RUMPELTEAZER 6-27-13 AMPS = 157 NOT Free-Feeding Today

Status
Not open for further replies.

misty1477

Member Since 2013
Tested before work.
270 @ 12:50AM

AMPS = 157 @ 8:30AM

Can of Friskies after AMPS

1.0 unit @ 8:45AM

ATTACKED JaRule AGAIN THIS MORNING.....FOR NO REASON AT ALL :o :shock:
Hasn't done this since 5-25-13.
Hmmmm....about a month ago......could it be kitty "PMS" ?!?!? :roll:
 
Tested before work.
270 @ 12:50AM

AMPS = 157 @ 8:30AM

Can of Friskies after AMPS

1.0 unit @ 8:45AM

ATTACKED JaRule AGAIN THIS MORNING.....FOR NO REASON AT ALL :o :shock:
Hasn't done this since 5-25-13.
Hmmmm....about a month ago......could it be kitty "PMS" ?!?!? :roll:


73 @ 12:45PM (+4)

IT'S A GREEN
 
Sue and Oliver (GA) said:
It is green! Watch that +6 that it doesn't go below 50.

Will test now .... 3:10PM

Was going to wait until (+8)....low on strips.....low on food.....low on money.

This sucks.

Civies are all mad and hungry because they are only getting dry food now....all that is left.

Keeping Friskies for RumpelT.
 
53 @ 3:10PM

What the flyin' flip is going on now ???? confused_cat

NOTE: I am going to have to watch PMPS timing tonight.....Thunderstorms predicted around that time. I will do PMPS early to prevent bg number rise due to thunder-stress if I have to.
 
She also got greens on 7th may. Maybe its just one of those days?

What kind (flavour/type) of Friskies is it? I am wondering if she is very carb sensitive and by not free feeding her BG is dropping when she isnt eating.
 
Wendy&Tiggy said:
She also got greens on 7th may. Maybe its just one of those days?

What kind (flavour/type) of Friskies is it? I am wondering if she is very carb sensitive and by not free feeding her BG is dropping when she isnt eating.


She has been scouting around all day looking for food.

She usually eats Friskies:
Turkey & Giblets - pate
Mixed Grill - pate
Poultry Platter - pate
Country Style Dinner - pate
Plus scoffs up the "meat" that civies leave after they are done with any of the gravy types.

Everyone is HUNGRY right now and they have to wait until PMPS time to eat.
Civies are NOT happy with only dry food now...good for them.....bad for my wallet.
 
Tested before work.
270 @ 12:50AM

AMPS = 157 @ 8:30AM

Can of Friskies after AMPS

1.0 unit @ 8:45AM

ATTACKED JaRule AGAIN THIS MORNING.....FOR NO REASON AT ALL :o :shock:
Hasn't done this since 5-25-13.
Hmmmm....about a month ago......could it be kitty "PMS" ?!?!? :roll:


73 @ 12:45PM (+4)

IT'S A GREEN

53 @ 3:10PM (+6)
82 @ 4:45PM (+8)
 
Wendy&Tiggy said:
Some of those flavours are a little high in carb ie the mixed grill is 11% and the country is 10% - we prefer under 10% - and for carb sensitive cats the lower the better. You might want to feed more of the other flavours and see if that brings him down more. here is the chart : http://www.catinfo.org/docs/FoodChartPublic9-22-12.pdf


According to chart I have from the site:

Mixed Grill = 8% carbs
Country Style Dinner = 7% carbs
 
Tested before work.
270 @ 12:50AM

AMPS = 157 @ 8:30AM

Can of Friskies after AMPS

1.0 unit @ 8:45AM

ATTACKED JaRule AGAIN THIS MORNING.....FOR NO REASON AT ALL :o :shock:
Hasn't done this since 5-25-13.
Hmmmm....about a month ago......could it be kitty "PMS" ?!?!? :roll:


73 @ 12:45PM (+4)

IT'S A GREEN

53 @ 3:10PM (+6)
82 @ 4:45PM (+8)

PMPS = 321 @ 7:25PM

Getting 1 can Friskies to eat.

