misty1477 said:Tested before work
243 @ 1:05AM
AMPS = 156 @ 8:30AM
Waiting on response to Robin re: dosing. Ref: her post on 7-14-13 @ 9:something PM
Sue and Oliver (GA) said:This dose worked yesterday, Misty, but it does make me nervous you are shooting on a falling number, not a rising one. Glad you are watching her today. You have U100 needles so you could shoot doses under .2? I agree with Robin's advice yesterday - start chasing the number until it is rising and in the 170-200 range and shoot below .25. Hard to do, time consuming but the path to remission.
misty1477 said:Question: If she is needing less insulin (path to remission), why does she still eat so much/so fast and is still peeing like crazy?
BJM said:misty1477 said:Question: If she is needing less insulin (path to remission), why does she still eat so much/so fast and is still peeing like crazy?
Because it may not be diabetes.
Ex. Hyperthyroidism causes ravenous appetite and excessive urination. Treatment can be an inexpensive pill easily dissolved in some tasty food.
BJM said:More than 1 thing can be wrong.
ex Spitzer had diabetes. And had a congenital underdeveloped jaw that required surgery to shorten his lower canines because they were poking into the roof of his mouth. And was diagnosed with IBD. And was diagnosed with a form of bartonella.
ex Emmy was hyperthyroid and this masked the renal disease. After treatment with I-131, the renal disease came out full force, her electrolytes became total disordered, she seized, and passed away.
BJM said:At least hyperthyroid was easy to treat with pills for the 1st 5 years - I just dissolved the methimazole (aka Tapazole) into a bit of food and she scarfed it right down.
Rob & Harley (GA) said:Sorry this is the first chance I've had to get on the board.
It's hard to tell exactly what is going on. She has had so many inverse curves on .25u, which suggests too much insulin or it could be that the dose isn't high enough BUT her pancreas is kicking in and bringing her bg's back down on her own.
I still like the chasing the numbers option, but I know that will be hard with your schedule and I'm not sure what dose to suggest. The .25u on a low 200 gives you an inverse curve so the safest thing to do is to lower the dose and shoot drops. Sue is right you can lower your no shoot number to 160 - 180 instead of 200. The idea is to keep her out of the higher numbers and only support her pancreas with insulin when she needs it and allow her time to heal so she can do it on her own one day.
Rob & Harley (GA) said:And this cycle is slightly elevated too.
You don't want to shoot a falling number, so if her PS is low, don't feed, test again in 20 to 30 minutes to see if the next number is rising or falling.
If the number is still falling feed her and test again after +2. If the number is above 160 you can shoot if it has dropped or stayed the same don't shoot.
Don't let this stress you out. If I could find the hugging smiley I would insert it here.
Rob & Harley (GA) said:As for a dose I'd try less than the .25u you've been shooting. Measure up to the .25u dose and twist the plunger and push out a drop or two.