Samwise AMPS & PMPS +6 5/12

Status
Not open for further replies.

sueandsamwise

Very Active Member
AMPS HI 1.4 I am thinking again that an insulin change is in order. He's not getting good duration or something, he's to steep a drop then to high.

+6 120

PMPS 419 1.4U
 
Aggravating, you got some encouraging numbers. I think you have certainly given PZI a chance, so can't help but agree that another insulin may work better. His high amps and rapid drop are frustrating. The only idea I have is to shoot early for the amps like Angela and Henry do, shortening the overnight cycle. But that doesn't help his huge am drop.
 
HI! cat(2)_steam

I would certainly look into the Ls. It is great he is doing so much better, but there's not real sign as you said that the steep drops are going away. It looked promising for a few cycles here and there where he got yellow PSs, but then the nadirs started going higher, so there's not a lot of room to move the dose either way and still get good #s from what I see.
 
Yeah, bummer. It's hard to know if it's the steep drops causing rebound, or not enough duration, or both. I'd probably still shoot a little bit lower doses just to get away from the steep drops. It might have the nadirs a little higher, but as long as they are still in the blues I would probably just ride with that, and then I would probably switch to a different insulin. You want the greens to promote pancreas healing, but then the steep drops defeat the process, so it's kind of a vicious circle (or something, I think that's the wrong metaphor!)
 
i would really love to see sam on levemir if you could. it's a very even smooth ride with no drastic dips...very shallow curves.
thing is it requires testing to determine what's going on. you need a couple of tests every day for a few weeks. kind of like you need to know the nadirs in order to what your dose is.
if you could manage that...i thing sam would really benefit.
 
I think he would too. I need to call the vet and see if she would agree to a change. How much is the Levemir and how does it compare to Lantus. I think she mostly uses the Lantus.
 
i think the levemir is a softer gentler ride. flat curves on a good day.
plus if you shoot lantus you will be posting on lantus and no one is gonna help you IMHO unless you get lots of tests in.
they run a pretty tight ship over there.
levemir group is softer and not so strict.
plus you got me :-D
but again i'll tell you....you CANNOT SHOOT this insulin without many spotchecks. can you do that?
 
It's up to the DH, he's the one that is at home with Sam during the day. I can't run home to do spot checks all day long.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top