Sam - AMPS 414, +6 43

Status
Not open for further replies.

KristenP&Sam

Member Since 2010
I don't get how he can have such a good day yesterday then be up over 400 this morning. It's disconcerting to say the least. You think you're headed into lower numbers, then bam! You're right back up. Bummer.
 
43. Ack! I don't like such big drops. I wish I'd done a +6 yesterday. I'm going to go back to doing them for awhile.
 
Yeah, I would lower the dose a hair, I would probably try 1.8 or 1.6. You are seeing almost a 90% drop today (the % I like is more in the 60% - 65% range). If you had that same kind of drop yesterday on the lower PS, that could lead to the higher PS today. I'm thinking if it were me I would probably try 1.6 for a couple days and see what happens, and keep checking for a +6 at least every few days. If you lose the good nadirs and don't see much drop, then I'd go to 1.8. You know you have 2u as a "BAM" dose if you need to get into good #s quickly, but I'd say the nadirs are edging towards the low side, and as you said, the drop is likely too steep. Good you got the test in! You just never know really - could have been a 250, but good to have caught this one so now you know!
 
I don't have any other needles but the U40s, so doing a 1.8 would be guesswork. (I actually also have some 30 gauge, .3 cc syringes from another time and cat that say they're for use with u100 insulin, but they don't seem like anything anyone else uses here.)
 
A lot of us use ones like that but with 1/2 unit markings and a conversion chart. I think there is info on both in the PZI sticky if you are interested. Even without the 1/2 unit markings you still might be able to measure out some useful doses (every other one I guess). I think you could measure 1.6 maybe, so could eyeball 1.8. Anyhow though, I would just try eyeballing something a little lower than 2u on the U40 syringes - maybe put the top of the plunger on the line or something, some means where you get a little bit less than 2u, and can still be consistent with it. Personally, I would be hesitant to continue shooting as much as 2u, so even an approximated dose slightly lower than that seems safer to me.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top