Sam's AMps 72

Status
Not open for further replies.

sueandsamwise

Member Since 2010
Sammy's AMPS was 72. My husband wanted to give the morning shot of .5u but I told him to wait for an hour and re-test. Sam had eaten a large portion of Friskies at 5 am and we tested at 7:45 am. Hope this is right. I want no HYPO!
 
Hi and welcome, glad you came over.

That was a good call, 72 is a non diabetic number. What have his bg's been?

For newly diagnosed kitties the general NO SHOOT # is 200. Once you collect enough data you can lower it to 180, etc.

People are going to want to know Sammy's history.

How was he diagnosed, what is he eating, are you checking for ketones, what dose does he usually get and can you set up a spreadsheet?

Welcome to PZIsland.
 
I'll set up the sheet when I get off work. My husband did another test at 10:30am and it was 152. It had come up and he had eaten recently. The vet recommended a shot in the mornings of .5u. He gave him one. Don't know if this is a good thing or not. Sammy was DX'd in Feb of 09 and got off the juice a month later. He got very debilitated and ended up at the vets over the weekend with a bg of 404. So after being off the juice for over a year the diet failed. We are hoping to get it going again, if we could get Sammy to eat!
 
What great numbers! Because of the low number, and the fact that the 152 is influenced by food, I personally would test every two hours just to make sure he doesn't drop too low. You want to catch a hypo BEFORE it becomes an actual hypo :-D

I know I haven't been following your threads as closely, but can you please remind me what your usual dose is right now?
 
Usual dose is .5u morning and 1u evening. He's been on this dosing for 4 days only. We tried to get a BG at lunch but couldn't get his ear to bleed. He is so good about it too, just sat there and didn't move a muscle, just flicked his ear occasionally.
 
Did a BG at 6:16pm and it was 296. He then ate 3 times, the last time he really packed it away. We'll bg before his scheduled shot at 9:30. I don't remember, does the eating of food cause the BG to come up or down???? :?:
 
Thanks, good to know. Sam had 1u of insulin at 9:10 with a BG of 346 PMPS. He just ate a helping of food at 9:36pm.
 
Glad he's eating again.

Can you set up a spreadsheet. The instructions are in the tech forum. Sorry but age is diminishing my memory :lol: it will also let us look at your ss to see your history.
 
Yes, I'll set it up tonight. I got busy last night and didn't get it done. Sams' BG this morning pre-shot ws 446 and he got .5 u of insulin. At 12:42 (lunch) it was 316. He's on a roller coaster today. He is not eating again too.
 
Post in the tech forum and someone will help you with the ss.

ps: I don't get it either, someone else had to put Harley's pic in.
 
hi! :-D if his pancreas is working food can lower the BGs, it's kind-o confuzing.... food will raise the BG, but will also trigger the pancreas to produce insulin to counteract the blood sugar - as Robin said if they are diabetic, BGs go up - hard to know with most kitties if their panc works or not, and how much... if you can feed several small meals that's supposed to be better for the pancreas than 2 big ones, but of course if he's not eating well you have to get whatever you can in him when you can...

are you testing for ketones? sounds like maybe his BGs are up b/c he isn't eating well? sorry I haven't been following along, just trying to catch up today, so not up to date yet on his history...
 
Yes, it's all confusing. confused_cat He ate this morning at 6 am and then we tested pre-shot around 7:45am. His BG was 546. He got .5 u of PZI. My husband is supposed to test him again but I doubt he did it. He has to hay today so he probably went outside before the wind got up. We are having a hard time getting his ear to bleed. We've tried warming it, etc and it takes a lot of tries on both ears to get a sample. He growled today and he usually doesn't do that. Poor guy, his ears will be swiss cheese. Charlie wanted to try his pad but we'll wait on that. I did order some Forti-flora for sam's food. Hopefully, that will get him eating again. We do feed several small meals when he shows interest. He will come out into the kitchen and sit.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top