Molly and Sammy
Member Since 2018
Hi all, I am following the SLGS protocol with my Sammy, using Lantus and a human meter (switched from AT), and we are starting to see some nice improvements. Preshots still in the 300's, but he just earned his second reduction in three days by testing under 90 - in the 70's both times. And both times when I saw that score I have fed a tablespoon of higher carb FF with gravy to steer him back up. I know that 50 is the "take action" number, but is there an advantage to letting him go down to 50 before taking action? I know he has earned the reduction, is that enough? I am really, really scared of a hypo - I have the kit on hand and know what to do, but would much prefer to keep him safer. I can't drive and getting to an emergency vet takes some maneuvering. Am I slowing down his healing by intervening? Thank you.