Samwise AMPS & PMPS 3/20

Status
Not open for further replies.
I really don't see insulin resistance here. With IAA you see high and flat curves. You won't see drops like you do. The insulin is working, you are just seeing major bounces from the dives he is taking mid cycle :-D
 
At the 1.5U he was having all kinds of high this and high that plus high +6's. I just don't understand enough about this disease. One vet told me to see if the insulin was working to look in the litter box. Smaller pee balls insulin working. He was against home testing. ohmygod_smile
 
Just for some background, my recollection is he was all about the high #s til you hit a breakthrough a few weeks ago - since then he's been in this pattern of screaming down to green nadirs and then right back up to high #s much of the time. It looks like when you lower the dose a little though then you just get a higher next PS rather than the other way around, so that looks like lack of duration, though of course when you are in a rebound pattern that complicates the picture - even if you don't cause rebound in a specific cycle, you can still have carry over high #s from earlier cycles.

It's a dilemma. I agree insulin resistance isn't your issue - I don't think with that you hit green nadirs. Could be he had that before you were getting the good nadirs though, but you've certainly broken through it.

I would think some more experimenting with a slightly lower dose might be in order, but I wouldn't want to see him just sit in higher #s again. In theory when you reduce the dose and rebound clears the #s should come down some on their own - my recollection is you haven't seen that when you've tried, but could be a matter of honing in on the correct dose to try, or giving it the right amount of time. Sometimes it can take a couple days to clear.

My sense ultimately is you may want to try a different insulin. Alternately I think early shooting is an option, but IMO too stressful to contemplate unless you are really gung ho about it. On the plus side though, maybe he has been spending enough time in good #s that liver training is less of an issue any longer, so maybe with a slightly lowered dose you would see better #s now? I'm not sure though, b/c whenever you lower it for the evening dose now, the morning PS is super high, vs. the higher dose in the AM is giving you much better PSs in the PM.

Well, hmmm, not much help there, just musing...
 
I can understand not wanting to go all the way back down to 1.5u, but right now at 2.6u I can really see that it is too much. That run you had from 3/9 to 3/14 was just way too much of a drop and with that 37 and 42 as a nadir number, you really shouldn't up the dose from there. Those numbers are too low and you should be doing a dose reduction of some sort after seeing those, no matter what the other numbers are. At least consider going down to 2u and hold it for a few days and see where Samwise evens out to. I really truly feel that 2.7u is way too much for him right now.

That vet you mention is just crazy - but we all know that :lol: how on earth does he think you will be able to tell if the insulin is working *too* well ohmygod_smile
 
Yah, those lower green nadirs do scare me too. And I know we have all been happy to *finally* see some greens with him, but I agree the steep drops aren't good for the overall picture, it's just not a sustainable pattern. Sorry you have had such a tough time with him, I know it has really been a journey for you. The super-good news though is you know good #s are possible and more or less with what dose - it's not that crazy scary place any longer where the #s are just high all the time and nothing you do seems to work. Which means if you try a lower dose you could hold it for a full 2-3 days and see if the #s start to improve on their own - some times you don't see the improvement in that 1st day - and then if not you can always raise back up.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top