Rumpelteazer's ProZinc Info

Status
Not open for further replies.

misty1477

Very Active Member
I guess it is time to start posting Rumpelteazer's info in PZI.

I updated her SS.

Doing her Saturday evening shot & Sunday morning shot is going to be a challenge for me every week due to my sleep/work schedule. Normally....during the week....7:30/7:30 would work well. Since I do not get home Sunday mornings until 8:00-8:30 and I must get up Saturday night at 10:30, her schedule will be off plus I will probably only get 2 or 2-1/2 hours sleep before work. :roll: ohmygod_smile

Questions:
1. Can I change her shot times to accommodate my silly schedule?
2. How much of a time difference is okay? .... for examples: What if I run late getting home? What if I try to get to sleep early, set my alarm for the 8:30 shot, but don't hear it or something?

Actually, I should be 'taking a nap' soon....but.....my body does not like to sleep during the day. A measly 30 minute to 1 hour power-snooze at 10:00AM is about all it will do. :roll:

Wish I had a NORMAL job !!!! :YMSIGH:
 
Welcome! Glad you made your way over here. This forum is much smaller than Health and is busiest in the am and pm. (If you ever have an emergency, be sure to post on Health.

The 8:00 -8:30 time should not be a problem. Her numbers will just be a little higher since it will have been 13 hours since the last shot. Skipped shots are not desirable and will set you back, but you have a life and she'll adjust. The only thing to really watch out for is to not shoot more than 30 minutes early and only after you are sure she is headed up. As a general rule, it would be better to shoot late. Shooting early is like a dose increase and just complicates things.

Her numbers are looking good. One thing to watch is that when you get a lower number than usual - under 200 - at preshot, don't feed her but wait and retest in 20 minutes. You want to make sure the number is headed up, not down. The reason for not feeding is that food elevates blood sugars and you don't want the food to make the number artifically high and then shoot that. We would definitely urge you not to shoot under 200 at this point, even if you have to skip. Any time you can get some midcycle numbers, it is helpful. At this point, you are collecting data so you will be able to see how the insulin is working and you are being careful to make sure she doesn't go too low. (Under 40 is too low.) Always better safe than sorry and if you aren't sure about the dose, please ask.

She is doing well with lower preshots and nice drops midcycle. The two pinks you got the other day were probably a bounce from a lower number than she has been used to. I am guessing she may have gone lower overnight because she was only 199 at preshot. I would be watching the preshots carefully. I think she will be dropping for them as she adapts to the inuslin and the diet, and you may need to reduce the dose.
 
Uh-Oh.....getting nervous!!!

+9 = 149

Dropped pretty good all day.....but only about 2 hours till PMPS !!!
 
Yes, still going down but it is late in the cycle. We would expect her to start back up, but unless she soars, it doesn't look likely that she will back up in the 200s by shot time.

This is good news, just tricky to deal with. she is responding well to the insulin and diet change.
 
I am for now. See how things go tomorrow. Hope they finish eating soon....have to get up in an hour and a half for work.

Sweet dreams to all the Sugar Cats !!
 
Morning SS updated.....STUPID DAYLIGHT SAVINGS TIME and JOB SCHEDULE !!!! cat(2)_steam cat(2)_steam cat(2)_steam

I want to get her back on 7:30/7:30 schedule starting this evening for the rest of the week. I will be testing BG today at +2...+5...+8...+12 to see how things go. Kitty is not going to be too happy with me today.

Has vet appointment on Tuesday. At last appointment (3-6-13), they told me I did not have to test BG. I want to have some of my own test results to show vet.
 
It'll work out. With Prozinc, it is not nearly the issue it would be with Lantus or Levemir because ProZinc has no shed to deplete. So the pink this am has more to do with the +14 shot than anything else. Tonight you'll need to take that time increase into consideration. If you want the 7:30, you'll have to make your way back in small steps. But maybe she will throw a little curve with the numbers and give us something to work with.

Use the neosporin and hole the spot after you poke. And lots of treats! You will both survive the day. It will be great to bring in a spreadsheet with numbers to your vet so he sees you will be doing curves at home.
 
TIMES ON THE BOARD ARE STILL STANDARD TIME...... This post was actually at 6:05PM. I posted a message on the Tech Board.


Sue....what do you mean by "With Prozinc, it is not nearly the issue it would be with Lantus or Levemir because ProZinc has no shed to deplete." ??

I just updated her SS. Would like to shoot at 7:30 if possible. Her numbers seem to be out-of-whack today.

What do you OR anyone else that sees this think?

Thanks
 
She did have an early lower number today, and that is odd. But changing the dosing times always makes things a little wonky.

