RUMPELTEAZER 58-13 AMPS = 404 I AM DONE !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Status
Not open for further replies.

misty1477

Very Active Member
Got up at 3:10:AM .............. FU** ------------Wasn't going to test ------ But she was driving me nuts ------------ TEST = TREAT

297 @ 3:20AM

I AM DONE WITH THIS......ANYBODY WANT A DIABETIC CAT & HER CIVVIE BROTHER???????????????? IF NOT ..... SAY GOODBYE TO RUMPELTEAZER.

AMPS = 404 @ 8:45AM
PROBABLY HIGH BECAUSE SHE WOULD NOT COOPERATE ---- WANTED TO EAT ---- AND MY PATIENCE IS TOTALLY G O N E. ALMOST KILLED THE DAMN CAT !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Fed/ate 1-1/2 cans FF after AMPS.

SHOOT INTO A DAMN BOUNCE ????? I DON"T CARE ANYMORE.

I am done with this.....going back to letting them all free-feed dry and a GIGANTIC bowl of FF all day/all night.
 
Re: RUMPELTEAZER 58-13 AMPS = 404 I AM DONE !!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Got up at 3:10:AM .............. FU** ------------Wasn't going to test ------ But she was driving me nuts ------------ TEST = TREAT

297 @ 3:20AM

I AM DONE WITH THIS......ANYBODY WANT A DIABETIC CAT & HER CIVVIE BROTHER???????????????? IF NOT ..... SAY GOODBYE TO RUMPELTEAZER.

AMPS = 404 @ 8:45AM
PROBABLY HIGH BECAUSE SHE WOULD NOT COOPERATE ---- WANTED TO EAT ---- AND MY PATIENCE IS TOTALLY G O N E. ALMOST KILLED THE DAMN CAT !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Fed/ate 1-1/2 cans FF after AMPS.

SHOOT INTO A DAMN BOUNCE ????? I DON"T CARE ANYMORE.

I am done with this.....going back to letting them all free-feed dry and a GIGANTIC bowl of FF all day/all night.

1.0 Units @ -9:15AM

I don't care if it is too much or not enough......I cannot stay up late anymore and be late for work......I am losing customers because their damn papers are late + I am penalized $$$$ every time they call-in to report that they did not get their damn newspaper!!!!!!

TODAY IS THE LAST DAY I AM SHOOTING INSULIN>>>> SEE ABOVE STATEMENT !!!!!!!!!!!!!
 
Re: RUMPELTEAZER 58-13 AMPS = 404 I AM DONE !!!!!!!!!!!!!!

If you are serious, Misty, please try to find a home for Rumpel. Maybe Diabetic Cats in Need can help (Google DCIN). If you don't give her insulin, she will slowly starve to death, regardless of how much food you feed her. It's not a humane way to treat her. It would be more kind to have her put to sleep.
 
Re: RUMPELTEAZER 58-13 AMPS = 404 I AM DONE !!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Sue and Oliver (GA) said:
If you are serious, Misty, please try to find a home for Rumpel. Maybe Diabetic Cats in Need can help (Google DCIN). If you don't give her insulin, she will slowly starve to death, regardless of how much food you feed her. It's not a humane way to treat her. It would be more kind to have her put to sleep.


I have NEVER EVER EVER EVER -treated ANY of my animals like this EVER IN MY WHOLE LIFE !!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I am soooooooooooooooooooooooooooo stressed out I could throw up. This whole insulin thing is not changing anything anyway.....she is still peeeing a lot......wanting to eat a ton of food...............it is just like before I told the vet back in February what was going on with her. NOTHING HAS CHANGED.....except that she only eats 1-1/2 cans FF twice a day and has to have her damn ears poked and she has to stay in the powder room until the civvies are done eating for over an hour two or three times a day. PLUS my civvies are NOT getting enough food because they are only being fed twice a day....sometimes three times if I have a chance to put RumpelT in the powder room for an hour (without food or anything) late in the afternoon so the civvies can have something to eat.
 
Re: RUMPELTEAZER 58-13 AMPS = 404 I AM DONE !!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Everybody breathe! Misty, if you take a look at the numbers, you could have given a shot at the 297 (chasing the number) Also, a 404 is really good! It's almost in the pink, it's way less than anything in the 500's. I know it feels discouraging, and believe me, I lived my whole life never giving an insulin shot. Imagine the frustration when your cat comes out of remission and is back on insulin,and worse, spends the first 3 months with Red/Black numbers. It sucks! But it isn't your fault or the cat's fault. Cat food manufacturers are putting corn in the cat food, and it's something they can't eat. Overtime it's going to hurt your other cats too, and you might find yourself in this situation again. If you look around the board, you will see people with sometimes multiple diabetic cats. One girl once accidentally gave an insulin shot to her look-alike civvie, imagine that fun day!!! Cat's feel your stress too. And for a diabetic cat who can't control their stress the way their civvies can, so anything, even loud noises can spike them.

