RUMPELTEAZER-3-27-13 AMPS=411 @ 7:30AM

Status
Not open for further replies.

misty1477

Very Active Member
Tested before I left for work ..... 253 @1:00AM ---- Ate 1 tsp FF after test

AMPS = 411 @ 7:30AM

Fed FF after test - Ate very well

0.75 units @ 7:45AM Will be home to test during the day.
 
donnahc said:
Great Misty! You are getting the hang of this ! :-D

It's about time :lol:

A few days ago...either BJM or Carl (sorry...don't remember who.....I just printed out the guideline section) did a post for me that contained "guidelines" as to what to do if at certain things are happening. It has helped me make decisions more on my own. Pretty soon, maybe I won't be driving all you guys & gals crazy with questions.....Ahhhh...but I like you all and don't want to stop hearing from ya's.....you all have been sooooooo helpful....I don't know what I would do without everyone here.

"See" ya later. :-D
 
Keep in mind those guidelines can evolve!

If you increase and Rumpel gets scary low, you may want to go back to the last good dose.
If you observe a dose doesn't ever get her below 150, you may want to see how a small increase works.
And if a dose gets her to green without turning your hair white, you may want to stick with it.
 
BJM said:
Keep in mind those guidelines can evolve!

If you increase and Rumpel gets scary low, you may want to go back to the last good dose.
If you observe a dose doesn't ever get her below 150, you may want to see how a small increase works.
And if a dose gets her to green without turning your hair white, you may want to stick with it.


I understand ... The guidelines + understanding the 20%-thing has really helped me think more "logically" about what to do. :-D

You guys/gals are all totally awesome !!!
 
Tested before I left for work ..... 253 @1:00AM ---- Ate 1 tsp FF after test

AMPS = 411 @ 7:30AM

Fed FF after test - Ate very well

0.75 units @ 7:45AM Will be home to test during the day.

343 @ 10:00AM (+2) Did not want to eat FF treat after test
 
As she becomes more stable and her glucose is lower, she won't eat as much because she can use all the calories from what she does eat. So if she had breakfast and doesn't want a snack, that's OK.
 
BJM said:
As she becomes more stable and her glucose is lower, she won't eat as much because she can use all the calories from what she does eat. So if she had breakfast and doesn't want a snack, that's OK.


Cool....she always eats a lot for breakfast & supper. He bro (Mungojerrie) ate her snack :lol:
 
Tested before I left for work ..... 253 @1:00AM ---- Ate 1 tsp FF after test

AMPS = 411 @ 7:30AM

Fed FF after test - Ate very well

0.75 units @ 7:45AM Will be home to test during the day.

343 @ 10:00AM (+2) Did not want to eat FF treat after test
212 @ 11:45AM (+4) Ate 1 tsp FF as treat after test
 
Tested before I left for work ..... 253 @1:00AM ---- Ate 1 tsp FF after test

AMPS = 411 @ 7:30AM

Fed FF after test - Ate very well

0.75 units @ 7:45AM Will be home to test during the day.

343 @ 10:00AM (+2) Did not want to eat FF treat after test
212 @ 11:45AM (+4) Ate 1 tsp FF as treat after test
284 @ 12:45PM (+5) Ate 1 tsp FF as treat after test ------ (+5) test to check possible nadir low point
 
Tested before I left for work ..... 253 @1:00AM ---- Ate 1 tsp FF after test

AMPS = 411 @ 7:30AM

Fed FF after test - Ate very well

0.75 units @ 7:45AM Will be home to test during the day.

343 @ 10:00AM (+2) Did not want to eat FF treat after test
212 @ 11:45AM (+4) Ate 1 tsp FF as treat after test
284 @ 12:45PM (+5) Ate 1 tsp FF as treat after test ------ (+5) test to check possible nadir low point
299 @ 2:45PM (+7) Ate 1 tsp FF as treat after test
 
So much for a nadir at +5! She's safely above 50, so thats good. Now if we could just get her a bit lower...

Sometimes, it takes a couple of days for the body to get used to (settle into) an insulin dose change - we call it "New Dose Wonkiness".

Keep on working it. Folks will take a look at the spreadsheet as it is updated and make suggestions accordingly.
 
BJM said:
So much for a nadir at +5! She's safely above 50, so thats good. Now if we could just get her a bit lower...

Sometimes, it takes a couple of days for the body to get used to (settle into) an insulin dose change - we call it "New Dose Wonkiness".

Keep on working it. Folks will take a look at the spreadsheet as it is updated and make suggestions accordingly.


I will keep trying 0.75 units for the rest of this week & see how it goes. Okay?

Question: Should I be looking to go up to 1.0 units OR down to 0.50 units ?? I know we are trying to get her to a 'consistent' dose. I think lower 'consistent' dose is better than higher one....correct?
 
