Sammie had a seizure yesterday

Sarah & Sammie

Member Since 2017
Sammie had a seizure yesterday and lost her vision for a few hours. I rushed her to the emergency vet and they advised to have her see an ophthalmologist and neurologist. It wasn’t until speaking to her primary that I was given an accurate explanation for what happened. They want her numbers to stay in the upper 100s- lower 200s. Please keep Sammie in your thoughts.
 
I can't say "please" enough -- get more tests. A pre-shot test is not enough. You have no idea how low Sammie's numbers are going at nadir. You've had pre-shot numbers in the 80s. Sammie's numbers could be dangerously low by mid-cycle. It's likely that Sammie had a symptomatic hypoglycemic episode. Seizures and loss of vision can be symptoms of hypoglycemia. Getting spot checks is the best way to keep your kitty safe.
 
At this point, I'd encourage you to follow your vet's advice. We really rely on the spreadsheet for information to guide dosing. With SLGS, you need to remember to reduce the dose if Sammie's numbers drop below 90.
 
Sending healing vines to your Sammie for a full recovery. Just to add to Sienne's comments about mid cycle testing, don't forget to get night time tests every day because a most kitties go even lower at night than during the day. Even if all you can manage is a before bed test, it helps to provide clues as to where Sammie might be headed and alert you to a need to be more vigilant if BG is dropping from pre-shot.
 
I hope Sammie is ok. I also wonder if her symptoms could be attributable to symptomatic hypoglycemia.

Our kitties rely on us to keep them safe and I know you really love Sammie. Insulin is not a medication; it’s a hormone and so every shot has the potential to affect the BG differently until the cat is tightly regulated in all normal numbers.

I don’t know your schedule but if you work, if you could always get the preshots without fail, and then a +2 or out-the-door test, an in-the-door test in the a.m. cycle and then a PMPS, and a +2 and/or before bed test depending on when you go to bed, you’d have so much more info for us to help you and to keep Sammie safe.

Many vines that she is doing better.
 
I do hope your kitty is ok and send healing vines.
I would strongly recommend you get some ‘during the cycle’ tests in to see how low the dose is taking Sammie. This is the only way you can keep Sammie safe and know how low the dose is taking her.
If you are able to get a +2 and you find it is the same or lower than the Preshot, then you will know it will most likely be an active cycle and you need to test again.
Getting a mid cycle test in is also recommended.
Do you leave food out for Sammie during the cycles?
Best wishes to Sammie
 
I don’t know your schedule but if you work, if you could always get the preshots without fail, and then a +2 or out-the-door test, an in-the-door test in the a.m. cycle and then a PMPS, and a +2 and/or before bed test depending on when you go to bed, you’d have so much more info for us to help you and to keep Sammie safe.

Many vines that she is doing better.

Thank you for your well wishes. I can commit to testing before every shot but testing 5-6 times a day isn’t feasible. I’m doing the best I can for her.
 
Thank you for your well wishes. I can commit to testing before every shot but testing 5-6 times a day isn’t feasible. I’m doing the best I can for her.
Just remember without some data, how much assistance we can give you is limited. We won’t guess at numbers and doses.
 
No one is suggesting testing 5 to 6 times every day. Can you manage 4 tests per day and do 5 to 6 when you have a day at home? This is about keeping Sammie safe and without mid cycle tests when you can do them, you run the risk of Sammie having another episode.
 
Do you leave food out for Sammie during the cycles?
Best wishes to Sammie

Thank you. Sammie is fed twice daily prior to her shot. She’s not a big eater and rarely finishes her food, I have to entice her to eat by hiding treats in her food. When she finishes what she wants I take it away. I have a multi cat household and have to feed her separately or the others steal her food.
 
No one is suggesting testing 5 to 6 times every day. Can you manage 4 tests per day and do 5 to 6 when you have a day at home? This is about keeping Sammie safe and without mid cycle tests when you can do them, you run the risk of Sammie having another episode.
I have flexibility Monday, Saturday and Sunday. Tuesday- Friday I can do am preshot and then not again until pm preshot.
 
Do you think she would eat out of an automatic feeder?
She really needs to eat more than twice a day.
I do understand how hard it can be when a cat isn’t interested in food.
 
Do you think she would eat out of an automatic feeder?
She really needs to eat more than twice a day.
I do understand how hard it can be when a cat isn’t interested in food.
Yeah she does not like eating. Most times she eats about 2 tablespoons. It’s rare that she finishes her full 1/4 cup. I was feeding her three times per day but the vet instructed me not to, said meals should be aligned with her shots. I can ask again tomorrow when I speak with him. Do you know of any chip activated feeders that are not the $200 dollar one?
 
Your vet is not up to date if he is saying to only feed twice a day. That was used for the old insulins.
Lantus is a longer acting, gentler insulin and feeding several smaller meals during the day is better for the pancreas.

Feeding more frequently also keeps the cat safer as she will be getting more food more often to keep the BG level up at a safe level.

I would still give her the same sized breakfast and dinner but add more in during the am and pm cycles.

Looking at your signature you are feeding Z/d dry... is that correct?
Is there any reason why you are not feeding canned food? Is that all she will eat?

I’ll look into the auto feeder with a chip for you and will get back to you.
 
I would still give her the same sized breakfast and dinner but add more in during the am and pm cycles.

Looking at your signature you are feeding Z/d dry... is that correct?
Is there any reason why you are not feeding canned food? Is that all she will eat?

I’ll look into the auto feeder with a chip for you and will get back to you.

I just spoke to another vet at the practice and she said I can give additional food when I am home to do so.
Sammie is a picky eater and we haven’t had luck with other foods (she also has IBD.) I can give the wet z/d a try again.

I browsed last night and couldn’t find an affordable feeder. Please let me know if you find one.
 
I have a multi cat household too and so that George doesn't get into the civies food I feed the civies in another room where they have access via a catflap that George can't use.
Our's is Microchip activated, but there are catflaps which are more economical that are activated by a magnet on the collar.

So if Sammie would use a cat flap she could have food left out for her in another room that only she has access to, that way if her BG were to drop and she looked for food she would be able to at least have access to it. Not all cats look for food when they are low, my experience with George was that he would look for food and come pester me when his BG dropped either fast or was lower than usual.

If making a hole in a door to another room is not an option, we had a member that had a cat flap fitted to a crate, the food for the diabetic cat was in the crate so that only she could access it when she wanted.
images
images
upload_2019-11-15_15-59-23.jpeg


This U tube vid has some good ideas


as does this article (even though it's about keeping dogs away from the food the principles still can be applied to keeping the other cats away from her food)
https://www.catfooddispensersreviews.com/how-to-keep-a-dog-from-eating-the-cats-food/
 
Sending prayers for Sammie! As has been mentioned above, testing is critical. I hope you can work in a few more - when you're home. We all understand how difficult it is...and many people on the forum work outside of the home so they just aren't there to test - so just get them whenever you ARE home...just so you can know how low that dose will take Sammie. I know it's stressful to juggle so much - but ER visits only make everything worse and more stressful...hope to avoid another seizure. :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Sending prayers for Sammie! As has been mentioned above, testing is critical. I hope you can work in a few more - when you're home. We all understand how difficult it is...and many people on the forum work outside of the home so they just aren't there to test - so just get them whenever you ARE home...just so you can know how low that dose will take Sammie. I know it's stressful to juggle so much - but ER visits only make everything worse and more stressful...hope to avoid another seizure. :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:

thank you for your understanding and kind response.
 
Back
Top