RUMPELTEAZER 7-15-13 AMPS=156 Free-Feeding Today

Status
Not open for further replies.

misty1477

Very Active Member
Tested before work
243 @ 1:05AM

AMPS = 156 @ 8:30AM

Waiting on response to Robin re: dosing. Ref: her post on 7-14-13 @ 9:something PM
 
misty1477 said:
Tested before work
243 @ 1:05AM

AMPS = 156 @ 8:30AM

Waiting on response to Robin re: dosing. Ref: her post on 7-14-13 @ 9:something PM

Getting late....have to shoot. Will test every 2 hours until PMPS.

0.25 unit @ 9:00AM
 
This dose worked yesterday, Misty, but it does make me nervous you are shooting on a falling number, not a rising one. Glad you are watching her today. You have U100 needles so you could shoot doses under .2? I agree with Robin's advice yesterday - start chasing the number until it is rising and in the 170-200 range and shoot below .25. Hard to do, time consuming but the path to remission.
 
Tested before work
243 @ 1:05AM

AMPS = 156 @ 8:30AM

Waiting on response to Robin re: dosing. Ref: her post on 7-14-13 @ 9:something PM

Getting late ... have to shoot. Will test every 2 hours until PMPS.

0.25 unit @ 9:00AM

200 @ 11:00AM (+2)
 
Sue and Oliver (GA) said:
This dose worked yesterday, Misty, but it does make me nervous you are shooting on a falling number, not a rising one. Glad you are watching her today. You have U100 needles so you could shoot doses under .2? I agree with Robin's advice yesterday - start chasing the number until it is rising and in the 170-200 range and shoot below .25. Hard to do, time consuming but the path to remission.

I only have 2 U-100's left....have a ton of U-40's. I believe I could eyeball under .2 if I have to. Aren't we getting into the "drops" mode of dosing at this point?

I am confused_cat about this "chasing the number" thing.

Are you saying that if her PS number is lower than the number before it, do not shoot until it is above 170?
Are you saying that if her PS number is lower than the number before it, do not feed and keep testing until the number is above 170? Keep testing every 15-20 minutes ???

This IS going to be difficult especially when time for PM dose with my get-to-sleep-for-work schedule. :roll:

Question:
If she is needing less insulin (path to remission), why does she still eat so much/so fast and is still peeing like crazy?

:dizcat :dizcat
 
misty1477 said:
Question: If she is needing less insulin (path to remission), why does she still eat so much/so fast and is still peeing like crazy?

Because it may not be diabetes.
Ex. Hyperthyroidism causes ravenous appetite and excessive urination. Treatment can be an inexpensive pill easily dissolved in some tasty food.
 
BJM said:
misty1477 said:
Question: If she is needing less insulin (path to remission), why does she still eat so much/so fast and is still peeing like crazy?

Because it may not be diabetes.
Ex. Hyperthyroidism causes ravenous appetite and excessive urination. Treatment can be an inexpensive pill easily dissolved in some tasty food.


Jeepers Cats !!!!

I had a cat (Mario) a few years ago who was hyperthyroid. He was on medication and was doing well. I had come home from work one morning on a holiday (July 4th) no less and found him lying in the bathroom...poop all over the floor. Rushed him to pet ER...he had gone into shock....had to say goodbye and send him to the rainbow bridge. :cry:

Why did RumpelT's vet tests point to FD ???
 
More than 1 thing can be wrong.

ex Spitzer had diabetes. And had a congenital underdeveloped jaw that required surgery to shorten his lower canines because they were poking into the roof of his mouth. And was diagnosed with IBD. And was diagnosed with a form of bartonella.

ex Emmy was hyperthyroid and this masked the renal disease. After treatment with I-131, the renal disease came out full force, her electrolytes became total disordered, she seized, and passed away.
 