How much do I shoot after this goofy day????? confused_cat
 
Wow - 3 greens today!

Maybe follow the scale, possibly knock off 0.25 if not able to feed as much?
 
BJM said:
Wow - 3 greens today!

Maybe follow the scale, possibly knock off 0.25 if not able to feed as much?


Which scale??? I have so many versions going on.

I hope to get back to free-feeding as soon as I get enough Friskies to do so.
RumpelT likes to eat that way + the civies are not very happy eating dry food now.
 
Looking @ spreadsheet, 1.5 brought 400s red down to blue 150ish.

So 1.25 units should be okay, I think.

"Trust the Force..." Or your gut as the case may be.
 
Tested before work.
270 @ 12:50AM

AMPS = 157 @ 8:30AM

Can of Friskies after AMPS

1.0 unit @ 8:45AM

ATTACKED JaRule AGAIN THIS MORNING.....FOR NO REASON AT ALL :o :shock:
Hasn't done this since 5-25-13.
Hmmmm....about a month ago......could it be kitty "PMS" ?!?!? :roll:


73 @ 12:45PM (+4)

IT'S A GREEN

53 @ 3:10PM (+6)
82 @ 4:45PM (+8)

PMPS = 321 @ 7:25PM

Getting 1 can Friskies to eat.

How much do I shoot after this goofy day????? confused_cat

1.0 unit @ 8:15PM
 
Very interesting day, I was a little worried about your AMPS and 1 unit but it turned out ok. So now we know that your no shoot/reduced dose should be 160. Anything from 160 to 200 should be a skinny 1 unit.

Is she really cleaning up the gravy foods after the civies? That could be one of the reasons we are having so much trouble with the scale doses.

I'm glad you went with 1 unit tonight, that PMPS has some bounce in it.
 
Misty,

I want to know what you think about today's AM cycle. Did you feel good about shooting 1u into the 156? Was the nadir too low for comfort?

Because from where I sit, this is the best cycle that RumpleT has had since, well, ever. Until the bouncey number at PMPS anyway. He dropped about 100 points and gave you a perfect nadir. I'm not suggesting that the same dose on the same number tomorrow would have the exact same effect. You rarely see two cycles that are perfect matches.

You handled it perfectly too. You tested and saw the drop at +4. Did you feed her at that point? And the +6 was awesome. During this cycle, when did she eat?

I tend to be "agressive" when it comes to dose advice. That's the primary reason I rarely do it any more. But if Bob were to go back on insulin, this would be the type of cycle I want to see every day. A green nadir is what I'd want. No matter the preshot number (unless it was like 400 or higher). If I got a yellow or blue preshot, I'd be trying for a green nadir. I would test accordingly, and feed when I needed to to keep him safe. And I wouldn't be as agressive if I wasn't going to be around to test and feed if needed. On a day like today, I would have been doing the happy dance. And screw the bounce. They happen, they go away. There's only two ways I know to avoid a bounce.
1 - don't let the numbers drop enough to cause one.
2 - ignore them - eventually the cat gets used to numbers that are causing bounces and stops bouncing from them.

So bottom line, were you okay with how today went?
 
Binkys list is dated 2008. Dr Piersons I provided above is more up to date (2012) so I would be inclined to trust that.. and what harm does it do to try not to feed those two flavours for a week or two? if you dont see any difference then you can feed them again.


But saying that my tiggy went from 4% to 2% carbs and i saw a decline in BG numbers.
 
Wendy is correct as far as the two lists. The one on Dr. Lisa's site currently was updated by her last year and is the most current list we have access to.

http://www.catinfo.org/docs/FoodChartPublic9-22-12.pdf

About a year and a half ago, Friskees "changed" some of their recipes, and added some ingredients that seem to be higher in carbs. I think rice was one of them if I remember correctly. So, use that link above for the most up-to-date carbs info.
 
