear, massaging the ear, and don't be afraid to poke all the way through.

My alphatrak is sturdy... Although I don't think I've ever really dropped it. You could always test yourself and see if the readings look accurate. Do you feel like it's reading too high or too low?
Thank you for the guidance in regards to injection times. Since I anticipate the numbers to remain high, I'll go for 1/2 hour earlier this evening and then 1/2 earlier in the morning which should bring me back in line. I have been unable to locate the ketone strips but will go out again today to a couple more pharmacies.

With the way the readings are going now I really don't know what to expect anymore. Thought they were leveling off, albeit still way too high, but then yesterday they skyrocketed again to the near 700 level.

I appreciate all the support and guidance/suggestions everyone here continues to provide. Not getting anything in the way of support locally, so I am really kind of on my own.
 
As Janet said, you have up to an hour's timing flexibility with ProZinc. It's best to dose 12/12 but if life gets in the way you can deviate from that a little.

On Saturday, 16 December, Goma's urine test revealed +/- for ketones. Can someone please let me know what this actually means? What are the levels of ketones. Is it just the cat either has them or not? On the 13th Goma showed a "-" for ketones. The vet is saying this can be treated with diet.
I'm not sure what this means for ketones. On my human test strips the colours are labelled, negative, trace, etc. The things that are risks for ketone development are: high BG numbers, dehydration, not eating, presence of some infection or inflammation. You can address dehydration by adding extra water to wet food meals. If she's eating well, that's good. Your issue right now is high BGs, whether from weak insulin, too low a dose or something else.

Her numbers remain high, so this morning I increased the dosage by 0.5 units so I am now up to 1.5 units. I will let this be for the next 3 or 4 cycles (each 12 hours is a cycle, right?). The go from there. I am anticipating having to go up to 2 units
Yes, a cycle is 12 hours. Try 1.5 u for 4 cycles then go to 2 u. Those BGs have to come down. Any word on new insulin from your vet? There's a member from Japan (@Kaori &Utyun) who has her kitty on Lantus so it must be available there. If your vet is really dragging his/her feet on the ProZinc you could ask about Lantus.
 
Can someone please let me know what this actually means? What are the levels of ketones. Is it just the cat either has them or not? On the 13th Goma showed a "-" for ketones

It means positive (+) or negative (-)

If it's positive, there will be + signs.....the more plus signs, the more ketones are present

If it's negative it doesn't matter....zero is zero....and that's what we want!! Negative...No ketones!
 
As Janet said, you have up to an hour's timing flexibility with ProZinc. It's best to dose 12/12 but if life gets in the way you can deviate from that a little.


I'm not sure what this means for ketones. On my human test strips the colours are labelled, negative, trace, etc. The things that are risks for ketone development are: high BG numbers, dehydration, not eating, presence of some infection or inflammation. You can address dehydration by adding extra water to wet food meals. If she's eating well, that's good. Your issue right now is high BGs, whether from weak insulin, too low a dose or something else.


Yes, a cycle is 12 hours. Try 1.5 u for 4 cycles then go to 2 u. Those BGs have to come down. Any word on new insulin from your vet? There's a member from Japan (@Kaori &Utyun) who has her kitty on Lantus so it must be available there. If your vet is really dragging his/her feet on the ProZinc you could ask about Lantus.
My sincere apologies. I noted on Goma's spreadsheet the day I finally got new insulin, however...neglected to post an update in this forum. Apparently they had received it in their office 3 days prior but no one told me. When I asked Saturday evening, there it was. I apologize to all that may have been monitoring. Will sincerely try to do better. I will be dosing 12/12, just need to get it back on track time wise. I was getting to be behind by five minutes in the morning which made it 5 minutes later at night and it just kept growing until now I am not injecting until around 10:00 pm. So 4 cycles gives a new dose a good chance of showing results? This vet is telling me 2 weeks. I've pretty much begun to ignore them in regards to the diabetes treatment (right or wrong on my part). But even I can tell when things need to change. Goma is handling all this pretty well. Feel sorry for her for having to rely on a bumbling old fool to care for her.


If you don't find any ketone strips, ask at the pharmacy. That is something that all pharmacys would keep on hand.
Found glucose strips, protein strips but no ketone strips. I guess they are not together here on one strip. Asked and was told I had to go to a place that was licensed to sell them. (huh?) Oh well, the search continues and I have the vet still ordering but who knows when I will get them. Hopefully my daughters package arrives soon that contains everything I need at the moment.
 
Going to be honest.... Just looked at the spreadsheet.... I would go right to 2 units. I normally wouldn't say to raise in whole units but your cats numbers are at super high levels all day and that not healthy.
 
