Samwise AMPS & PMPS 3/19

Status
Not open for further replies.

sueandsamwise

Very Active Member
AMPS 440 Shot 2.7U

PMPS 124 No shot Checked 1 hour later he's up 100 pts. Knowing his wonky #'s I shot 2 U instead of 1.5U.
 
Your evening PSs are starting to look a lot better, wow! I wonder if it's the higher dose giving you a little bit longer duration? That would certainly be nice, assuming he is doing ok with the nadirs and not going too low.

Hope you are having a nice day!
 
I've been giving him a bit of a break from the +6 since his ears are so sore. Wish I would have done one today with his low PMPS, but after one hour he went up 100 pts and he was sitting by the bathroom door waiting for his shot, I think, knowing he'd need one later. :YMSIGH:
 
Hi Sue and Samwise! I've been looking at your spreadsheet and you have got a wide array of numbers there! I know I may seem like a broken record (been saying the same thing to others in PZI land today) but I would gander to say the dose is too high for Samwise right now. Those high preshots flanked by green are major bounces. The lovely thing about PZI vs. the Ls is that you can reduce the dose to try to level out the bounces. Zooming up that much is hard on kitty systems. I know the nadirs are very nice and pretty but going from over 600 to low 100s is way too much of a drop. They only way to get rid of those bounces is to let the cycle even out a little more by dropping back the dose. Once kitty is used to those numbers, then you can slowly increase in an effort to bring the overall numbers down. It looks like in the beginning you held at 1u/0.5u for a while and then quickly went up to 2u. At 2u you started getting shallower curves and then hit greens all of a sudden, which he definitely bounced from. In light of that, I'd recommend going back down to 1.5u BID and test for ketones just to be sure. Give that at least 5 days to let it settle in since it will be a big change in dose. I'd be very curious if they cycles would even out with that change.
 
The vet is thinking that Sam is showing some insulin resistance. He is certainly being hard to regulate. We are thinking a change of insulin as pzi may not be for him. He does bounce all over the place that's for sure. I'll see what she says about a dose decrease. It may work into something.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top