If we can work out a sliding scale for her, that may be optimal.

You might re-write what I gave you and split it into the following to make a plan:
Rising/level glucose
400s: ate well, dose ___
300s: ate well, dose ___
200s: ate well, dose ___

Falling glucose
400s: ate well, dose ___
300s: ate well, dose ___
200s: ate well, dose ___

Rising/level glucose
400s: ate poorly, dose ___
300s: ate poorly, dose ___
200s: ate poorly, dose ___

Falling glucose
400s: ate poorly, dose ___
300s: ate poorly, dose ___
200s: ate poorly, dose ___
 
So....I make a sheet like this for each day and enter my info?
Do I post it every day in my daily 'topic' ?
Do I still post info as the day goes on like I have been?
Or....Is the info I enter just for my own use?
 
misty1477 said:
So....I make a sheet like this for each day and enter my info?
Do I post it every day in my daily 'topic' ?
Do I still post info as the day goes on like I have been?
Or....Is the info I enter just for my own use?

Whoops - no, that is an outline for your rules to dose. You want to take the first set of guidelines we established, and fill in that sheet so you have your rules for dose laid out.

ex
rising
400s, eating well, give 0.75 (for right now, unless you want to test 1.0 units and will be home to monitor)

rising
200s, eating well, give 0.25 (0.5 if you're home to monitor or are sure its not too much)

falling,
200s, not eating well, SKIP ... and try to figure out why not eating!
etc.
 
BJM said:
misty1477 said:
So....I make a sheet like this for each day and enter my info?
Do I post it every day in my daily 'topic' ?
Do I still post info as the day goes on like I have been?
Or....Is the info I enter just for my own use?

Whoops - no, that is an outline for your rules to dose. You want to take the first set of guidelines we established, and fill in that sheet so you have your rules for dose laid out.

ex
rising
400s, eating well, give 0.75 (for right now, unless you want to test 1.0 units and will be home to monitor)

rising
200s, eating well, give 0.25 (0.5 if you're home to monitor or are sure its not too much)

falling,
200s, not eating well, SKIP ... and try to figure out why not eating!
etc.


Oh...I think I understand ... there's those words "I think" again :YMSIGH:

I write in the dose I give or plan on giving when a certain scenario occurs. Yes?
Should I indicate if at AMPS/PMPS?
Sorry....but I have a tendency to "over-analyze" things. :roll:
 
Exactly - you are laying out your plan for what to do under the different scenarious.

When a scenario works, you keep the rule.
When a scenario plan does NOT work, you think about what would work better, revise your plan, and test it the next time that scenario occurs.
 
BJM said:
Exactly - you are laying out your plan for what to do under the different scenarious.

When a scenario works, you keep the rule.
When a scenario plan does NOT work, you think about what would work better, revise your plan, and test it the next time that scenario occurs.


Okay...I will start doing this tomorrow morning. I will also keep my SS updated here.

Thanks A Bunch! :-D
 
You may find it helpful to look at some of the other forum member's posts and spreadsheets to see what ideas you can get and to offer support and any ideas you have to the others.
 
Tested before I left for work ..... 253 @1:00AM ---- Ate 1 tsp FF after test

AMPS = 411 @ 7:30AM

Fed FF after test - Ate very well

0.75 units @ 7:45AM Will be home to test during the day.

343 @ 10:00AM (+2) Did not want to eat FF treat after test
212 @ 11:45AM (+4) Ate 1 tsp FF as treat after test
284 @ 12:45PM (+5) Ate 1 tsp FF as treat after test ------ (+5) test to check possible nadir low point
299 @ 2:45PM (+7) Ate 1 tsp FF as treat after test
362 @5:45PM (+10) No treat....too close to PMPS (will be at 7:15PM)
 
Looking at the spreadsheet, it seems as though the pm tests post shot aren't going too low. The next night you'll actually be home, if you want, test a 0.75 dose if the dose guidelines are met.

And I'm thinking during the day, you might test only every 3 hours when checking small dose change and only at the midpoint if using a tried and true dose.
 
BJM said:
Looking at the spreadsheet, it seems as though the pm tests post shot aren't going too low. The next night you'll actually be home, if you want, test a 0.75 dose if the dose guidelines are met.

And I'm thinking during the day, you might test only every 3 hours when checking small dose change and only at the midpoint if using a tried and true dose.

I am going to do PMPS now.

Sad to say....there is NEVER "...the next night you'll actually be home..." for me. I work 7 days/nights/whatever they are called ( :roll: ) 365 days a year....no holidays off...no vacation time...no sick-time off. Only time off would be if I had someone "sub" for me....which I would have to pay mucho $$$ to...and believe me....no one wants to do it. Ever tell ya....I HATE MY JOB ???
 