Lantus and Levemir are shed insulins. In other words, they build up in the body and the insulin overlaps from one cycle to another. With Prozinc, usually in 12 hours, it's done. So they are dosed very differently. And ProZinc gives you a little more flexibility in shooting earlier or later. You can't do that with Lantus and Levemir. Nothing to worry about - just a good reason to always point out that you are using ProZinc if you ask for advice on the Health forum.

How long since the morning shot is 7:30?
 
Gave AM shot at 10:00..... so 7:30PM would be 9-1/2 hours later. That would be too soon....yes?

Thank you for clearing up my confusion on the "...no shed to deplete" question. Makes sense now. :smile:
 
Let's give the others some time to chime in. I am confused by the early drop and wondering what that means. Your shot this am was one hour late not counting DST?
 
I think it would be okay to shoot at +10 from this morning's shot, but I would probably shoot a tad less. Can you eyeball maybe .75u? The reason for that is by shooting early, a dose will "act like" an increased dose, if the Prozinc isn't all the way "worn off" from the AM shot. If you aren't able to test after the shot tonight (which is sounds like isn't an option with your work schedule), it's best to err on the side of caution and give a slightly reduced dose.

Did you see my reply in Health about your "time" question? You'll have to toggle that setting every spring and fall in your control panel when we switch from DST to EST and back.

Carl
 
Sue and Oliver (GA) said:
Let's give the others some time to chime in. I am confused by the early drop and wondering what that means. Your shot this am was one hour late not counting DST?


I hope some others chime in soon....I need sleep real bad.....only 1-1/2 hours last night....none today...every time I started to doze off alarm went off for BG test. Might be another long night.

Saturday PM shot was at 8:30PM STANDARD Time. Sunday AM shot was at 10:00 DAYLIGHT SAVINGS Time.

ARRRRRGGGHHHH.....Why do humans have to screw-around with time?????
 
Carl & Bob said:
I think it would be okay to shoot at +10 from this morning's shot, but I would probably shoot a tad less. Can you eyeball maybe .75u? I could try it. The reason for that is by shooting early, a dose will "act like" an increased dose, if the Prozinc isn't all the way "worn off" from the AM shot. If you aren't able to test after the shot tonight (which is sounds like isn't an option with your work schedule), it's best to err on the side of caution and give a slightly reduced dose. +10 would be around 8:00 tonight.

Did you see my reply in Health about your "time" question? You'll have to toggle that setting every spring and fall in your control panel when we switch from DST to EST and back. Ooooopppps...didn't see that. Can I delete my post???? People will think I am stupid..... :(

Carl
 
No one will think you are stupid. Probably lots of them were wondering and glad you asked the question. All the tech stuff plus the diabetes stuff make the first few weeks here overwhelming.

So Carl thinks a reduced dose 10 hours after your morning shot would be okay. I'll go with that. BUT I am worried that you are thinking earlier than +10 - is it now more like +8?
 
Sue and Oliver (GA) said:
The times are messing me up. Is it 7 hours since this morning's shot or 8?

Carl, what do you think about the blue early in the cycle?


ohmygod_smile ohmygod_smile Is this crazy or what????

Let's see....if just use "hours" not "clock time" (so to speak).....

It is currently 7:10PM
Morning Shot was at 10:AM
As I type this it has been 7 "hours" and 10 minutes since morning shot today.

Jeepers Cats.....I always hated Daylight Savings Time....NOW I REALLY HATE IT!! LOL
 
Yes, it is much easier with the +10 rather than the time. (I am in Colorado and it is 5:15)

So I would wait until +10 and shoot a half unit or a little more, but less than one. Will that work?
 
Ooooopppps...didn't see that. Can I delete my post???? People will think I am stupid..... :(

Nobody will think that! I posted that question after I'd been here 6 months or so too. Leave it there, because I'm positive you aren't the only person who needed to see the answer today. ;-)

Carl
 
Sue and Oliver (GA) said:
Yes, it is much easier with the +10 rather than the time. (I am in Colorado and it is 5:15)

So I would wait until +10 and shoot a half unit or a little more, but less than one. Will that work?


So I should test-feed-shoot .5 Unit at 8:00PM. Correct?

Carl....are we unanimous on this? nailbite_smile
 
Not sure if he is still around, but he said yes. If you are nervous (I know you won't be around to monitor) you can always skip. I am always big on going with your gut. She will be higher in the am but you can get back on schedule. Or you can shoot .5 That should certainly be fine.

The thing that is throwing me is the blue early on in the cycle. I don't understand where that came from. It is a steep drop very early. It could have been a bad strip, a bad test. But if it was a good number, I am confused.
 
It is currently 7:10PM
Morning Shot was at 10:AM
As I type this it has been 7 "hours" and 10 minutes since morning shot today.

OK, there's a math mistake or a typo in there someplace. It's been 9 hours and 10 minutes since this morning's shot. And 8PM eastern would be 10 hours.

Yes, I think .5u at +10 would be fine.

