Samwise AMPS & PMPS +6 4/9

Status
Not open for further replies.

sueandsamwise

Very Active Member
AMPS 95 No shot :mrgreen:

+2 133 I know you all are probably going to yell at me but we left to run a bunch of errands and I gave Sam .8U to see him through.

+5 38 Ooops! That is +3 sorry.

The real +5 105 (from shot)

Hope this is as low as he goes. I'll get another test about +7 or 8. He's been eating well and is now taking a nap, it's raining and dark here. I need some lunch!

PMPS 377 2u

Even though Sam doesn't seem to do well at 2U we'll try it. Not a bad call considering his AMPS on 4/10 was low.
 
Wow! How cool. How about getting some numbers today anyway? You will want to shoot if he goes above 200, just to stay on track. Way to go, Sue and Sam!
 
Looks like that 1u kept him down last night. I might consider doing another 1u when he gets to 200 again and kinda shoot as needed. Looks like he likes that ohmygod_smile
 
Is that +5 from the shot or +5 from the 95 at regular amps time? Did you get him to eat after getting that number? I personally would test in an hour just to be safe.
 
I'm guessing here but I bet the +5 was actually +3 and waiting to retest for a couple of hours is not ok. with a number like that you really don't have much furthur down to go...and then what? a kitty in a hypo coma?
would be best at that time to feed low carb and test in 15-20 minutes to see if he's still dropping. if he is still dropping whip out the H/C but just a teaspoon or so...
that would be the safe and sensible way to treat that number...even if it were 5 hours post shot.
for any newbie's looking in.
 
yep just looked at ss and a 38 at +3 is NOT something to take casually. too early...too low.
 
Please give us an update Sue - we are on pins and needles here! I hope and pray Samwise is holding steady for you today. nailbite_smile
 
Sam has eaten a couple of times after the small shot. He is not in a coma, he's doing fine. He's taking a bath right now. I'll test him again for everyone.
 
Looks like he is doing really awesome, YAY!

That said, insert yelling/lecture here :-D

I like Sue's idea of the 200 no shoot. While I huh-hm the shot on a 133, given his history I would have expected he'd be at 300 an hour later w/o the shot, so I totally understand your going with the shot. It seems like he is perhaps in a process of changing his patterns (?), so given the unpredictability I think again you probably need to toss out your ideas of what worked before and what was needed, and make new rules for the apparent new game. You had a rising # which is good, and you were approaching 150 which is good, so shooting less than half a normal dose on that 133 really wouldn't seem so awful, til you look at the 38 you got.

So that's where I like the idea of going with 200 as your no-shoot (or if that freaks you out as too high, I'd pick 180), clear rising #, and I'd also say whatever dose you think is right, knock 0.2 off of it. When we were on a dose reduction path that's what I had to do - I'd pick the reduced dose I thought was right, then knock some more off of it, and then even with that I was often still shooting too much. It can be hard to keep up if their insulin needs are going down, so that's where you want to err on the safe side and just automatically knock and additional 0.2 off whatever you are doing. If that proves to be too little, then you can stop doing that, but until it proves itself, that's the tack I would take. You really don't know at this point what doses he actually needs since you keep getting these lows, so I'd even deliberately try to shoot lite and see what happens.
 
Yeah, I think I will keep up with the 200 no shoot. If we are leaving and he hasn't had a shot yet but he's not at 200, no shot. It just screws up his time table of the 12 hour thing. But, if his insulin needs are changing, his dosing needs changing too. I can't imagine what might have happened if I'd continued the 2.75U the vet wanted me to do. nailbite_smile
 
So glad Sam is doin' fine. Give him some scritches from me. Looks like he is changing the game on you...in a good way though.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top