Sammy: looking for feedback on recent numbers

Status
Not open for further replies.

TokyoKitty

Member Since 2013
Sammy's been in the yellows consistently for the last week or so (before that in the pinks). Then this morning her AMPS was about 100 points lower than usual (127). I retested every 30 minutes and she continued dropping: 121, 112, 108. At this point I freaked out and fed her, and skipped her morning dose (see posting below on levemir forum).

She seemed to feel great; peeing and pooping are normal, she was playing with her toys for the first time in months. After eating she zonked out and is still sleeping. Her +2.5 and +4.5 numbers are up (157, 265). I'll keep testing through the day.

But I'm mystified as to what caused this sudden >100 point drop in her numbers. I had increased her dose yesterday from 1.0 to 1.1. I wouldn't expect such a small increase to have such a big impact. This has shattered my expectations. Now I'm wondering what to do tonight or tomorrow morning if her numbers drop again like this.

I know that skipping her shot will drain her depot, and the sudden drop in her numbers will likely lead to rebound. So what to do tonight? (my 9pm is PST 5am, so probably not many eyes on the board). Any feedback/suggestions on how to interpret her numbers and/or what tests/data to focus on gathering? Thanks so much for your help.

previous post to Levemir forum
 
I have no experience with Levimir so feel unable to assist you.

There are more Levimir users on the Insulin Support Group Lantus TR. The name is misleading as it is both Lantus and Levimir users. It's pretty active usually.

I suggest that you cut and paste from this post into a new post over in the TR forum.
 
Hi there! Quick question from a newbie...I've seen folks referring to being in the yellow, red, blue, etc. when discussing BG. But I can't seem to find what that refers to. Help? Thanks!
 
It refers to the standard spreadsheet we use, which automatically color codes the numbers.

Instructions are here

Also, some glucose reference ranges for decision making using a human glucometer

< 40 mg/dL
- Treat as if HYPO

< 50 mg/dL
- If before nadir, steer with food
- At nadir, often indicates dose reduction is earned

50 - 130 mg/dL
- On insulin - great control
- Off insulin - normal numbers

> 150 mg/dL
- At nadir, indicates a dose increase may be needed

180 - 280 mg/dL
- Any time - The renal threshold (depending on data source and cat's renal function) where glucose spills into the urine. Test for ketones, glucose is too high.

>= 280 mg/dL, especially if for most of the cycle between shots
- Uncontrolled diabetes and in danger of DKA and hepatic lipidosis
- Test for ketones; more than a trace, go to vet ASAP.
 
Thanks so much! I've downloaded the spreadsheet, popped in my readings so far (just got meter in the mail yesterday and awaiting a testing schedule from the vet - off to check the boards for some ideas as well), and added to my signature. Much appreciated! Jo
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top