Sam 4/6- Weird stuff

Status
Not open for further replies.

NadjaAndSam

Member Since 2012
So I've been trying to wait until Sam clears when I gave his shot 3 hrs late 3 days ago but I don't know if I can tell when this happens.
Yesterday he was 447 for his amps, 143 for +6, 461 for PMPS and now he tested 505 for his AMPS!!!
Do you think he is still bouncing from the late shot? or from his nice +6? How long does it usually take for a cat to clear from a mess up?
I was thinking about waiting until he is clear from my mess up before I change doses. I've been giving him a fat 1u since 3/27.
Any thoughts?
 
Just stopping in for a minutes, Nadja, while grandson naps. I think the high preshots are probably bounces from the nice low nadirs, as Cathy suggested. You might try working with the food to see if you can even out the cycle. Can you give him a snack around +4/+8 or so to see if it keeps him a little flatter overall? Maybe then he won't bounce back so high? (I don't know if you have an automatic feeder - they are great for that kind of thing)

Bouncing is another ECID thing. Some bounce for weeks, every time they see a lower number. Some bounce for only a few days. Once their body gets used to feeling those lower numbers, they quit reacting with more glucose. I like staying with the one unit for a few more days to see how he does.
 
Thanks Sue! I fed him around +3, and now +6 he tested 296. I should be around +8 to give him food again, he still has some left overs from his snack so he might eat that pretty soon!
Do they have automatic feeders for wet food?
 
You can really use any of them for wet. It lasts at least 6 hours - longer if frozen and allowed to thaw. Some have a freezer pack under to keep the food cold. I like the PetSafe5. The only one my cats couldn't break into, easy to program and can be programmed by actual clock time. There is a spot for a cold pack but it doesn't come with one. Also kind of expensive- cheapest on amazon.
 
Since you're holding on the dose, can you start getting that +6 pmps? That one test would do a lot to let us figure out why amps are running high.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top