? Sally's down to 0.25U... now what?

sullim4

Member Since 2023
Hi all,

It's been a while since I last posted, but I did want to report that Sally has been doing well. I was able to back off the 0.5U dosage since she dipped to a 43 a couple weeks ago using a human meter, qualifying for a reduction under TR. She's been at 0.25U since January 5 and has done well with it.

I will admit, we haven't been using the spreadsheet and have been using ReliOn's mySugr Bluetooth app for tracking. It's been nice to just have the numbers get imported automatically and plotted on a chart.

Her pre-shot numbers in the AM and PM have pretty consistently been between 100 and 120 on the ReliOn since going to 0.25U. She nadirs late, and her +7/+8 AM readings have consistently been in the mid-60s to mid-70s or so.

The vet asked for a curve last week. I did it with the Relion, and she was uneasy with the results because it wasn't an AlphaTrak and saw numbers in there that would indicate a hypo on a feline meter. That first curve, from last Wednesday on the Relion:

AMPS: 118 (gave 0.25U Lantus)
+2: 83
+4: 66
+6: 64
+8: 64
+10: 73
PMPS: 109 (gave 0.25U Lantus)
+2: 73

She asked for a curve on the Alphatrak... so I went and got one off Amazon and have been doing that today. Her numbers so far (Relion/Alphatrak):

AMPS: 103/142 (gave 0.25U Lantus)
+2: 113/146
+4: 86/112
+6: 80/100
+7: 70/100

I suspect the vet is going to tell us to take her off insulin, given that her numbers are "good" with such little insulin. When I told her we were giving her 0.25U, she chuckled and wondered how we could measure such a small amount.

My question to the group is - what should I be looking for to determine next steps? It seems like she is doing well with 0.25U, and those pre-shot numbers of 100-120 seem high enough that it doesn't look like she is ready to go OTJ. On the other hand, part of me wants to go down to 0.1U just to see how her body handles it. I want a strong remission for her, but I also don't want to needlessly keep her at 0.25U if she doesn't need it.

One additional data point - I had to skip a dose this past Saturday as we were out of town and unable to get a sitter. She was fed per her usual schedule and I tested her after she got breakfast earlier in the morning. Her BG was a 116... so very similar to her usual pre-shot numbers, but it was 26 hours after she last got insulin.
 
I actually have a very similar question. Zyler is still a little higher at 0.75u. But I’m noticing that when I check him at PS sometimes he’s low blue, but if I feed him a tsp of food and check again in 5-10 mins he’s back down to 80-90s, before his insulin. Maybe you could try giving just a bit of food pre shot and seeing if his body does what it’s supposed to on its own
 
Any chance you could put in the last two weeks of data on the spreadsheet? Those of us who give suggestions on dose tend to open the spreadsheet the very first thing we do. And by now are hardwired to read data that way.

But preshots above 100 consistently means she's not ready for a reduction on the "all green for a week" way of earning a reduction. If she was ready for a reduction, the next dose would be 0.1 units.
 
Back
Top