#'s in the black?

Status
Not open for further replies.
I don't know whats going on with Ruckus.....we've had numbers in the black twice....he's bouncing from too low to shoot, to way too high! Any input would be welcomed! We're stumped :( We've recently changed from FF to Sheba...I don't see how that could be it...Sheba has less carbs than FF.....HELP!
 
I'd say the doses have been switched a lot and by too much at a time. The 50 last night was a clear sign that the dose of 3 units is too much, even for a 400. If he were mine, I would go back one unit, hold the dose for several cycles, getting midcycle numbers whenever possible. The midcycle numbers will show you if he drops too low and then bounces back up for the preshot number. If he is more flat across the cycle and has shootable preshots, then raise by 0.25.

The protocol and beginner's guide we put together is in my signature in blue. Both may be helpful. Also, you can post your numbers here daily, get advice and ideas about what might be going on and how to adapt the dose to help.
 
I completely agree with Sue. You need to go back to a low dose and hold it steady for 3 or more cycles before adjusting. I would bet the high numbers are from bouncing too low in previous cycles. Without the mid-cycle numbers it's impossible to say for sure.
 
One point, if his numbers go too mid-cycle then it's OK to lower the dose before you complete 3 cycles.
 
I'd say the doses have been switched a lot and by too much at a time. The 50 last night was a clear sign that the dose of 3 units is too much, even for a 400. If he were mine, I would go back one unit, hold the dose for several cycles, getting midcycle numbers whenever possible. The midcycle numbers will show you if he drops too low and then bounces back up for the preshot number. If he is more flat across the cycle and has shootable preshots, then raise by 0.25.

The protocol and beginner's guide we put together is in my signature in blue. Both may be helpful. Also, you can post your numbers here daily, get advice and ideas about what might be going on and how to adapt the dose to help.

I have a question.....I understand totally what your saying.....so last night, he was in his normal range, and we gave him 1 unit......this morning, he's 174......I think that's too low for 1 unit, and that it should be .5......if we had the time, which we don't, I would want to give him a few treats....bring the level up, then test in 30 minutes, and if higher we could feed and shoot.....trying to keep it at 1 unit....however this morning, time does not permit, so are we ok with the .5 units? Do you think that 1 is too much, like I do? There is no chart, so sometimes we struggle with how much, or how little to give him.......we went with the .5 units, and will test at lunch, but nothing we can do at that point....this is so confusing sometimes :(
 
With that lower preshot and you not being able to monitor shooting the 1/2 unit is a safe approach. One comment though, when you get a lower preshot, the best thing to do is to stall WITHOUT FEEDING OR TREATS for 20 minutes and retest. You want to make sure the number are going up on their own, without the influence of food. But for this cycle you made a good call! :bighug:
 
Since you gave .5 this morning you could also hold .5 as the dose for 3 cycles before increasing it again. I think you need some consistency in doses and collection of data without making huge dose adjustments. What you see 2 cycles in the future could be a reaction to a hypo few cycles ago. Every cat is different. It's important to keep gathering consistent data for your cat. Believe me, I understand the urge to shoot a big dose when I see a high preshot number.
 
What if the reading tonight is in the 300's? which is common.....still only give .5.....and stick with that for 3 doses? and then what? adjust up in .5 increments? or more? and then stay with that for 3 doses? I hope I'm getting it....finally? Poor Ruckus.....we just can't seem to dial it in
 
That's what I would do. Stick with the low and slow approach. Based on the experience I've had with my cats, I would never make adjustments larger than .5 units. Many of us make smaller adjustments but 1/2 unit adjustments are reasonable. Do your syringes have .5 unit lines or are you eyeballing it?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top