sabrina curve amps 443, pmps 556 dose increase?

Status
Not open for further replies.

milfordcollector

Member Since 2012
Good Morning Lantus Forum Memebers! I did Sabrina's curve yesterday & thought values should have decreased a little by now. I don't know if I'm regulating her enough & haven't seen the depot build up yet. History....started her on 1u 2x's day 1/15 & dosed until I broke bottle of lantus & she was without insulin for 36 hrs...seemed like she had built up a depot at that point. Resumed schedule on 1/21 evening & have been dosing since. I did a "trial" curve on 1/23 & #'s looked like they were lowering a little. Now to the curve, #'s were consistantly higher......I don't know whats going on nailbite_smile

I am feeeding her fancy feast classics since november but should I be sticking to 1 flavor or give her variety? Also, she's consuming more food the last couple of days because BG not regulated? I thought I should see the depot building up by now! I sent the spreadsheet to the vet this morning & hoping to hear from her later.....Maybe I'm just expecting too much at this early stage? confused_cat Please advise what I can do differently & i"ll post what my vet advises......I just want Sabrina to start feeling better.......thanks Cindy & Sabrina cat_pet_icon
 
Sabrina and Lucian seem to be having the problem...and there are two ways to go depending on how easy Sabrina is to test for ketones. Either go up in dose and hope for a breakthrough, or go down, test like crazy for ketones, and see if she smooths out and lowers in numbers, then slowly raise the dose again to lower the overall curve.

As far as food and flavors go, I can only tell you how I do it, since I don't feed Fancy Feast and have 14 to feed. I keep the carb percentage the same but rotate flavors so they get some variety. As I have tried sticking to just one flavor and about half of mine will burn out on that flavor and stop eating altogether. I'm pretty sure this is one of those ECID things as some will eat the same thing day in and day out without a problem, while others like mine will eat a flavor for a day or two and then turn their noses up at it on day 3.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Hey Mel, when you say 'test like crazy' you mean every opportunity right? Not just every day or other day? I took it as 'As often as you can catch him'.

Good luck Cindy, I know how frustrating it is. Sending love and good vibes for a healthy kitty! cat_pet_icon
 
Yep as often as you can catch him. Ketones can come on fast and be deadly if not addressed early. Also watch how much food they are eating, if for any reason they start refusing to eat that will be a bad sign. Unregulated diabetics are starving so want food all the time, an unregulated diabetic that stops eating is a cat headed for DKA and needs a vet ASAP.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Hi Everyone......haven't tried testing her for ketones because she's VERY Private with regards to he litter box :sad: If she's in & I come near her, she bolts! I'm going to Walmart & get the fish tank gravel...see if i can get a urine sample. I'm sure the vet will ask me the same question, maybe hold off on dose decrease, increase until I get the ketone reading. I'll keep everyone posted after I hear from vets office.......Enjoy & THANK YOU Cindy & Sabrina bcatrun_gif
 
Ok got it.....1 more question now +3 1/2 she's looking for more food, gave her 3oz ff chicken & she ate it all.....should I test her & then give her more food? confused_cat
Cindy & Sabrina
 
Go ahead and feed her, she is going to be hungry while her numbers are so high. Once she gets closer to regulation her appetite will go back to normal again. Autumn was a piglet at this stage and was eating 3-4 (5.5oz) cans a day. Now that she is so close to going OTJ she eats about 1 can a day. What I did with her in the early days is just keep her bowl full and pick it up about 2 hours before her preshot tests so they wouldn't be food influenced other than that I let her eat as much as she wanted.

Insulin is kind of like the little bumps on a lego block, it is what allows the food they eat to enter into the cells of the body to feed it, without enough insulin they can't absorb the nutrients that they are eating so are constantly hungry.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top