RUMPELTEAZER 4-8-13 AMPS = 404

Status
Not open for further replies.

misty1477

Member Since 2013
AMPS = 404 @ 7:30AM

Gave her 1 can FF after AMPS (segregated from other kitties will eating). Will give another can after (+2) test and then 1 level tsp as treat after other tests during the day. Let's see if this plan will give her better numbers.

1.0 unit @ 7:45AM
 
AMPS = 404 @ 7:30AM

Gave her 1 can FF after AMPS (segregated from other kitties will eating). Will give another can after (+2) test and then 1 level tsp as treat after other tests during the day. Let's see if this plan will give her better numbers.

1.0 unit @ 7:45AM

335 @ 9:30AM (+2) Ate 1 can FF after test.
 
Brainstorming ideas here.

What do you think about her insulin - does it last long enough? Is the dose high enough?

Would you be able to shoot 3 times a day @ about 7-8 hour intervals? (Wondering if TID dosing would work better.)
 
AMPS = 404 @ 7:30AM

Gave her 1 can FF after AMPS (segregated from other kitties will eating). Will give another can after (+2) test and then 1 level tsp as treat after other tests during the day. Let's see if this plan will give her better numbers.

1.0 unit @ 7:45AM

335 @ 9:30AM (+2) Ate 1 can FF after test
231 @ 11:45AM Ate 1 tsp FF as treat after test
 
BJM said:
Brainstorming ideas here.

What do you think about her insulin - does it last long enough? Is the dose high enough?

Would you be able to shoot 3 times a day @ about 7-8 hour intervals? (Wondering if TID dosing would work better.)


BJM... I have been looking at her SS for the zillionth time....trying to make some sense out of it. It looks so crazy. :YMSIGH:

She has been on many different doses and had good days + 'hypo' day(s) + HIGH days. We tried 1.0 + .05 + .25 + .75 + 'drops' + 1.5 (vet told me to dose this one and 2 days later we had the hypo incident). Maybe 1.25 will work????? Only one we haven't tried yet. I don't want her to hypo again.

It does seem pretty easy to tell when nadir is during the day...seems kind of consistent time-wise.

If I had to shoot 3 times a day @ 7-8 hour intervals ... I would definitely not get any good sleep for work any day of the week. It may seem to most people that 'delivering damn newspapers' is a simple job....a no-brainer. Well...it is not....believe me....papers are not already rolled/bagged/rubber-banded/etc when we get them + we have to load them in our vehicles + we are driving during overnight-hours ( sure...not many vehicles on the road, but we have to keep alert for our 'four-legged-friends' + deal with any kind of weather momma nature throws at us). I drive about 65 miles every night throughout my 6 to 7 hour 'work-day'...about 2-3 hours of that time is spent 'commuting' and rolling/bagging/loading papers. As you already know, my body does not let me sleep during the day...only one 30 or 45 minute snooze is all that I get....some days I don't even get that little luxury. Every week, I basically run on 2-1/2 to 4 hours sleep each day depending on the day. And now with testing her every 2 hours (which maybe I really don't have to do??) my day-time 'life' consists of trying to accomplish things in 2-hour intervals....BTW...I do have ADD....I guess that doesn't help very much either. :roll: It is April 8th and I didn't even start doing my income taxes yet..... ohmygod_smile gotta go deal with laundry....just remembered....one batch to dryer....next batch to washer. <slaps self in head>

Maybe we should give 1.25 units two times a day a try? I was hoping that by now (it is over a month already) that RumpelT would be showing some consistency in numbers. Hmmmmm....were you the one who posted the "patients pants" pic to me??? :lol: :lol:
 
AMPS = 404 @ 7:30AM

Gave her 1 can FF after AMPS (segregated from other kitties will eating). Will give another can after (+2) test and then 1 level tsp as treat after other tests during the day. Let's see if this plan will give her better numbers.

1.0 unit @ 7:45AM

335 @ 9:30AM (+2) Ate 1 can FF after test
231 @ 11:45AM (+4) Ate 1 tsp FF as treat after test
349 @ 1:45PM (+6)

Bought some "PureBites" Freeze-Dried Chicken Breast Treats @ PetSmart today....only one ingredient...100% Natural & Pure USDA Inspected Chicken Breast.....gave her 1 after (+6) test.
 
If she likes those treats, that's a much better option than a spoon or two of food. I think the spoons of food are working against you, Misty? See how she went up from +4 to +6? I think a large part of that may be what she ate at +4. The food is fighting the insulin mid-cycle, and the food seems to be "winning".
 
Carl & Bob said:
If she likes those treats, that's a much better option than a spoon or two of food. I think the spoons of food are working against you, Misty? See how she went up from +4 to +6? I think a large part of that may be what she ate at +4. The food is fighting the insulin mid-cycle, and the food seems to be "winning".


She kind of looked at it like "What the heck is this thing?" .... then she pushed it around with her nose and ate it. :lol: Hope they will work :-D Next test is @ 3:45PM.....let's see how she looks.
 