BJM said:
More than 1 thing can be wrong.

ex Spitzer had diabetes. And had a congenital underdeveloped jaw that required surgery to shorten his lower canines because they were poking into the roof of his mouth. And was diagnosed with IBD. And was diagnosed with a form of bartonella.

ex Emmy was hyperthyroid and this masked the renal disease. After treatment with I-131, the renal disease came out full force, her electrolytes became total disordered, she seized, and passed away.

Oh My !!! Poor kittehs. :cry:
 
At least hyperthyroid was easy to treat with pills for the 1st 5 years - I just dissolved the methimazole (aka Tapazole) into a bit of food and she scarfed it right down.
 
BJM said:
At least hyperthyroid was easy to treat with pills for the 1st 5 years - I just dissolved the methimazole (aka Tapazole) into a bit of food and she scarfed it right down.


When vet did the FD testing on RumpelT, she said <quote> "not hper T4".
 
Tested before work
243 @ 1:05AM

AMPS = 156 @ 8:30AM

Waiting on response to Robin re: dosing. Ref: her post on 7-14-13 @ 9:something PM

Getting late ... have to shoot. Will test every 2 hours until PMPS.

0.25 unit @ 9:00AM

200 @ 11:00AM (+2)
179 @ 1:00PM (+4)
 
Sorry this is the first chance I've had to get on the board.

It's hard to tell exactly what is going on. She has had so many inverse curves on .25u, which suggests too much insulin or it could be that the dose isn't high enough BUT her pancreas is kicking in and bringing her bg's back down on her own.

I still like the chasing the numbers option, but I know that will be hard with your schedule and I'm not sure what dose to suggest. The .25u on a low 200 gives you an inverse curve so the safest thing to do is to lower the dose and shoot drops. Sue is right you can lower your no shoot number to 160 - 180 instead of 200. The idea is to keep her out of the higher numbers and only support her pancreas with insulin when she needs it and allow her time to heal so she can do it on her own one day.
 
Rob & Harley (GA) said:
Sorry this is the first chance I've had to get on the board.

It's hard to tell exactly what is going on. She has had so many inverse curves on .25u, which suggests too much insulin or it could be that the dose isn't high enough BUT her pancreas is kicking in and bringing her bg's back down on her own.

I still like the chasing the numbers option, but I know that will be hard with your schedule and I'm not sure what dose to suggest. The .25u on a low 200 gives you an inverse curve so the safest thing to do is to lower the dose and shoot drops. Sue is right you can lower your no shoot number to 160 - 180 instead of 200. The idea is to keep her out of the higher numbers and only support her pancreas with insulin when she needs it and allow her time to heal so she can do it on her own one day.

I am confused_cat about this "chasing the number" thing.

Are you saying that if her PS number is lower than the number before it, do not shoot until it is above 160?
Are you saying that if her PS number is lower than the number before it, do not feed and keep testing until the number is above 160? Keep testing every 15-20 minutes ???
 
Tested before work
243 @ 1:05AM

AMPS = 156 @ 8:30AM

Waiting on response to Robin re: dosing. Ref: her post on 7-14-13 @ 9:something PM

Getting late ... have to shoot. Will test every 2 hours until PMPS.

0.25 unit @ 9:00AM

200 @ 11:00AM (+2)
179 @ 1:00PM (+4)
209 @ 3:00PM (+6)
 
And this cycle is slightly elevated too.

You don't want to shoot a falling number, so if her PS is low, don't feed, test again in 20 to 30 minutes to see if the next number is rising or falling.

If the number is still falling feed her and test again after +2. If the number is above 160 you can shoot if it has dropped or stayed the same don't shoot.

Don't let this stress you out. If I could find the hugging smiley I would insert it here.
 
Rob & Harley (GA) said:
And this cycle is slightly elevated too.

You don't want to shoot a falling number, so if her PS is low, don't feed, test again in 20 to 30 minutes to see if the next number is rising or falling.

If the number is still falling feed her and test again after +2. If the number is above 160 you can shoot if it has dropped or stayed the same don't shoot.

