Sammy PMPS 166

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sammysmom

Member
Just curious what you all think about this. We were 20 minutes late checking PMPS and he was 166. My fiancé said he really didn't want me to dose insulin this low. Sorry for not having his spreadsheet more up to date but Sam had 1.25 units of PZI at 8:00am and AMPS was 267. I just worry his numbers will be super high in the morning. Was skipping the dose the best thing or should I have given maybe like .5 units? It just sucks when he gets too high because it's so hard to get it back under control. What do you all think?
 
Sorry, you got no answers last night. For next time- No, I would not shoot 166. To avoid skipping, wait 20 minutes without feeding and retest. If he has come up some, (say to 180) you could shoot a reduced dose. You want to make sure he is rising, not falling, and high enough to shoot. Food will mess that up.

If you skipped, you may find he is high this am. It's because he has been without insulin for 24 hours. Don't increase the dose for that higher number. Stick with what you had.

Going forward, it does sound like you could reduce the dose a tiny bit. You want 2 shootable numbers at amps and pmps.

It would be very helpful for us if you'd update your ss (at least the last few weeks) and post more often. :mrgreen: it's difficult to give dosing advice if we don't know what is going on.
 
Re: Sammy PMPS 159

Great thanks Sue and Oliver. It's crazy how fast time goes by. I didn't realize I had not updated the spreadsheet since 03/31! It's updated now! Since we were already 20 mins late checking last night, we decided to feed him and not give insulin. This morning I gave him his normal dose of 1.25 and then tonight PMPS was 159. Again, did not shoot. Just wondering what you think about tomorrows AM dose? Thanks for your response!
 
I'd reduce the dose. You want 2 shootable preshots instead of having to skip and then the next preshot is high. If you skip tonight, he will probably be back up tomorrow am. Regardless, I'd go down to one unit and hold a few cycles to see if you can get two preshot numbers you can shoot safely. This weekend, could you get some midcycle numbers? It'd be good to know how low he goes down.
 
Re: Sammy PMPS 180

Ok great thanks did 1 unit this AM, then tonight PMPS is 180. Do I shoot 1 unit? This number worries me a little
 
Darn, looks like I was too late. Next time, retest without feeding. You can shoot 180 if you are sure he is rising, not falling. You could shoot a little less than one or even one, if you can monitor - at least a before bed test to make sure he isn't going too low early in the cycle.

Do you have U100 needles? If not, you might get some -1/2 unit U100s. You can dose in smaller increments using the U100s and the conversion chart. With them, you could shoot .8 for instance.
 
Re: Sammy PMPS 180

Hi sue and Oliver! Thank you for your help. I am so grateful! My gut was telling me to wait and retest however, when I did his pm check before feeding I was already about 40 min late. I work at a hospital and sometimes it's impossible to get home in time. So basically, 40 min after his normal check and then feeding time is when I got the 180 number. I fed without insulin because he and his brother were crying and acting as if they were starving (more than usual) so I just fed without giving any insulin since my schedule tomorrow would not allow me to suspend his regular time. I appreciate your help and advice so much!
 
As you collect data, you may be able to determine a sliding scale so that if you get a low pre-test, you'll give a smaller dose and if you get a higher pre-test, you'll give a higher dose.

Make a table of all your data:
Pre-shot, dose, number of hours since shot, next test

Sort by these fields.

Now examine the sorted table. Look for patterns.
<200 no shot
200-300 __ units
300-400 __units
Etc
 
Re: Sammy AMPS 157

Thank you BJM that's a good idea. Sammy's bgs are making me a little nervous. Last night his PMPS was 199 and i wanted to make sure he was rising. Got 201 and gave a super small dose .25 and + 3 was 93! I gave him a small snack since it was late at night and I couldn't stay up much later. This AMPS was 157. I did not give a shot. Any ideas about dosing this evening if we get a number in the 200-250 range?
 
Re: Sammy AMPS 157

Sammysmom said:
... Last night his PMPS was 199 and i wanted to make sure he was rising. Got 201 and gave a super small dose .25 and + 3 was 93! I gave him a small snack since it was late at night and I couldn't stay up much later. This AMPS was 157. I did not give a shot. Any ideas about dosing this evening if we get a number in the 200-250 range?

Good job not shooting! And given the drop you saw, I think I wouldn't shoot below 200. Are you using {-100 syringes with the conversion chart? It may be time to consider that if not.

To me, it looks like he is flirting with diet controlled status. Since you skipped this morning, get a test at +2-ish after feeding and see if he is spiking much from food and another round +4 to see if it comes back down on its own. You might even run a losse curve of midcycle tests just to observe what is happening.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top