With numbers in the 300+'s, she will eat and drink to try to bring those numbers down (but her body doesn't remember how), so you will see her peeing more often. As she comes down, she might not even eat as much, but she needs your iron will to get there.

Today, since a 1.0u on a 404 should be pretty safe, you could take a break and get some rest. Maybe give her a test around +6 to see where she is. Give yourself some time to just be with her without a lancet pen in your hand. It does wonders to just enjoy some time together. Then with a fresh perspective we can revisit her chart and go from there.
 
Re: RUMPELTEAZER 58-13 AMPS = 404 I AM DONE !!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Misty,

This might sound odd, but you're trying too hard. You can't force remission, and she may never get there. But she can live the rest of her life as a diabetic that needs insulin. It won't kill her and it won't kill you.

The 404 this morning is because she had gone 24 hours since her last shot. It's not a bounce.

Here's what you can do....

Put her on a 1u dose.
Test before every shot.
Test once during the day, preferably around +6.
Take a break from this madness. It doesn't need to consume your entire life, or hers.
As long as you see a number at shot time above 200, give her a shot. If you think 1u is too much, shoot less. As long as she doesn't drop below 50 or 60 at nadir, she's fine.

If she becomes diet controlled one day, awesome. If not, so what?
 
Re: RUMPELTEAZER 58-13 AMPS = 404 I AM DONE !!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Got up at 3:10:AM .............. FU** ------------Wasn't going to test ------ But she was driving me nuts ------------ TEST = TREAT

297 @ 3:20AM

I AM DONE WITH THIS......ANYBODY WANT A DIABETIC CAT & HER CIVVIE BROTHER???????????????? IF NOT ..... SAY GOODBYE TO RUMPELTEAZER.

AMPS = 404 @ 8:45AM
PROBABLY HIGH BECAUSE SHE WOULD NOT COOPERATE ---- WANTED TO EAT ---- AND MY PATIENCE IS TOTALLY G O N E. ALMOST KILLED THE DAMN CAT !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Fed/ate 1-1/2 cans FF after AMPS.

SHOOT INTO A DAMN BOUNCE ????? I DON"T CARE ANYMORE.

I am done with this.....going back to letting them all free-feed dry and a GIGANTIC bowl of FF all day/all night.

1.0 Units @ -9:15AM

I don't care if it is too much or not enough......I cannot stay up late anymore and be late for work......I am losing customers because their damn papers are late + I am penalized $$$$ every time they call-in to report that they did not get their damn newspaper!!!!!!

TODAY IS THE LAST DAY I AM SHOOTING INSULIN>>>> SEE ABOVE STATEMENT !!!!!!!!!!!!!

107 @ 3:15PM (+6)
 
Re: RUMPELTEAZER 58-13 AMPS = 404 I AM DONE !!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Hi Misty,

You sure do need a break. I like Carl's idea of lowering the dose and minimum testing, at least give us a chance to find a temporary foster situation for you.

Would it help to talk to someone? If so you could pm me your phone # and let me call you.

Robin
 
Re: RUMPELTEAZER 58-13 AMPS = 404 I AM DONE !!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Mary & Simba said:
Everybody breathe! Misty, if you take a look at the numbers, you could have given a shot at the 297 (chasing the number) Also, a 404 is really good! It's almost in the pink, it's way less than anything in the 500's. I know it feels discouraging, and believe me, I lived my whole life never giving an insulin shot. Imagine the frustration when your cat comes out of remission and is back on insulin,and worse, spends the first 3 months with Red/Black numbers. It sucks! But it isn't your fault or the cat's fault. Cat food manufacturers are putting corn in the cat food, and it's something they can't eat. Overtime it's going to hurt your other cats too, and you might find yourself in this situation again. If you look around the board, you will see people with sometimes multiple diabetic cats. One girl once accidentally gave an insulin shot to her look-alike civvie, imagine that fun day!!! Cat's feel your stress too. And for a diabetic cat who can't control their stress the way their civvies can, so anything, even loud noises can spike them.

With numbers in the 300+'s, she will eat and drink to try to bring those numbers down (but her body doesn't remember how), so you will see her peeing more often. As she comes down, she might not even eat as much, but she needs your iron will to get there.

Today, since a 1.0u on a 404 should be pretty safe, you could take a break and get some rest. Maybe give her a test around +6 to see where she is. Give yourself some time to just be with her without a lancet pen in your hand. It does wonders to just enjoy some time together. Then with a fresh perspective we can revisit her chart and go from there.


I could have given her a shot at 297 (AT 3:20AM) ?????????? Helllloooooo......I was supposed to get up for work at 1:15AM.....you figure out how late for work I was because I had to stay up until after 10:00PM to deal with this FD!! Before this FD, I was in bed by 6:30PM - 7:00PM and was able to get up for work by 12:30AM with no problem and got about 6 hours sleep. I was never screaming at my cats and being mean to them and every human being I have to deal with. I have never been like this in my whole life !!!!!!!!!!!
 
