SAFE YET? 10/6 Chester's PMPS 193,+4=60,+5.5=132

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jaye and Chester

Member Since 2010
I gave Chester a slight dose reduction this morning. He hit 79 on the AlphaTrak last night. I would have held off, but I had fed him a substantial bedtime meal (bigger than a snack...practically ate what he normally eats for a full meal) and then another almost identical one at +7 (12:30 a.m) and he still only had a +11 of 125. Worries me that if he doesn't eat that much during the day from the autofeeder we could have problems. He wasn't hungry from much breakfast after so much eating so we're coaxing and there isn't time in the morning schedule for much of that!

Normal dose was 1.25 which, for me, is 1.5 minus 2.5 drops. Today I gave him a skinny 1.25 which was 1.5 minus 4 drops (almost a fat 1 unit).

viewtopic.php?f=9&t=26676
 
Re: 10/6 Chester's +11=125, AMPS 181, DOSE REDUCTION

I hear ya...Mine won't eat from the autofeeder either.....I might start putting her food (while) I'm home in the feeder....w/o turning it on.....just to get her use to the smell of the plastic feeder.....I started w/just putting treats in it.....Down the road I'm hoping Curry will start to associate the feeder w/food and something pleasant.....She can definitely hear the feeder...it is loud enough....Or I might just put her food bowl next to it if she won't eat out of it just yet.

I see your concern....you don't want him dropping while you are at work.....Does he eat the food if its left out while you are at home? Have you seen that behavior? Mine won't yet.

The amps looks very good this morning.
 
Re: 10/6 Chester's +11=125, AMPS 181, DOSE REDUCTION

He eats some of it, I'm sure, but he has a buddy with him that usually isn't a big wet food eater. I'm wondering if the buddy has been scarfing it. I'm giving him his own room today, just to see what's what. He didn't eat much breakfast so I'm leaving him a bowl now, plus the autofeeder at +3 and +5. Had to put tuna juice on the food. I don't think it's a worrisome lack of appetite. I think he just ate too much last night.
 
Re: 10/6 Chester's +11=125, AMPS 181, DOSE REDUCTION

Hi,
I used the Alpha Trak, too, with Maggie and I used to worry with some of her numbers when they would get lower. With the Alpha Trak, below 80 qualifies for a dose reduction. It was different for me using the Alpha Trak because her numbers would look good to everyone, as most were using the human meters, but the Alpha Trak reads 20-30 points higher, so I had a lot of blues.

Hopefully someone will be along soon to advise. I hope his appetite improves. That's a good idea to give him his own room just in case his buddy is helping himself to the wet food. Has his teeth been checked? I remember this was one reason Maggie wasn't eating. Take care and hope Chester starts eating. Which wet foods are you feeding?
 
Re: 10/6 Chester's +11=125, AMPS 181, DOSE REDUCTION

Hi Jaye
I think it was a good idea to put Chester in a different room to see if he eats on his own.
You might want to also put a bowl of wet out for his buddy to see if he has decided he likes wet food.

I am not too familiar with the dose reductions of the Alpha Trak although I do know it reads lower than the human glucometers. I will make sure I read up on it so I can be more help in the early morning. :mrgreen:
 
Re: 10/6 Chester's +11=125, AMPS 181, DOSE REDUCTION

a nice +11 and amps for chester today! I hope you have good luck on the new dose, have a great day guys!
 
Re: 10/6 Chester's +11=136

Well, Chester made it through his day of confinement (poor little man) and I came home to a lovely +11 of 136. He didn't eat a whole lot of the food, though, and that worries me a bit. I'll try a different variety tomorrow. I'm not worried that it's his teeth that are preventing him from eating this morning. We keep up on that stuff pretty well. I think it was just that he ate so much during the night last night that he wasn't hungry. When he IS hungry, trust me, he eats with gusto!
 
Re: YIKES! 10/6 Chester's +11=136, PMPS 193,+4=60

My little man just threw me a curve with a 60 (AlphaTrak) at +4. I fed him approx 2 tbsp of low carb and will test again in 20 minutes but wonder if I'm treating it too conservatively and maybe should use some HC gravy?
 
Re: YIKES! QUESTION 10/6 Chester's +11=136, PMPS 193,+4=60

I'd consider some gravy to be appropriate. The AlphaTrack reads about 30 points lower than a human meter at the low range of the scale. So yes, gravy please!
 
Re: YIKES! QUESTION 10/6 Chester's +11=136, PMPS 193,+4=60

Okay...off to get the gravy! Wow...this was totally unexpected. I guess tomorrow we officially reduce the does to 1 unit. Hard to believe that before I was on this board (back in early August) I was actually dosing 7 units bid at one time!

I'm also much more calm about the low number than I would have been just a few weeks ago. I'm sitting here calmly waiting to retest him instead of hyperventilating.
 
Re: YIKES! QUESTION 10/6 Chester's +11=136, PMPS 193,+4=60

I'm assuming you shot a skinny 1.25u tonight? (It's not marked on your SS.)

Can you get a test about 20 - 30 min. after you fed the gravy? I'd like to make sure Chester's numbers are coming up.
 
Re: YIKES! QUESTION 10/6 Chester's PMPS 193,+4=60, +5.5=132

Oops... Yes, I shot a skinny 1.25. I'll go fix that.

I just checked him again (he's had a total of approx 2 tbsp LC and the same in HC gravy) and he was a 94. Should I give a little more of either? It's been a total of about 45 minutes between the 60 and the 94.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top