Sue - I don't "get" the blue at +2 either, but the rest of the cycle looks logical to me and he's continued to come up since nadir (or +5 anyway). Assuming the +10 is 310 or higher, it looks like a typical cycle other than the +2 reading.

Carl
 
Okay....shall I do this now (as soon as I hear back from you) ???

Test her and let you know reading before I do anything else???

I will wait for your reply.
 
Sue and Oliver (GA) said:
Not sure if he is still around, but he said yes. If you are nervous (I know you won't be around to monitor) you can always skip. I am always big on going with your gut. She will be higher in the am but you can get back on schedule. Or you can shoot .5 That should certainly be fine.

The thing that is throwing me is the blue early on in the cycle. I don't understand where that came from. It is a steep drop very early. It could have been a bad strip, a bad test. But if it was a good number, I am confused.


The blue reading confused me too. The meter said "LO" without any number.....so I used another strip and it came up with the 127 (blue) number. :roll:
 
I agree the rest of the cycle looks fine and normal. So, as long as she is climbing from your last number, I would shoot either .5 or a little more (whatever you are comfortable with) 10 hours after your am shot. Hopefully that will get you back on the schedule you want?
 
misty1477 said:
Okay....shall I do this now (as soon as I hear back from you) ???

Test her and let you know reading before I do anything else???

I will wait for your reply.

Yes, test and post the number, then give us a couple minutes to reply...

Carl
 
Going down to test now. Gotta feed these kitties......they are starting to give me the evil-eye. I keep food in those plastic food containers that have covers....I hear them banging them around trying to get the covers off !!!! God help me if they figure out how to pop open the FF cans or open the fridge door!!!
 
LOL, NEVER underestimate what a determined cat can or will do.
 
That's fine. He's flattened out but not dropped. Giving him .5u would be okay, in my opinion.

Carl
 
Will feed the crew and shoot .5

I will then do AMPS and 1ul shot at 7:30AM....okay? I'll be back here after I get the food bowls down....if they don't eat my hands off first!!! LOL
 
Don't underestimate the kittehs. On Funny Home Videos I saw a kitty jump up and hang off the drawer, pull it open and climb in and get it's toy and ran off. :lol:
 
Rob & Harley (GA) said:
Don't underestimate the kittehs. On Funny Home Videos I saw a kitty jump up and hang off the drawer, pull it open and climb in and get it's toy and ran off. :lol:


I hear ya. Funny thing is .... Rumpelteazer is the one of mine that opens drawers in the kitchen....she always had a 'thing' for rubber bands!!! Have to make sure they are all completely sealed in baggies.

One year for Christmas, I bought them each a catnip pouch toy. I double-bagged them and put them on the top shelf in one of the kitchen cabinets. THEY FOUND THEM and PULLED THEM OUT OF THE CABINET !!! Worse than my kids looking for and peeking at their gifts. LOL
 
OMG Carl.....don't get me started on watching them now. If I don't get some sleep...holy crap....just remembered....I didn't have my own supper yet !!!

I will watch videos tomorrow....can't wait :-D
 
Interesting. Not a higher amps than yesterday at half the dose. Wonder if yesterday was just a little wonky. Getting some numbers today will be good data.
 
That is interesting. I thought maybe yesterday it was a bad strip or a bad test, but two days in a row is a pattern. Usually (but there is that Every Cat is Different thing) most cats go up in the 2 hours after the shot - because the insulin takes a while to work and because the food makes the numbers rise. When we see the numbers go down after food, it can mean the pancreas is starting to work again. That could be the case, but I think her numbers would be lower overall. I like that she is staying lower later in the cycle instead of her rise yesterday.
 
fifteen minutes to PMPS + food + shot. Will post numbers in SS then.

Vet appt. tomorrow .... wants to keep her for the day to do BG checks. Can't wait to see what numbers they come up with.
 
She is coming down, not going up. You don't want to shoot a falling number. If it isn't rising by pmps, wait 20 minutes without feeding and retest. All of the numbers fall within the 20% variance for all meters, but just in case she dips below 200 again, you want to be cautious.

It will be unusual if she doesn't run higher at the vet. Stress raises blood sugar levels and most cats are stressed at the vet. I would be against a raise in dose based on the vet's numbers. Yours are more accurate, and her numbers are looking good.
 
I am not sure. My vet had told me that I didn't have to test while she was home....Hmmmm...if I didn't home-test, she would have received 1u twice a day no matter what. I would have been "shooting blind" .... right? She goes back to vet tomorrow morning for the day.

Based on her SS .... should I go with 1u now?
 
You gave one unit on 3/9 with the same number and she had good numbers. I would think it should be fine but I would check tonight - maybe at +3 to see how things are going.
 
So give her 1 u now and then test her in 3 hours? Will have to set my alarm...I will be off to bed very soon. Stupid job schedule....remember? :sad:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top