Safe BG numbers

Status
Not open for further replies.

Daisygirl^^

Member Since 2016
Hello Everyone,
I'm new to the group (posted introduction on "new member board"). I am curious to hear what ya'lls vets have been saying are safe healthy BG numbers. We home test. My vet stated 100-200 (better to run higher in felines) however, following my own research this is conflicting. We have had two episodes of hypoglycemia (when she was on Vetsulin and I choose to switch now to lantus). It was scary, kitty looked "drunk" and vomiting and number were in low high 30's low 40's. I thought we were going to lose her. Now I'm nervous :(
 
My vet stated 100-200 (better to run higher in felines)
Yes, that is good advice. At the low point (about 5-7 hours after shot for Lantus), a lower BG is acceptable especially if yo use a hman meter since at low BGs they tent to be lower than pet meters like the AlphaTrac.
One has to to slowly adjust dose to get as low as BG as practical but not go too low.
A lot depends upon the cats and their response to insulin
 
We use RelinOn micro (human meter) it only requires a small sample, I forgot to add that on my post :) . Today her preshot reading was 310 (fed wet food and administered 1.5u). Additional readings include: +5hr BG 232, +7hr BG275. I still feel like these numbers are high. However, much better from 400s and 500s we were getting! Go Team:cat:
 
Welcome to the FDMB Mere and extra sweet Daisy!

Vets almost always tell us to shoot for higher numbers because their main concern is hypoglycemia. The protocols we use here are designed to get them into what are "Normal" numbers instead! Cats have the unique ability to have their pancreas heal and resume it's job of producing insulin, but to do that, it needs to rest...Keeping them in normal numbers as much as possible gives them the best chance at remission.

Normal blood glucose numbers for cats is 40-120, but when on insulin, we "react" when they drop below 50 to get them back above 50 by giving some high carb food (like Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers) or some Karo/honey/syrup

It's great that you're home testing! That will help you keep Daisy safe!! We have a great spreadsheet we use here that will help us to help you when you need advice. Here are the instructions on "Getting the FDMB spreadsheet"
 
Welcome to the FDMB Mere and extra sweet Daisy!

Vets almost always tell us to shoot for higher numbers because their main concern is hypoglycemia. The protocols we use here are designed to get them into what are "Normal" numbers instead! Cats have the unique ability to have their pancreas heal and resume it's job of producing insulin, but to do that, it needs to rest...Keeping them in normal numbers as much as possible gives them the best chance at remission.

Normal blood glucose numbers for cats is 40-120, but when on insulin, we "react" when they drop below 50 to get them back above 50 by giving some high carb food (like Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers) or some Karo/honey/syrup

It's great that you're home testing! That will help you keep Daisy safe!! We have a great spreadsheet we use here that will help us to help you when you need advice. Here are the instructions on "Getting the FDMB spreadsheet"
Thank you so much I will download it today!!!
 
When you have a moment, could you add a few tidbits to your signature? It will help us give you feedback.

Editing your Signature

In the upper right corner of the screen, within the dark blue bar, you will see ID, Inbox, and Alerts

Click on your ID.

On the left, under Settings, Click on Signature.
This is where you will put information that helps us give you feedback. You are limited to 2 hard returns, so separate pieces by | or -.
This is where you paste the link for your spreadsheet, once it is set up.
Add any other text, such as your name | cat's name | date of Dx (diagnosis) | insulin | meter general location (city and state/province) any other pertinent issues like if there are any food issues, history of DKA, hepatic lipidosis, pancreatitis, allergies, IBD, etc.

Click the Save Changes button at the bottom.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top