SantaCruzSPCA
Member Since 2017
Hello! Thank you ahead of time for any advice.
I put some info in my "Intro" post but I'll give a little back story here as well.
Rusty is a sweet diabetic 10-year-old boy who was recently surrendered to my shelter. His previous owners were dealing with health issues of there own and going through a move and didn't feel as though they could care for him any longer. Needless to say the shelter is not the greatest place for a diabetic cat to be but we are doing everything we can to provide a low stress environment (he's actually adjusted quite well!) with lots of attention and most importantly, better management of his diabetes...so that we can find him a home!
His previous treatment regimen (while in his home)
Insulin Type: Humulin N
Dose: 12u BID
Diet: Purina Cat Chow (dry) <-----this just makes me cringe typing it
Testing: I don't believe they were testing from home
After quite a bit of research over the last two days I now know that 12u is ALOT of insulin but also that his diet would have pumped ALOT of sugar into him as well. Which is probably why he survived without hypo-ing every day.
Moving forward...
Now that he is with us, our first change is diet. We have successfully switched him over to a "wet food only" diet (he's on his third day) but have run into difficulty finding something that he will eat, that he won't vomit, and that is also under 10% carb. We have found something that fits the first two requirements, Blue Buffalo Healthy Gourmet Pate Salmon Indoor Cat Food, but still has a few unwanted ingredients (brown rice, carrots, and sweet potatoes). I have done a few taste tests with Fancy Feast, Tiki Cat, and AvoDerm but he will not eat a bite, even if left with it for hours. I will continue to try others that I've seen listed on some of the other threads so it's a work in progress!
Now that he's on wet-food only, even if it's got a higher carb load than ideal, I would assume his insulin needs are going to decrease. We are now monitoring his glucose with Alpha Trak and are testing before shooting. However, I am uncertain of the right dose now that his diet is completely different. I've just started a spreadsheet for him, which I will attach as soon as I read the directions on how, lol.
My question is at what rate should the insulin be lowered? Do we completely start at square one and go down to 1u BID, do a curve and see where that takes him? Do we do a less drastic decrease (say start with 6-8u's)? Thoughts?
We have been taking the less drastic approach (as you can see by his spreadsheet) and are NOT proud of the near hypo on the first day due to that whopping dose! That was pre-research and we got lucky that he wasn't symptomatic...which I don't understand.
Also, due to the shelter environment, he is not monitored overnight so we have been following the rule of 200 and under, no shoot. Is that advisable? Morning AMPS are 300-400 with no previous PM shot.
Any advice is appreciated!
Rusty is a sweet diabetic 10-year-old boy who was recently surrendered to my shelter. His previous owners were dealing with health issues of there own and going through a move and didn't feel as though they could care for him any longer. Needless to say the shelter is not the greatest place for a diabetic cat to be but we are doing everything we can to provide a low stress environment (he's actually adjusted quite well!) with lots of attention and most importantly, better management of his diabetes...so that we can find him a home!
His previous treatment regimen (while in his home)
Insulin Type: Humulin N
Dose: 12u BID
Diet: Purina Cat Chow (dry) <-----this just makes me cringe typing it
Testing: I don't believe they were testing from home
After quite a bit of research over the last two days I now know that 12u is ALOT of insulin but also that his diet would have pumped ALOT of sugar into him as well. Which is probably why he survived without hypo-ing every day.
Moving forward...
Now that he is with us, our first change is diet. We have successfully switched him over to a "wet food only" diet (he's on his third day) but have run into difficulty finding something that he will eat, that he won't vomit, and that is also under 10% carb. We have found something that fits the first two requirements, Blue Buffalo Healthy Gourmet Pate Salmon Indoor Cat Food, but still has a few unwanted ingredients (brown rice, carrots, and sweet potatoes). I have done a few taste tests with Fancy Feast, Tiki Cat, and AvoDerm but he will not eat a bite, even if left with it for hours. I will continue to try others that I've seen listed on some of the other threads so it's a work in progress!
Now that he's on wet-food only, even if it's got a higher carb load than ideal, I would assume his insulin needs are going to decrease. We are now monitoring his glucose with Alpha Trak and are testing before shooting. However, I am uncertain of the right dose now that his diet is completely different. I've just started a spreadsheet for him, which I will attach as soon as I read the directions on how, lol.
My question is at what rate should the insulin be lowered? Do we completely start at square one and go down to 1u BID, do a curve and see where that takes him? Do we do a less drastic decrease (say start with 6-8u's)? Thoughts?
We have been taking the less drastic approach (as you can see by his spreadsheet) and are NOT proud of the near hypo on the first day due to that whopping dose! That was pre-research and we got lucky that he wasn't symptomatic...which I don't understand.
Also, due to the shelter environment, he is not monitored overnight so we have been following the rule of 200 and under, no shoot. Is that advisable? Morning AMPS are 300-400 with no previous PM shot.
Any advice is appreciated!
Last edited:


