Misty,
I want to know what you think about today's AM cycle. Did you feel good about shooting 1u into the 156? Was the nadir too low for comfort? I have so many shoot/scale versions I am going crazy....I review them, look at her ss, and use my own logic to decide what to shoot. So far I have been making good choices. I am not used to seeing GREENS (RumpelT seems to prefer a rainbow during the day) so I was concerned. I wondered what caused them.
Because from where I sit, this is the best cycle that RumpleT has had since, well, ever. Until the bouncey number at PMPS anyway. He dropped about 100 points and gave you a perfect nadir. I'm not suggesting that the same dose on the same number tomorrow would have the exact same effect. You rarely see two cycles that are perfect matches. I don't think I will EVER see two cycles that are perfect matches. :roll:
You handled it perfectly too. You tested and saw the drop at +4. Did you feed her at that point? And the +6 was awesome. During this cycle, when did she eat? I did not feed her at the +4 drop....I am having financial difficulties now and yesterday I only had 2 cans of Friskies left. She only had 1 can at AMPS and 1 can at PMPS.
I tend to be "agressive" when it comes to dose advice. That's the primary reason I rarely do it any more. But if Bob were to go back on insulin, this would be the type of cycle I want to see every day. A green nadir is what I'd want. No matter the preshot number (unless it was like 400 or higher). If I got a yellow or blue preshot, I'd be trying for a green nadir. I would test accordingly, and feed when I needed to to keep him safe. And I wouldn't be as agressive if I wasn't going to be around to test and feed if needed. On a day like today, I would have been doing the happy dance. And screw the bounce. They happen, they go away. There's only two ways I know to avoid a bounce.
1 - don't let the numbers drop enough to cause one.
2 - ignore them - eventually the cat gets used to numbers that are causing bounces and stops bouncing from them.
So bottom line, were you okay with how today went? At the end "I" was okay. But....KITTIES were NOT....they were hungry....civies are now used to having canned food throughout the day. They would nibble at their dry (RumpelT was in powder room) and then the meoooooowwwwwing and sad faces would start. Driving me nuts and broke(r) than I am.