Don't let this stress you out. If I could find the hugging smiley I would insert it here.


I have a headache !! :roll:

I printed this out and added it to the 'collection'.

But how do I know how much to shoot??

ohmygod_smile I hope this scenario doesn't occur at PMPS time. @-) ohmygod_smile @-)
 
When in doubt or unable to monitor, don't shoot. Remember better too high for a day...

When able to monitor, you can be a bit bolder and if the numbers are increasing but low, go for it.

An option which would make measurement easier, would be a tiny increase in the % carb calories, as it would slightly increase the glucose so you'd have a number you know you can shoot. It might, however, delay or prevent getting off the insulin.
 
As for a dose I'd try less than the .25u you've been shooting. Measure up to the .25u dose and twist the plunger and push out a drop or two.
 
Rob & Harley (GA) said:
As for a dose I'd try less than the .25u you've been shooting. Measure up to the .25u dose and twist the plunger and push out a drop or two.


Made note.

(+8) coming up in 5 mintes
 
Tested before work
243 @ 1:05AM

AMPS = 156 @ 8:30AM

Waiting on response to Robin re: dosing. Ref: her post on 7-14-13 @ 9:something PM

Getting late ... have to shoot. Will test every 2 hours until PMPS.

0.25 unit @ 9:00AM

200 @ 11:00AM (+2)
179 @ 1:00PM (+4)
209 @ 3:00PM (+6)
257 @ 5:00PM (+8)
 
Tested before work
243 @ 1:05AM

AMPS = 156 @ 8:30AM

Waiting on response to Robin re: dosing. Ref: her post on 7-14-13 @ 9:something PM

Getting late ... have to shoot. Will test every 2 hours until PMPS.

0.25 unit @ 9:00AM

200 @ 11:00AM (+2)
179 @ 1:00PM (+4)
209 @ 3:00PM (+6)
257 @ 5:00PM (+8)

PMPS = 230 @ 7:40PM

Falling number - NO Food Yet - Retest @ 8:00PM to see if rising or falling
 
Tested before work
243 @ 1:05AM

AMPS = 156 @ 8:30AM

Waiting on response to Robin re: dosing. Ref: her post on 7-14-13 @ 9:something PM

Getting late ... have to shoot. Will test every 2 hours until PMPS.

0.25 unit @ 9:00AM

200 @ 11:00AM (+2)
179 @ 1:00PM (+4)
209 @ 3:00PM (+6)
257 @ 5:00PM (+8)

PMPS = 230 @ 7:40PM

Falling number - NO Food Yet - Retest @ 8:00PM to see if rising or falling

Retested @ 8:00PM ----- 209

Will feed now.

Set my alarm for 10:00PM ohmygod_smile ohmygod_smile ohmygod_smile to test again. :roll: @-)
If above 160 = shoot <0.25 unit
If same or dropped = No shoot
 
It looks like another inverted curve.

So the other option is to give yourself the night off, skip the shot and wait until morning and see where she is.
 
Tested before work
243 @ 1:05AM

AMPS = 156 @ 8:30AM

Waiting on response to Robin re: dosing. Ref: her post on 7-14-13 @ 9:something PM

Getting late ... have to shoot. Will test every 2 hours until PMPS.

0.25 unit @ 9:00AM

200 @ 11:00AM (+2)
179 @ 1:00PM (+4)
209 @ 3:00PM (+6)
257 @ 5:00PM (+8)

PMPS = 230 @ 7:40PM

Falling number - NO Food Yet - Retest @ 8:00PM to see if rising or falling

Retested @ 8:00PM ----- 209

Will feed now.

Set my alarm for 10:00PM ohmygod_smile ohmygod_smile ohmygod_smile to test again. :roll: @-)
If above 160 = shoot <0.25 unit
If same or dropped = No shoot

225 @ 10:00PM

.025 unit less 2 drops @ 10:05PM

Tested before work

260 @ 1:10AM
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top