Rob & Harley (GA) said:
Very interesting day, I was a little worried about your AMPS and 1 unit but it turned out ok. So now we know that your no shoot/reduced dose should be 160. Anything from 160 to 200 should be a skinny 1 unit.

Is she really cleaning up the gravy foods after the civies? That could be one of the reasons we are having so much trouble with the scale doses.

I'm glad you went with 1 unit tonight, that PMPS has some bounce in it.

I have so many notes with dose (sliding) changes that I am going crazy. I am not :lol:

Civies eat some of the "meat" and lick-up the gravy....so....all that is left is "meat".

This whole thing is really getting me nuts. Especially because I am not sure that I can free-feed every day. This free-feed/no-free-feed issue I am dealing with surely does not help us get a dose scale that is somewhat consistent. In any case....I am not sure how long the free-feed/no-free-feed on a day-by-day basis is going to last. RumpelT is NOT fussy about the flavors she gets....civies are big-time fussy. I am going broke (er) feeding canned food to 7 cats all-day every-day. And I do buy at the best priced places. I spend more on cat food than on food for myself. It was so much easier and less expensive when they ALL ate dry food. Guess I just have to deal with it....the bills can wait another week or two.
 
Carl & Bob said:
Misty,

I want to know what you think about today's AM cycle. Did you feel good about shooting 1u into the 156? Was the nadir too low for comfort? I have so many shoot/scale versions I am going crazy....I review them, look at her ss, and use my own logic to decide what to shoot. So far I have been making good choices. I am not used to seeing GREENS (RumpelT seems to prefer a rainbow during the day) so I was concerned. I wondered what caused them.

Because from where I sit, this is the best cycle that RumpleT has had since, well, ever. Until the bouncey number at PMPS anyway. He dropped about 100 points and gave you a perfect nadir. I'm not suggesting that the same dose on the same number tomorrow would have the exact same effect. You rarely see two cycles that are perfect matches. I don't think I will EVER see two cycles that are perfect matches. :roll:

You handled it perfectly too. You tested and saw the drop at +4. Did you feed her at that point? And the +6 was awesome. During this cycle, when did she eat? I did not feed her at the +4 drop....I am having financial difficulties now and yesterday I only had 2 cans of Friskies left. She only had 1 can at AMPS and 1 can at PMPS.
I tend to be "agressive" when it comes to dose advice. That's the primary reason I rarely do it any more. But if Bob were to go back on insulin, this would be the type of cycle I want to see every day. A green nadir is what I'd want. No matter the preshot number (unless it was like 400 or higher). If I got a yellow or blue preshot, I'd be trying for a green nadir. I would test accordingly, and feed when I needed to to keep him safe. And I wouldn't be as agressive if I wasn't going to be around to test and feed if needed. On a day like today, I would have been doing the happy dance. And screw the bounce. They happen, they go away. There's only two ways I know to avoid a bounce.
1 - don't let the numbers drop enough to cause one.
2 - ignore them - eventually the cat gets used to numbers that are causing bounces and stops bouncing from them.

So bottom line, were you okay with how today went? At the end "I" was okay. But....KITTIES were NOT....they were hungry....civies are now used to having canned food throughout the day. They would nibble at their dry (RumpelT was in powder room) and then the meoooooowwwwwing and sad faces would start. Driving me nuts and broke(r) than I am.
 
Have you priced out the Walmart Special Kitty pâté flavored? As long as it is a pâté it should be low carb. I'm on my phone so will chime in again tonight.
 
Rob & Harley (GA) said:
Have you priced out the Walmart Special Kitty pâté flavored? As long as it is a pâté it should be low carb. I'm on my phone so will chime in again tonight.

I usually get Friskies at PetSmart (I have a discount card there) and/or my local grocery store (they have been having it on sale 10 cans for $5.50).

As of today & this week....I have a $ 50.00 gift card for CVS that I was saving to use for my medication. They carry a limited variety of Friskies....soooooooo......I am using it for that.
 
It might still be worth checking out if you happen to drive by one, if they are alot less expensive it might help.

Also every Library and almost every Coffee Shop now has free wifi.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top