SCARED!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sammysmom

Member
Ok so AMPS was 231 so I gave .5 units

+3 he Is at 72.i just fed him half of what he would normally eat at meal times. I'm so nervous
 
DEEP BREATH....and another one....again....

He's still OK - 72 is not hypo but I KNOW it's scary! Now, remember that hypo kit? Calmly go get a can of food out of it - then mix just a small teaspoon of it with his regular low carb food. Right now what you want to do is slow down the drop....

going to post this then add...BREATHE...it's OK!!!

EDIT TO ADD: I'm not a PZI user, I know one will be along shortly but I wanted you to know you're OK! I don't know how long the cycle lasts so can't help in the long term but I AM here....HUGS! This is a GOOD thing! Find that grin!
 
Don't panic. 72 is safe-the worry is that it's early in the cycle. Feedi.g was a good idea. Testagain in an hour or so & post. Don't break out highcarb unless you're under 50.
 
Sammysmom said:
Thank you both. We just can't seem to get this right.

I don't think there IS any 'right'...there are too many factors that weigh in on this. I read a few of your previous condos - looks like you've really had a fight on your hands but also looks like you just MAY be OTJ at some time.... :-D :-D :-D What a DREAM!!! A sputtering pancreas!

I should have said "If he were my cat, I'd be....adding a bit of HC to slow that drop..." - maybe a PZI cycles are different??

BIG HUGS!
 
Thank you

Thank you all very much, you are wonderful! And thank you for helping me stay calm. Now at +4 his BG is 100. I am so grateful to you and your quick responses!
 
Better to save the HC until later; we prefer to see if regular foid works first unless they're dangerously low already.

You're doing fine Sammy'smom.
 
Good job! Lisa is right - the first thing to do is just feed some regular low carb (unless he is in the 40s -50s - then you might need to mix in some of the gravy from the higher carb.) The good news is that he brought himself up with food - that is valuable info for the future and will help you during the week when you can't be home.

As KT said, Sammy probably has a sputtering pancreas. It is showing up sometimes to help bring the numbers down. This is great news, but does make this whole process a little more tricky because you can't be sure when it will decide to work. Especially tricky as you are not home during the week.

So the .5 at 231 was probably fine when he can eat and bring himself up and you were around to monitor. When you get the U100 needles, you will have the luxury of accurately giving less than that. I would print off the conversion chart and have it near the syringes so you can review it each time:

Conversion chart

Let's see how he is looking tonight and then maybe we can put a game plan together for the next week. Can you leave food out for him during the day?
 
Ty

Hi Sue and Oliver,

I guess I need to get the syringes from the vet, which shouldn't be an issue since, before when he seemed to have gone into remission, she mentioned them as something for the future. I remember reading that wet food can't be left out for more than an hour to an hour and a half. I can't remember where I read that but if it's possible to leave wet food out I will certainly do that.
 
Wet food can be left out all day except in the middle of a hot summer. But another alternative is to freeze it and let it thaw as he grazes. I bought a silicone cupcake pan and a can of Fancy Feast fits perfectly in the spaces. When they are frozen, I put them in a freezer baggie and pull them out as I need them.
 
Ahhh!

Wondering what you all think... We are +9 and at 342. It's important to know that at +3 (with BG 72) that I fed his regular low carb food mixed with some HC since I was panicking a little and had not seen the posts about holding off on high carb. Should I move feeding time and Pm check and shot up one hour early?
 
I think you're right, the high carb is raising the numbers. There are varying views but I think the majority of us don't "shoot the bounce"- he is bouncing from a low he is not used to and from higher carb than he is used to. We don't usually want to react to those circumstances with more insulin.

I'd stick with the .5 .I think I'd probably stick with your normal time. Some cats have been known to clear a bounce within the same cycle and go down again.
 
I would wait until normal time, and shoot a normal dose. The high is expected-a bounce from the low & the hc. Don't increase in reaction to the bounce; it will settle in a cycle or so.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top