Petsmart also sells a brand called Beefeater that comes in chicken and salmon flavors. Cubes of freeze dried stuff. My cats love them, and they work really well as "bribes" when they aren't fans of the food of the day. You can crush them to sprinkle over the canned food when kitty says "I don't want this flavor".:-)
 
AMPS = 404 @ 7:30AM

Gave her 1 can FF after AMPS (segregated from other kitties will eating). Will give another can after (+2) test and then 1 level tsp as treat after other tests during the day. Let's see if this plan will give her better numbers.

1.0 unit @ 7:45AM

335 @ 9:30AM (+2) Ate 1 can FF after test
231 @ 11:45AM (+4) Ate 1 tsp FF as treat after test
349 @ 1:45PM (+6)

Bought some "PureBites" Freeze-Dried Chicken Breast Treats @ PetSmart today....only one ingredient...100% Natural & Pure USDA Inspected Chicken Breast.....gave her 1 after (+6) test.

400 @ 3:45PM (+8) Gave her a chicken treat ---- Didn't eat it :sad:
 
OK ... what do you think of a sliding scale, rather than dosing consistently? Because Prozinc has no depot, sliding scale is very possible with this insulin.

Take the data from about the last week or two, group it by pre-shot ranges, and check how much drop she got by nadir.
Do there appear to be any breakpoints where the response changes in these ranges?
500 - HI
400 - 499
300 - 399
200 - 299
100 - 199
 
BJM said:
OK ... what do you think of a sliding scale, rather than dosing consistently? Because Prozinc has no depot, sliding scale is very possible with this insulin.

Take the data from about the last week or two, group it by pre-shot ranges, and check how much drop she got by nadir.
Do there appear to be any breakpoints where the response changes in these ranges?
500 - HI
400 - 499
300 - 399
200 - 299
100 - 199


Let me do some analyzing on this. I am not sure how the sliding scale works ....say....time-wise. But I guess you will explain that when I get the 'breakpoint' info back to you.

I THINK MY LAPTOP IS GOING TO DIE .... YES>>>>I AM TYPING ALL CAPS>>>>I AM SCREAMING!!!! Can't afford a new one!!! Every few seconds the screen goes to black....I have to move mouse to get it back....just started this yesterday. My settings are the same they have always been. ARRRRGGHHHHH !!!!
 
The sliding scale works the same way, time-wise. You still shoot 12 hours apart. You're just adjusting the amount of insulin you give based on the preshot number you see, and on what sort of number you would expect a dose to give you at nadir.
 
AMPS = 404 @ 7:30AM

Gave her 1 can FF after AMPS (segregated from other kitties will eating). Will give another can after (+2) test and then 1 level tsp as treat after other tests during the day. Let's see if this plan will give her better numbers.

1.0 unit @ 7:45AM

335 @ 9:30AM (+2) Ate 1 can FF after test
231 @ 11:45AM (+4) Ate 1 tsp FF as treat after test
349 @ 1:45PM (+6)

Bought some "PureBites" Freeze-Dried Chicken Breast Treats @ PetSmart today....only one ingredient...100% Natural & Pure USDA Inspected Chicken Breast.....gave her 1 after (+6) test....ate it.

400 @ 3:45PM (+8) Gave her a chicken treat ---- Didn't eat it :sad:

PMPS = 369 @ 6:45PM Ate approx. 2 cans FF after PMPS

1.0 units @ 7:15PM
 
Carl & Bob said:
The sliding scale works the same way, time-wise. You still shoot 12 hours apart. You're just adjusting the amount of insulin you give based on the preshot number you see, and on what sort of number you would expect a dose to give you at nadir.


I think I understand ... (where is the "I think I am going crazy" smilie).

I will try to analyze her ss a little bit before I go to bed and try again tomorrow..... ohmygod_smile ohmygod_smile I HAVE TO DO my income taxes tomorrow and laptop is acting kind of funky!!!!

Hmmmmm.... "... what sort of number you would expect a dose to give you at nadir." That is going to be the tricky part. I 'expect' BLUE number..... ;-) Kidding.

EDIT:::: I don't know any nadir numbers that occur overnight. :YMSIGH:
 
RumpleT seems to be pretty stable on the current shot. Possibly a tiny nudge more of insulin might give you a lower number. Maybe start with tiny additions like 1.10u when you are home to monitor and see what kind of nadir you get.

I agree with Carl on the food. Maybe even metering out the second can of food slowly might cause a reduction in numbers without having to raise the shot.
 
Mary & Simba said:
RumpleT seems to be pretty stable on the current shot. Possibly a tiny nudge more of insulin might give you a lower number. Maybe start with tiny additions like 1.10u when you are home to monitor and see what kind of nadir you get.

I agree with Carl on the food. Maybe even metering out the second can of food slowly might cause a reduction in numbers without having to raise the shot.

by Carl & Bob » Mon Apr 08, 2013 2:41 pm

If she likes those treats, that's a much better option than a spoon or two of food. I think the spoons of food are working against you, Misty? See how she went up from +4 to +6? I think a large part of that may be what she ate at +4. The food is fighting the insulin mid-cycle, and the food seems to be "winning".

Mary...See Carl's 'quote' above about the food. BTW....she is not liking the chicken treats :roll:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top