Samwise AMPS and PMPS 3/1

Status
Not open for further replies.

sueandsamwise

Member Since 2010
AMPS 128 Shot 2.5U

+3.5 88 :mrgreen: Not dropping as fast as I thought.

+6 71 :mrgreen:

PMPS 469 Shot 2.75U

I know I probably shouldn't have. Husband will be home keeping an eye on him.
 
Nice that you have DH home to help out. Sending good thoughts for a day not too high or low.
 
That is a low number for 2.5, Sue. I am sure your husband has the hypo info as you have dealt with this before. (I seem to remember you flying home from work one day......) The problem with shooting that much insulin into 128 is that Sam has so little room to go down. 80 points and he is low enough for intervention...Paws and fingers crossed that he will surprise us again and skate along today.
 
I know, I"m worried sick. DH has the info, I told him to keep an eye on him and test him again. He is going to at +3 and I'll let you know the #.

I should have dropped the dose more. nailbite_smile I just remembered that the meter tests 20% low so he would have been closer to 153 or so. Still low but we have a bit more leeway.
 
Looks like you may have dodged a bullet - literally. Shooting that dose into that number is a little like Russian Roulette, especially since he doesn't always do what we expect him to.

Glad it looks like he is doing okay. His amps seem to dropping into nice numbers with still the higher pmps. Wonder why the insulin lasts overnight but doesn't last during the day? How active is he? Does he eat at night or just in the daytime?
 
He doesn't eat as much at night, everybody sleeps. He did wake me up again this morning about 2:30 and I fed him. I will never shoot that much insulin again on a blue. What dose should I give him when it's in the hundreds? I lost the sheet Lori gave me. Man, she'd be yelling at me now wouldn't she?

Sam is pretty active in the day. He spends his time sleeping, bugging the DH, bugging his sister, going outside if it's nice to roll in the dirt, which he did at lunch and eating. He has eaten a whole can of FF and part of another. The DH said he has finished that one off too. I imagine because of the high BG. Okay, I'm kicking myself again and again. angry(2)_cat
 
I don't know about the evening dose. Let's see what you get and what others say.

You have good momentum going and don't want to lose it, but want to keep him safe.

Well, I do know that activity lowers bg levels so there goes that theory....Maybe food raises his bg levels more than other cats, and no food at night lowers his levels.....I seldom suggest regulated meals but I suppose he could be one of those cats for whom food is really a factor.

Yes, Lori would not be happy with you. ohmygod_smile
 
The food could be making a difference, he's been eating straight canned for awhile now. He usually eats right up until we go to bed around 10 or so. He may have to have set mealtimes and one in the middle of the night. Who knows with him, he likes to throw me for a loop now and then.

I do miss Lori. :sad:
 
Oh yeah, I can just imagine what Lori would be saying now, LOL!!!! Glad today came out well, and all lectures aside (uh hm), what a pretty blue PS!!!!!!!!!!!! :mrgreen: I know the temptation to add some points to the meter assuming it runs low - the problem is they aren't always consistent. I did side-by-side tests for a while of 2 meters, and while 1 was mostly consistently lower, often by 27 points, every now and then I would get the same reading, or only off by 5 points or something. Ok, done lecturing. Lori would be disappointed if I didn't say *something*. :lol:
 
Yep, I know she would. I am going to be using the sliding scale for shots from now on. I kept thinking in the back of my head that the vet said, no just shoot what I told you to shoot. 2.75 no matter what. That's why I didn't go any lower. But I will now. ****, I don't want my Sam to get hurt. He was really nasty today about getting tested. I think his ears are really sore. He hissed and growled and tried to get away from me for a test. He even started growling when I picked him up just to love on him and let him look out the windows, a usually favorite past time.

So, I hope I have learned my lesson.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top