Samwise AMPS & PMPS 3/12

Status
Not open for further replies.

sueandsamwise

Very Active Member
AMPS 347 2.6u

+6 47 Low green Gave several high carb treats and he ate two big meals. :mrgreen:

PMPS 422 shot 2.6U

I promise not to whine anymore.
 
Just looking at his SS, seems like he may be a candidate for a sliding scale, not sure if you are already working it that way or not? Here's what I'm seeing from recent data:

PS 200 - 1u
PS 350 - try 2.4u? 2.5 looked too much on 3/9, and again today
PS 400 - 500 (?) - 2.5? (2.6?)
PS HI - 2.6 (or could try 2.5 to keep the drop from being so steep)

Well that's pretty vague :roll: but hope maybe it helps a little. I know it can be overwhelming when you are figuring out what to shoot each shot, especially with wide swings in the #s. I know when I was in that place it felt like I was literally on a roller-coaster, and I think I held my breath a lot of the time - just never knew if was going to be a blue # or a black one.

Hope you are having a nice weekend!
 
Sue and Oliver said:
Makes you wonder if eventually he will get used to the greens and stop bouncing back .

I'm thinking it's either that he's bouncing from the steep drops as much as from liver training, and/or he may need early shooting to get enough time in good #s to overcome liver training. But I'm hoping I'm wrong and we'll see some improvement on BID. :-D If he'd throw more PSs in the 300s, I think there is a good chance we'll see more improvement, but when it's reds & HIs I'm thinking he may end up needing another insulin. But I guess we'll see. It is awesome at least that he's finally got some sort of breakthrough - even it's not ideal, it is still better than solid high #s!
 
I am trying a bit of a sliding scale.

175-99 no shot

185-200 1U
200-300 2U
300-400 2.5U
400+ 2.6U

I may lower it even more on the 185-200 to .5U - .75U

So, we'll see how this works. Keep paws & fingers crossed. :smile:
 
I'd be tempted to back off a hair in the 350 zone based on that low you got the other day. And it seemed like the 1u you shot on the blue PS the other day worked perfectly, so I wouldn't back off that dose or if you do, not by much. Maybe just 0.8 or 0.9 if the 1u makes you nervous. Just my 2c. :)

Liver training is when their body isn't used to lower #s, and triggers rebound even when there is no actual danger or need to rebound. So if you see something like a day in pretty blue #s (but no scary lows and no steep drop, which would trigger true rebound b/c their body is protecting them from a possible hypo) followed by a black # at the next PS, then that is often liver training. If you can keep them in blues & greens for long stretches of several hours running, then their body gets used to those #s again and stops protesting.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top