RUMPELTEAZER-3-25-13-AMPS=413@8:00AM

Status
Not open for further replies.
Good Morning!

Tomorrow, if Rumpelteazer is in the 400s at morning and you can monitor, you might test a dose of 0.75 units.

Otherwise, carry on :-D
 
BJM said:
Good Morning!

Tomorrow, if Rumpelteazer is in the 400s at morning and you can monitor, you might test a dose of 0.75 units.

Otherwise, carry on :-D


Morning...BJM...

I was thinking of doing 0.75 today...but chickened-out. Did you see that I tested her before I left for work? Was @ 289.

She is supposed to go to vet tomorrow....but I am going to cancel....not in the budget this week....SO...I will try the 0.75 tomorrow and monitor all day.
 
Just checking in but I see you guys have everything under control.
Good day and good numbers Misty!
 
donnahc said:
Just checking in but I see you guys have everything under control.
Good day and good numbers Misty!

Hope all goes/stays 'well'. I will be testing her throughout the day .... maybe .5 u is where she should be. If all goes well....maybe after a few days I will try .75 u like BJM suggested. Time will tell. :smile:

I cancelled vet appt. for tomorrow...I told vet tech that RumpelT was doing well and I will continue to monitor her. She said she would pass info along to vet....wonder if vet will call me back ;-)

Crappy thing is.....in order to get script for insulin when I need it next time....I have to deal with taking RumpelT to vet on some regular basis. :roll:
 
You might print out the AAHA Guidelines and share that with the office. Say something like - it would be very difficult to stay up to date on every disease for every animal. I found a veterinary guideline for contemporary diabetes management that I thought you'd find helpful to review. Tactful, y'know? And true.
 
Our experience is that it takes a few cycles at a dose to see what it does, and for the kitty to settle into it.

We had to change vets once to get someone who didn't dictate what dose we shot. My first vet would yell at me if I ever reduced without getting her permission :?
So different vets are different. Our current vet is impressed we test and keep track of our numbers, so she lets us pretty much on our own unless we ask for an opinion, which is fine by me.
She writes our script for a year, so I don't have to go in more than once a year unless we need to for some other problem. That seems like it should be the norm, but...

That guide looks interesting BJ. I'm gonna check that out right now, thanks!
 
AMPS - 413 @ 8:00AM

Will Feed FF & Shoot .5 units ---- Shot @ 8:15AM
Ate Very Well --- Always does at breakfast time :smile:

305 @ 10:15AM (+2) Ate 1 tsp FF as treat after test
222 @ 12:15PM (+4) Ate 1 tsp FF as treat after test
 
AMPS - 413 @ 8:00AM

Will Feed FF & Shoot .5 units ---- Shot @ 8:15AM
Ate Very Well --- Always does at breakfast time :smile:

305 @ 10:15AM (+2) Ate 1 tsp FF as treat after test
222 @ 12:15PM (+4) Ate 1 tsp FF as treat after test
301 @ 2:15PM (+6) Ate 1 tsp FF as treat after test
 
AMPS - 413 @ 8:00AM

Will Feed FF & Shoot .5 units ---- Shot @ 8:15AM
Ate Very Well --- Always does at breakfast time :smile:

305 @ 10:15AM (+2) Ate 1 tsp FF as treat after test
222 @ 12:15PM (+4) Ate 1 tsp FF as treat after test
301 @ 2:15PM (+6) Ate 1 tsp FF as treat after test
355 @ 4:15PM (+8) Ate 1 tsp FF as treat after test


What's going on with the "pink-mode" today?? Should I NOT five her any FF treat after tests? Food messing-up BG?
 
It probably means that it is time to start testing a 0.75 unit dose when you'll be home to monitor. I know you don't want to go through the hypo protocol again, and slow, careful increases in the dose should prevent or minimize that from happening while helping you optimize her dose.

Spreading food out in mini meals keeps the glucose more level than bigger meals.
 
BJM said:
It probably means that it is time to start testing a 0.75 unit dose when you'll be home to monitor. I know you don't want to go through the hypo protocol again, and slow, careful increases in the dose should prevent or minimize that from happening while helping you optimize her dose.

Spreading food out in mini meals keeps the glucose more level than bigger meals.


So I could try the 0.75 unit dose tomorrow AM? Assuming her AMPS # is okay.

No hypo again, thank you. But I am prepared with all I need if it happens.
 
Yes, if she is in the 400s again tomorrow morning, I would test out the 0.75 units.

(By the way - I always put the 0 and decimal point in front of the units, to make sure that the decimal point is seen - its a safety thing I picked up in a Dosages and Calculations class)
 
BJM said:
Yes, if she is in the 400s again tomorrow morning, I would test out the 0.75 units.

(By the way - I always put the 0 and decimal point in front of the units, to make sure that the decimal point is seen - its a safety thing I picked up in a Dosages and Calculations class)


Will try 0.75 units in the AM if in 400s.

I am going to see if all goes well that I can shoot at 7:30/7:45 tonight.

Good note on the 0 and decimal point....should be part of a Sticky...not too many of use had 'Dosages and Calculations' classes. :smile:
I had Accounting & Business Administration.....no 'D and C' classes there. :lol:
 
AMPS - 413 @ 8:00AM

Will Feed FF & Shoot .5 units ---- Shot @ 8:15AM
Ate Very Well --- Always does at breakfast time :smile:

305 @ 10:15AM (+2) Ate 1 tsp FF as treat after test
222 @ 12:15PM (+4) Ate 1 tsp FF as treat after test
301 @ 2:15PM (+6) Ate 1 tsp FF as treat after test
355 @ 4:15PM (+8) Ate 1 tsp FF as treat after test
405 @ 6:15PM (+10) Ate 1 tsp FF as treat after test
 
AMPS - 413 @ 8:00AM

Will Feed FF & Shoot .5 units ---- Shot @ 8:15AM
Ate Very Well --- Always does at breakfast time :smile:

305 @ 10:15AM (+2) Ate 1 tsp FF as treat after test
222 @ 12:15PM (+4) Ate 1 tsp FF as treat after test
301 @ 2:15PM (+6) Ate 1 tsp FF as treat after test
355 @ 4:15PM (+8) Ate 1 tsp FF as treat after test
405 @ 6:15PM (+10) Ate 1 tsp FF as treat after test
AMPS 413 @ 7:15PM (+11) Will feed FF + shoot 0.5 units
 
Shot 0.5 @ 7:45PM

Kitty-Tummies are all full...Happy Kittehs...Off to kitteh-dream land.

Will "try" to test before I leave for work.

G'night Everyone...Fur-Mom off to .... hmmmm....conks right out....don't know of any dream-land. :roll: :smile:
 
If you share with your vet that you're testing regularly, and share a copy of your numbers, they may be more receptive to refilling the script without a visit. Mine comes from Walgreens, so there's a script for about a years worth there; ProZinc you pretty much can only get at the vet's office. Some vets like weekly or monthly updates. I actually took my vet to lunch, shared boatloads of info (highlighted), links to various websites, and other things.

We're also in regularly enough with the rest of my gang, that she knows if there's something going on, I'm there. But honestly, having a partnership with your vet is the best possible way to manage FD. They do need to be a part, but likewise, you need to let them know that you're not a passive owner - you ARE the primary care-giver. And ultimately, you hold the needle; you decide what to shoot; you are the responsible one.

Hopefully they'll be receptive. It's often helpful to have your questions for the vet written down - or better yet, e-mail to them in advance, so they can be prepared to respond. And be sure not to step on their toes... we all know that they spent more time in vet school than most of the rest of us!

Good luck!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top