Sam's AMPS 590! Really worried

Status
Not open for further replies.

sueandsamwise

Very Active Member
Sam's BG was up to 590 this morning! He ate at 5 am and again at 6 am then got the BG reading and shot .5u at 8am. He is acting normally, peeing (less) and eating like a champ! Should I call the vet and at least tell them what his reading are. They don't like home testers, say it's not needed.
 
What is he eating? Is he on a low carb canned food?

If not and he's eating alot before the test and shot then my guess is that 590 is a high carb food spike.
 
no it shouldn't...i forget why are you only shooting .5?
 
maybe time to increase your dose...and was'nt someone gonna help you get the spread sheet up
 
You had some high PSs before I think following the 0.5 dose, right? I'd still go with .75 for both shots. May need more, but I'm suspicious of some of the low PSs you got off a full 1u, so that's why I'd try 0.75 ...
 
joanna i don't see a SS, is it too long a story to explain why this kitty is on a micro dose?
 
Sam is on micro dose per vet instructions. He had such a bad reaction to the Vetsulin the first time, practically going hypo after every shot that they started him out on this dose. I suppose I could call them and ask what to do. I'd like to up it but am scared to. His doses are .5u morning and 1u afternoon. We took a sample at 12;30 pm and it was 434.(-4.5 after the shot at 8am) Lower but still not where I'd like it. He has been begging for food every couple of hours, can't seem to get enough, which makes me think, he is not regulated. He is still active and walking lots better, talking to us and going outside.

I am still trying to get up a SS and can't figure it out. Sheesh.
 
see last thread Lori, I think there's just the one, has more info there...

The part I don't like is the different AM vs. PM dose. It sounds to me like that worked great for those days when he was at the vet getting regulated (did I understand that right?) but clearly isn't working now that you are home. I doubt the vet meant for you to continue with the setup if it isn't working.

That's the problem with getting regulated at the vet - they don't follow the same living pattern as they do at home, so it seems to me like their BGs might run different at home too on whatever natural cycle they have.

So yes, I would call the vets and report the #s you are getting. Doesn't make sense to stick with what they figured out if it's not working in reality, & seems pretty clear it isn't working. They told you he was like 122 or something when he left there, right? So 434? Nope, not working!!!

Me being me :-D I would ask them something like "is it ok if I try the same dose AM & PM, like 0.75u? that makes more sense to me and I'd like to try that unless you think it isn't safe or something..."
 
well just looked at the spread sheet and there was only 1 number in it. no dose, no amps, pmps. ???
i'll take a look at the other thread.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top