Saoirse Running Low: +6 3.9, +7 4.2, +8 4.5 (A'trak)

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: Saoirse Running Low

ALPHATRAK METER

AMPS - 5.5 - Ate 14g 1% carb, 1g Freeze-dried chicken treats (FDC) sprinkled over food - about 5 kcal/g in chicken treats. (Dose 0.5 IU Lantus)

+2.00 - 4.8 (86) - 2 FDC treats
+3.00 - 4.0 (72)- 16g 1% carb + 1 FDC treat
+4.25 - 3.9 (70) - 12g 1% carb + 1 FDC treat
+4.50 - 3.7 (67) - c.1½ flat tsp gravy + 8g 1% carb
+5.00 - 5.4 (97) - 8g 1% carb + 1 FDC treat
+6.00 - 3.9 (70) - 8g 1% carb + 1 FDC treat
+7.00 - 4.2 (76) - Fed 10g 1% carb + 2 small FDC treats
+8.00 - 4.5 (81) - Fed 8g 1% carb + 2 small FDC treats
+9.00 - 5.3 (95) - Fed 2 small FDC treats
+10.50 - 4.9 (88) - Fed 8g 1% carb + 1 small FDC treat
+11.25 - 5.2 (94) - Fed 8g 1% carb + 1 small FDC treat
+12.25 - 5.2 (94) - Fed 16g 1% carb + 3 small FDC treats

+14.25 - 5.3 (95) - Fed 24g 1% carb + 1 small FDC treat


Hi Mel,

Thanks for checking in. Saoirse's pretty much flat at the moment. It's 2 hours since her last feed. If I were to test again at +14.75 and it was higher would that mean she's fairly OK? She's looking for her nosh. cat_pet_icon
 
She looks GREAT!! And very much like if I would run a curve on Maxwell. He hovers between 70-90 on a human meter. She's just crusin along in safe numbers. Since you aren't shooting tonight I wouldn't be afraid to leave her and hit the hay. Just remember to fill and set up her auto feeders :-D

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Phew! That's reassuring. Eyes are decidedly gritty now and I'm all tiredy-cold. My amygdala, on the other hand, is running so fast it could break the sound barrier. :roll:

I'm kinda tempted to just leave some free access food out as well as the timed feeders. I'm going to give her about 24g now.

Not sure about dosage for the morning. I know that per TR protocol guidelines I need to reduce to 0.25 IU Lantus, but I'm concerned about whether she'll be super-sentitive to the insulin tomorrow. Reason I'm worried is that I'm banjaxed after today and I would worry about being able to keep Saoirse safe tomorrow. I'm also getting low on test strips. The new tub has been dispatched but they haven't been delivered yet.
 
I never shot below .5 with Maxwell his numbers didn't support it as a wise choice and he's made it 4 years and going strong. I'd wait til morning to make the call on dosing. Just my 2 cents.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
My own instinct will probably be to skip tomorrow's dose. Saoirse was super-sensitive to insulin after the Caninsulin dropped her to low numbers before. My primary consideration is Saoirse's safety, and I've got to factor my vulnerabilities into that equation. Not having a decent stock of strips is something I'm not comfy with either.

My little Bonnie Munchkin has just had a grand feed. Better let you get off so that you can feed your brood.

Thank you, thank you, thank you Mel! :-D

:YMHUG:
 
The brood is fed and the garlic and Parm crusted tenderloin is in the oven. All I need to do is in an hour finish off cheddar and broccoli rice to go with it. Lol I multitask well

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Get some rest tonight hon. I'll check in on you both at first light in the morning here on the prairie.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Re: Saoirse Running Low

ALPHATRAK METER

AMPS - 5.5 - Ate 14g 1% carb, 1g Freeze-dried chicken treats (FDC) sprinkled over food - about 5 kcal/g in chicken treats. (Dose 0.5 IU Lantus)

+2.00 - 4.8 (86) - 2 FDC treats
+3.00 - 4.0 (72)- 16g 1% carb + 1 FDC treat
+4.25 - 3.9 (70) - 12g 1% carb + 1 FDC treat
+4.50 - 3.7 (67) - c.1½ flat tsp gravy + 8g 1% carb
+5.00 - 5.4 (97) - 8g 1% carb + 1 FDC treat
+6.00 - 3.9 (70) - 8g 1% carb + 1 FDC treat
+7.00 - 4.2 (76) - Fed 10g 1% carb + 2 small FDC treats
+8.00 - 4.5 (81) - Fed 8g 1% carb + 2 small FDC treats
+9.00 - 5.3 (95) - Fed 2 small FDC treats
+10.50 - 4.9 (88) - Fed 8g 1% carb + 1 small FDC treat
+11.25 - 5.2 (94) - Fed 8g 1% carb + 1 small FDC treat
+12.25 - 5.2 (94) - Fed 16g 1% carb + 3 small FDC treats
+14.25 - 5.3 (95) - Fed 24g 1% carb + 1 small FDC treat

+15.75 - 5.6 (101) - Fed 18g 1% carb + 3 FDC treats

Had to know that the last feed brought her up before I could try to settle. :roll:
 
And I had to check in on you one last time before I could rest as well. Now here's hoping Autumn doesn't want a pajama party again tonight.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
i keep telling him to go check out the girl kitties on the lawn but..... so far he's being anti social.
 
So how's our girl this morning?...Well morning for me at least, or at least that is the rumor that it's morning...lol

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
11/7 Saoirse: AMPS 7.2

Hi Mel,

Just posted on your condo. I can't believe that Autumn followed suit after Saoirse again and I feel really bad that you couldn't get some rest after all you did to help us yesterday. I can't thank you enough but I feel really bad that you were going into that immediately after sharing so much of your time and energy minding us. :sad: (((Mel))) With your help I held things together a lot better than I would have done if I'd been alone. When Saoirse's numbers fell after that first 3.9 and then dropped back again I was bricking it a bit. It didn't really hit me till after the +14.25 test (couldn't afford to let it hit me while she needed my help) hence the +15.75 belt 'n' braces test. nailbite_smile

We're OK today. :smile: Will update Saoirse's main condo shortly.
 
Hon when you get a sec I asked you a question in Autumn's condo. Because I see a pattern just too tired to compute what I see and I know your brain does science type things. Right now all I see is pretty colors. Lol

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
I've seen the question, Mel. I've been trying to type out a coherent reply for the last couple of hours, but the PTSD gremlins are screwing with me. Will be posting a response in a short while (though not as comprehensive as I would wish it to be due to my head being so frelled. grr_red )
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top