Tested before I left for work ..... 253 @1:00AM ---- Ate 1 tsp FF after test

AMPS = 411 @ 7:30AM

Fed FF after test - Ate very well

0.75 units @ 7:45AM Will be home to test during the day.

343 @ 10:00AM (+2) Did not want to eat FF treat after test
212 @ 11:45AM (+4) Ate 1 tsp FF as treat after test
284 @ 12:45PM (+5) Ate 1 tsp FF as treat after test ------ (+5) test to check possible nadir low point
299 @ 2:45PM (+7) Ate 1 tsp FF as treat after test
362 @5:45PM (+10) No treat....too close to PMPS (will be at 7:15PM)
PMPS = 263 @ 7:15PM Will feed & thinking to shoot 0.5 units like last night.
 
Sooo ... is there another kind of job you'd like to have? Maybe we can help you look.
 
BJM said:
Sooo ... is there another kind of job you'd like to have? Maybe we can help you look.


:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: Oh Yes !!!!

I wish I had the job (Contract Administrator) I had for ten years before I was downsized out .... like everyone else that had a lot of years into the company.

Since no one guessed what I actually do every night, I will reveal it now: I deliver damn newspapers. :roll: :evil:

Spent 10 years of my life going to college evenings/weekends while raising 2 children and working full-time job....and I end up throwing newspapers!!!! I graduated with honors....two degrees...Accounting + Business Administration + have a semester in for Masters' in Organizational Management(can't finish...no $$$). I have been told to my face during interviews that I am 'overqualified'....WHAT !!

At this point in time, it is almost impossible for me to try another job. I am between a rock-and-a-hard-place so to speak. If I do get a 'real' day-job...I would still have to keep my newspaper job until I was 100% sure day-job would work out. You see...if I give up newspapers and day-job tanks during/after probationary timeframe, I would not be able to get my paper routes back. Therefore, no income.

Also, my age and severe carpal tunnel syndrome (yeah....got that from rolling newspapers for over 9-1/2 years) are against me. Especially in the area where I live....jobs are hard to come by....unless you are in the healthcare field or can do warehouse-type work.

OMG.....am I going on too much about me in this post??!?!?! Sorry 'bout that. Life has been a horror story since losing that good job...anyone can PM me if ya want the details. :lol: :lol: :roll:
 
Tested before I left for work ..... 253 @1:00AM ---- Ate 1 tsp FF after test

AMPS = 411 @ 7:30AM

Fed FF after test - Ate very well

0.75 units @ 7:45AM Will be home to test during the day.

343 @ 10:00AM (+2) Did not want to eat FF treat after test
212 @ 11:45AM (+4) Ate 1 tsp FF as treat after test
284 @ 12:45PM (+5) Ate 1 tsp FF as treat after test ------ (+5) test to check possible nadir low point
299 @ 2:45PM (+7) Ate 1 tsp FF as treat after test
362 @5:45PM (+10) No treat....too close to PMPS (will be at 7:15PM)
PMPS = 263 @ 7:15PM Will feed & thinking to shoot 0.5 units like last night

She ate well ---- as usual :-D

0.5 units @ 8:15PM Will try to test & treat before I leave for work.

Tomorrow I have appointment in AM between 8:15 and 9:30. Hope results are good at AMPS.
 
Since no one guessed what I actually do every night, I will reveal it now: I deliver damn newspapers.

Wow, I could have guessed for weeks and would not have gotten it right! At least not without a hint or two. :smile:

There are worse jobs, but I understand your frustration with the education and job history you have. I got "downsized" too, back in 2003 after just shy of 20 years with a mfg. company. Started on the assembly floor, ended with a desk job making twice what I make now. BUT - in my case it was the best thing that ever happened to me. I now work outdoors on a beautiful barrier island. Housing is a free perk, which more than makes up for the loss in salary. I get to ride up and down 4 miles of beach on an ATV, and I get to see endangered turtles lay eggs and the hatchlings run to the ocean. I have foxen (if one ox is an ox, and more than one ox is "oxen", then two or more foxes should be called "foxen"!) and deer and raccoon and even aligators in my "yard".... I wish I'd started doing this 30 years ago! When people ask me if I "miss my old job"??? I tell them, "well, I make half as much money.... but I'm ten times happier!"

The only job I would consider as awesome as this one would be to be an usher at Fenway Park in Boston. To get paid to watch 81 games a year, where you're biggest responsibility is "here's your seat, sir. Enjoy the game"??? That's what I want to be when I grow up!

There's a job out there for you, Misty. Just need to stumble across it like I did with this one.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top