? Sammy - when can I intervene?

Molly and Sammy

Member Since 2018
Hi all, I am following the SLGS protocol with my Sammy, using Lantus and a human meter (switched from AT), and we are starting to see some nice improvements. Preshots still in the 300's, but he just earned his second reduction in three days by testing under 90 - in the 70's both times. And both times when I saw that score I have fed a tablespoon of higher carb FF with gravy to steer him back up. I know that 50 is the "take action" number, but is there an advantage to letting him go down to 50 before taking action? I know he has earned the reduction, is that enough? I am really, really scared of a hypo - I have the kit on hand and know what to do, but would much prefer to keep him safer. I can't drive and getting to an emergency vet takes some maneuvering. Am I slowing down his healing by intervening? Thank you.
 
Hi Molly! Since 50 is the take action number and 70's are nice and safe, I would probably just give a tsp or so of LC wet food and retest in 30 minutes to see if that brought Sammy back or just keeping him surfing. Because, he's not used to being in lower numbers, he'll probably start to bounce and high carb gravy will hike him up even more. I would save the HC for when he's starts getting too close to 50 and it's early in the cycle. Mid to later in the cycle the insulin is starting to wear off and a natural rise will occur usually.

It looks like you test enough to follow TR and then you could get him to stay in the nice greens for longer before you would reduce. Is there a reason why you are following SLGS?
 
Next time you see an under 90 but above 50, try feeding a couple tsp of his regular low carb food. Ideally you would like him to spend time in those upper greens. That is the zone where the pancreas can begin to heal. Which is important if your goal is regulation, then eventually remission. In addition, you also want to encourage those green surfs like he is having today, so he gets used to healthy green numbers. Once he is used to them, he won’t bounce as much and will overall spend more time under renal threshold.

You are right to be scared of hypos, we all should be. But learning his response to various carb foods will help you keep him above the hypo numbers. Food and syrup or honey will help you keep him safe. You are doing a great job testing, more than most do following the SLGS method. And by the way, SLGS is not a protocol, but rather a method developed here before the TR protocol was published
 
Next time you see an under 90 but above 50, try feeding a couple tsp of his regular low carb food. Ideally you would like him to spend time in those upper greens. That is the zone where the pancreas can begin to heal. Which is important if your goal is regulation, then eventually remission. In addition, you also want to encourage those green surfs like he is having today, so he gets used to healthy green numbers. Once he is used to them, he won’t bounce as much and will overall spend more time under renal threshold.

Thank you so much. Your response was exactly what I needed to hear: surfing in those numbers is good for him! I had not understood that so couldn't figure out why I would delay intervention. I will put on my "big girl pants" and follow your advice. I sure appreciate your time.
 
Hi Molly! Since 50 is the take action number and 70's are nice and safe, I would probably just give a tsp or so of LC wet food and retest in 30 minutes to see if that brought Sammy back or just keeping him surfing. Because, he's not used to being in lower numbers, he'll probably start to bounce and high carb gravy will hike him up even more. I would save the HC for when he's starts getting too close to 50 and it's early in the cycle. Mid to later in the cycle the insulin is starting to wear off and a natural rise will occur usually.

It looks like you test enough to follow TR and then you could get him to stay in the nice greens for longer before you would reduce. Is there a reason why you are following SLGS?
Thank you. I am going to test those lower number waters..... giving HC food only under 60 for now. (baby steps ;) On the SLGS issue, I have a really cool vet who supports everything this site suggests and actually reviews my spreadsheets and gives feedback at no charge! She reviewed both methods and recommended SLGS for Sammy. I am willing to take another look at TR as I gain confidence, and meanwhile am excited to be seeing improvement with this approach.
 
Sammy looks like a diver - look at Luci's SS ... she's a diver too.. Loves the 'thrill' (I guess)...but Sammy looks like he starts from the really high platform!! Maybe with time he'll bring it down to the yellows...gotta watch those divers carefully...frequent testing and ready with food (different carb levels)...if things get too close to the line (50 line) you will want to have MC and HC on hand. Mark the bottom of all your cans with the carb content percentage so it'll be easy to grab...don't want to try to figure it out when you're feeling panicky! You're doing a great job so far with the testing :)
 
Sammy looks like a diver - look at Luci's SS ... she's a diver too.. Loves the 'thrill' (I guess)...but Sammy looks like he starts from the really high platform!! Maybe with time he'll bring it down to the yellows...gotta watch those divers carefully...frequent testing and ready with food (different carb levels)...if things get too close to the line (50 line) you will want to have MC and HC on hand. Mark the bottom of all your cans with the carb content percentage so it'll be easy to grab...don't want to try to figure it out when you're feeling panicky! You're doing a great job so far with the testing :)
Thanks for the reply. Yes, I keep the special food and Karo in a separate cupboard. I am retired so have the luxury of testing often and being able to monitor those dives most days. I am getting more comfortable with the lower numbers now that I know FF with gravy pulls him up quickly, and will now try to wait till he hits 60 before pushing the h/c food. Then MAYBE 55. Meanwhile I'm hoping those preshot numbers start to come down. I appreciate the advice!
 
Back
Top