I'm so glad you got some new Prozinc and that you are beginning to up the doses. Goma has been so high for so long. She needs to come down! You mentioned that if you are 5 minutes late giving a shot, you adjust the next shot by that much. You do not have to do that. As has been mentioned, Prozinc allows you about an hour of 'play'. Five minutes is nothing. As long as her numbers are high enough for the dose (which they ALWAYS are right now) you can go ahead and give the shot at the normal time even if the last shot was given 5, 10, 20 minutes late.
 
Feel sorry for her for having to rely on a bumbling old fool to care for her.
Snap out of it brother! I've been following you on and off since you first joined. What you have taken on and considering Goma is/was feral, where you are and your own problems you are not doing too damn bad. If more people had the kahunas to do what you are doing instead of standing around with their mouths hanging open the world would be a better place. Do we even know your name? I should be so lucky to have a neighbor like you. :bighug: :bighug: :bighug: :)
 
Going to be honest.... Just looked at the spreadsheet.... I would go right to 2 units. I normally wouldn't say to raise in whole units but your cats numbers are at super high levels all day and that not healthy.
Appreciate the honesty. I was considering this about midday but saw the number drop significantly in the pmps and stayed with 1.5 units. At +6.5 the number continued to drop so, while still very high, I am finally seeing some movement in the right direction. For the moment I may stick with the game plan and give it another 2 cycles or so and see where I am at that point.
 
Snap out of it brother! I've been following you on and off since you first joined. What you have taken on and considering Goma is/was feral, where you are and your own problems you are not doing too damn bad. If more people had the kahunas to do what you are doing instead of standing around with their mouths hanging open the world would be a better place. Do we even know your name? I should be so lucky to have a neighbor like you. :bighug: :bighug: :bighug: :)
Thanks for the boost...I certainly needed that. There have been, and will continue to be barriers I will need to climb over, crawl under, or just break through, but I will continue to do what is best for the felines in my care. Goma has become more attached to me because of what she is going through and I'll not let her down.
 
Oh, and you are not a 'bumbling old fool'. You are doing a great job. You are in a difficult situation yet you are finding ways to do what needs to be done for her. She is fortunate to have you.
Appreciate the thoughtful response. Still, I am fumbling around and will hopefully improve over a shorter period of time. Goma seems to be responding to the new dose and an up to date insulin.
 
Appreciate the honesty. I was considering this about midday but saw the number drop significantly in the pmps and stayed with 1.5 units. At +6.5 the number continued to drop so, while still very high, I am finally seeing some movement in the right direction. For the moment I may stick with the game plan and give it another 2 cycles or so and see where I am at that point.
sounds like a plan. glad you're seeing progress.
 
As Janet said, you have up to an hour's timing flexibility with ProZinc. It's best to dose 12/12 but if life gets in the way you can deviate from that a little.


I'm not sure what this means for ketones. On my human test strips the colours are labelled, negative, trace, etc. The things that are risks for ketone development are: high BG numbers, dehydration, not eating, presence of some infection or inflammation. You can address dehydration by adding extra water to wet food meals. If she's eating well, that's good. Your issue right now is high BGs, whether from weak insulin, too low a dose or something else.


Yes, a cycle is 12 hours. Try 1.5 u for 4 cycles then go to 2 u. Those BGs have to come down. Any word on new insulin from your vet? There's a member from Japan (@Kaori &Utyun) who has her kitty on Lantus so it must be available there. If your vet is really dragging his/her feet on the ProZinc you could ask about Lantus.
Hi
I am sorry that the time of offline is long and the reply is late.
Google translation may not be accurate, could you purchase a ketone strip?
Should I send you the strip I have if you do not mind?
But I opened the box, so I am a little worried about whether it can be used normally
 
It is not sold at ordinary pharmacies
I bought it at dispensing pharmacy.
 

Attachments

  • IMG_20171227_234346.jpg
    IMG_20171227_234346.jpg
    44.1 KB · Views: 54
Hi
I am sorry that the time of offline is long and the reply is late.
Google translation may not be accurate, could you purchase a ketone strip?
Should I send you the strip I have if you do not mind?
But I opened the box, so I am a little worried about whether it can be used normally
I thank you for the kind offer. I have finally (yesterday) been able to obtain ketone strips through the vet. Expensive, but at least I have them. I have now also ordered additional ones through Amazon that should arrive after the New Years.

Thank you again.
 
Hi Kaori!

I was looking at your spreadsheet, and I have some questions, but I don't want to take over scs islander's thread. If you start a new thread in this forum, maybe some of us can look at Utyun's situation and perhaps help her to feel better?
 
Is that a brand-new color I see on the spreadsheet ? :)
I was excited to see the pink but sadly it was temporary. She is back in black for the most part. Still trying to locate notepad and calendar where I was recording data for spreadsheet and will update as soon as possible. Sorry for inconvenience everyone.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top