Re: RUMPELTEAZER 58-13 AMPS = 404 I AM DONE !!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Rob & Harley (GA) said:
Hi Misty,

You sure do need a break. I like Carl's idea of lowering the dose and minimum testing, at least give us a chance to find a temporary foster situation for you.

Would it help to talk to someone? If so you could pm me your phone # and let me call you.

Robin


I love my cats.....always loved ALL of my cats/dogs that I ever had and I have had many. I have had every single one that has passed away due to 'old-age' cremated....I have their ashes in containers on the armoire in my bedroom with their framed picture.

I appreciate what everyone here is trying to do to help me, but it doesn't seem like they understand how my life is. I don't think anyone really wants to know all the details anyway. People have their own problems to deal with.
 
Re: RUMPELTEAZER 58-13 AMPS = 404 I AM DONE !!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Her numbers looked great today on the 1 unit. I think if you are willing to try, then Carl's advice is spot on.
 
Re: RUMPELTEAZER 58-13 AMPS = 404 I AM DONE !!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I absolutely know that you love all of your animals, just look at all of the effort you have put into RumpleTeazer's care.

Sometimes life becomes overwhelming for a time and we have to do our best to just put one foot in front of the other until it passes, and this too shall pass. Maybe with a little help from your friends here.

Harley was dx 1 month after my mom was told she was terminal, my life went to heck in a hurry being mom's sole caregiver along with my newly diabetic cat and working a full time job, so I do kind of understand. I wouldn't want to go back to those days for anything.

I've offered to talk on the phone if you want to. There are also many members in PA who may be able to help out if needed, heck they even have a big get together every August. You are not in this alone.

Being sleep deprived does bad things to us and our health. Please stay open to our offers to help.

Robin
 
Re: RUMPELTEAZER 58-13 AMPS = 404 I AM DONE !!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Got up at 3:10:AM .............. FU** ------------Wasn't going to test ------ But she was driving me nuts ------------ TEST = TREAT

297 @ 3:20AM

I AM DONE WITH THIS......ANYBODY WANT A DIABETIC CAT & HER CIVVIE BROTHER???????????????? IF NOT ..... SAY GOODBYE TO RUMPELTEAZER.

AMPS = 404 @ 8:45AM
PROBABLY HIGH BECAUSE SHE WOULD NOT COOPERATE ---- WANTED TO EAT ---- AND MY PATIENCE IS TOTALLY G O N E. ALMOST KILLED THE DAMN CAT !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Fed/ate 1-1/2 cans FF after AMPS.

SHOOT INTO A DAMN BOUNCE ????? I DON"T CARE ANYMORE.

I am done with this.....going back to letting them all free-feed dry and a GIGANTIC bowl of FF all day/all night.

1.0 Units @ -9:15AM

I don't care if it is too much or not enough......I cannot stay up late anymore and be late for work......I am losing customers because their damn papers are late + I am penalized $$$$ every time they call-in to report that they did not get their damn newspaper!!!!!!

TODAY IS THE LAST DAY I AM SHOOTING INSULIN>>>> SEE ABOVE STATEMENT !!!!!!!!!!!!!

107 @ 3:15PM (+6)

PMPS = 404 @ 8:00PM

Gave/ate 1-1/2 cans FF after PMPS

1.0 unit @ 8:15PM
 
Re: RUMPELTEAZER 58-13 AMPS = 404 I AM DONE !!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Get some sleep. You'll feel better.
 
Re: RUMPELTEAZER 58-13 AMPS = 404 I AM DONE !!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Misty,
You don't know me and I don't know you, but I can't help but post. I am just so sorry for all the stress your kitty's FD is causing you. I don't blame you at all for feeling frustrated at all. I hope that the thought of all these "strangers in the computer" wishing you and Rumpleteaser well from afar helps just a little bit. I think venting is very healthy and if you feel like you can take any of these folks up on their offers to help, I encourage you to do it.

Take care,
KJ
 
Re: RUMPELTEAZER 58-13 AMPS = 404 I AM DONE !!!!!!!!!!!!!!

KJ&Alfred said:
Misty,
You don't know me and I don't know you, but I can't help but post. I am just so sorry for all the stress your kitty's FD is causing you. I don't blame you at all for feeling frustrated at all. I hope that the thought of all these "strangers in the computer" wishing you and Rumpleteaser well from afar helps just a little bit. I think venting is very healthy and if you feel like you can take any of these folks up on their offers to help, I encourage you to do it.

Take care,
KJ

Thanks for your support KJ. Wow...Alfred is a very handsome kitty-dude !!! :smile:

Everyone has been wonderful putting up with my crazy rants/screaming/etc. :smile: :-D

I don't know how many of my posts you have read, but my work schedule is totally NUTS and the FD thing has really made me lose a lot of sleep that I used to get and need every night. Makes me very irritable and angry. NOT like me at all.

You are in Alaska.....if I remember correctly, I think I have some relatives (who don't even know me) that live there somewhere.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top