? Sammie 1/2 PMPS 424 +1 454

Sarah & Sammie

Member Since 2017
I’ve been testing with both the alphatrak and a human meter for a couple of days. I read that there is no conversion between the two, but I’m worried about the inconsistencies in the readings.

For instance, this morning Sammie was 551 on the alphatrak and 499 on the contour next. At +8 she is 604 on the alphatrak and 417 on the contour next. Shouldn’t the numbers rise and fall together to some degree? I’m worried about what will happen once her numbers are in a healthier range.

human meter spreadsheet here: https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1L896VADrw72BYrwCGwfO7rbgWEVkj-WEBI3gtWC55TY

The alphatrak is in my signature.
 
Many people here transition to human meters - generally the advice is don't get too hung up on comparing the numbers - heck I've compared the numbers just between human meters and they're all different - all the time.

The numbers are typically lower on the human meters and the protocols are written using human meters - personally I think it just makes life easier to 1) Be in agreement with the protocols 2)Save you money for food, vet visits and insulin and supplies; not overspending on AT2 strips - the numbers will take care of themselves - high is still high whether a human or pet meter; low is still going to be low. You'll want to make changes based on those numbers and trends. Patterns will emerge over time...

For instance at this time, I see that you need help from @Marje and Gracie to get the new SS set up for Sammie - and it also looks like an increase might be in order...it would be great to get a few mid-cycle tests to see if any of that insulin is making an impact.

Housekeeping item: Could you please edit your title to include the date, cat name, AMPS - it really helps keep all the posts for today straight and may help draw attention to your post today. You may also want to use the ? mark - and then post your question about transitioning to the human meter.
 
For instance at this time, I see that you need help from @Marje and Gracie to get the new SS set up for Sammie

Is the spreadsheet not working? Everything looks ok on my end.

I have a curve planned for Saturday. I am so afraid of increasing her to 3 units because every time we have in the past she gets dangerously low, and we start all over.
 
Is the spreadsheet not working? Everything looks ok on my end.

I have a curve planned for Saturday. I am so afraid of increasing her to 3 units because every time we have in the past she gets dangerously low, and we start all over.
We don’t have two SS on one cat. They need to be all on the same SS. If you can send me a PM, I can get it all fixed for you.
 
The human meters and AT read closer in lower numbers, where it counts. I see those numbers for AMPS and +8 and I don't see they are inconsistent. Those all tell me the same thing, the blood sugar is too high. Exact numbers are not important that high up. Those numbers don’t influence our dosing decisions.

As for the spreadsheet, all I see is mostly preshot numbers, and hardly any mid cycle data, especially the PM. If you could get a few more mid cycle tests, and a test before bed every night, you could figure out how low this dose is taking Sammie, and confidently say whether an increase or decrease is needed. The curve will help, but those PM spot checks are equally useful. On the 30th, Sammie was breaking a bounce, sliding into that really nice PMPS. Another PM check that night would have been a good idea. A bounce breaking cycle is where you will likely see action.
 
As for the spreadsheet, all I see is mostly preshot numbers, and hardly any mid cycle data, especially the PM. If you could get a few more mid cycle tests, and a test before bed every night, you could figure out how low this dose is taking Sammie, and confidently say whether an increase or decrease is needed. The curve will help, but those PM spot checks are equally useful. On the 30th, Sammie was breaking a bounce, sliding into that really nice PMPS. Another PM check that night would have been a good idea. A bounce breaking cycle is where you will likely see action.

I often go to bed an hour or two after her evening injection. Is that enough time to give any information?
 
A test two hours after the shot is a good one to get in general. If it’s quite a bit lower that the preshot number, you will have an active cycle that needs more monitoring, or at least more food out out to keep Sammie safe.
 
Back
Top