Same dilemma: Should I change Lucy's dose?

Status
Not open for further replies.

123joan

Active Member
Lucy's numbers appear flat the past few days, other than the bizarre blue she displayed three days ago. I'm afraid to up her dose, as I keep reading that that can make the numbers rise. I'm keeping her feeding schedule regular, two meals in morning after AMPS, and one at dinner, right after PMPS. I will be able to take readings tomorrow at various times during the day. Her BG never seems to go down until way late in her cycle, then it doesn't go down much. Tuesday I will not be able to test her at all mid-cycle. I keep wanting to DO something. Then again I don't want to throw a big change if I won't be here to test. I tried the sliding scale for awhile, I just don't know what to do. So here we are again. Maybe this is the best she'll do?
 
The last few days probably look flat because of that bizarre blue. She hasn't seen a blue for a while now and bounced from it. Today's numbers look like she's clearing the bounce.

If you want to raise I would only fatten up the 1 unit (just a hair over the 1unit mark) when you will be around to test through the cycle to see what it does.
 
I'm afraid to up her dose, as I keep reading that that can make the numbers rise.

Here's what I think. Yes, in general, that's possible. But when people say that, I think they are referring to a chronic rebound type of thing. You shoot more, and you get higher PS readings, and it makes no sense.

My understanding anyway is that when that happens, there have to be low numbers in there somewhere. If the high numbers are due to excess insulin, there has to be evidence that at some point they are going so low that they cause repeated bounces. If you run a curve and test every two hours, and you never see any real drop, then what's causing the numbers to stay flat or go up?

If all you see is flat cycles, then that's an indication that the dose is not high enough. If you run a curve, and it is very flat, AND IT HAPPENS MORE THAN ONCE, then it (to me) says that the dose is not high enough to be having any effect on the BG except that it stops any "food boost" from showing up on the meter. The reason that I capitalized there is because I don't suggest anyone ever do anything based on one cycle. The only exception to that is if you see a really low, like sub-50 number, in which case you may (or may not) reduce the dose. That decision depends on how big a drop it was to 50. If the AMPS is 150, and you see a 45, that's one thing. If you start at 300 and see a 45, then yes, that indicates a dose that is too high.

Carl
 
Today I will run a curve. I chose to stay at 1 unit for today. I can't be here tomorrow to test during her mid cycle, so don't want to change dose when I can't be around.

It looks to me like the dose she is getting now is, like you said, is keeping the food boost from showing up on the meter. Maybe she will never get that curve that I'm looking for. Come on, Lucy.

When I was using the sliding scale, she was all over the place.

And now I can't even figure out why I went down from 1.2 to 1.0.

Today I will have plenty of new data, and perhaps a new plan, or reassurance that this plan is the best we can do.

Onward. Its' Monday! Day before election day.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top