RUMPELTEAZER-3-23-13 AMPS=315

Status
Not open for further replies.

misty1477

Very Active Member
AMPS = 315 @ 7:55AM

Fed FF - Hardly ate any of it (another glitch in the pattern to deal with ) --- No other weird symptoms.




I think her brother (Mungojerrie) is not feeling well. :roll:
Had diarrhea last night + was barfing up white foamy-looking stuff.
Today....Usually runs around like a nut when I come home...Is just curled up on chair in living room...didn't even come to eat.
Please....not another sick kitteh!!!
 
Since she didn't eat hardly anything, I don't know if I should shoot. Was looking around forum....but ohmygod_smile ohmygod_smile ohmygod_smile ohmygod_smile I have to go clean the litter boxes NOW !!! They are cleaned every day.....but....they really stink this morning.....it has permeated my whole 10-room house!!! Making me sick!!!

Be back after LB duty.
 
So sorry her brother is under the weather :sad: :sad: :sad:
Hope it's just something that will pass quickly.

RumpelT should eat something before you shoot. See if she will when you try again.

I'll check back.
 
Remember to look at the spreadsheet - observe the amount of drop at a similar starting point. If you stayed well above 50, it should be safe to shoot.
AND
When you have concerns about eating, you can reduce the dose with an insulin like Prozinc. And sometimes insulin stimulates appetite, too. So you observe the cat.

Note: sometimes a bit of active play will stir up appetite by triggering the behavior cycle of hunt, catch, kill, eat, eliminate, groom, and sleep.
 
donnahc said:
So sorry her brother is under the weather :sad: :sad: :sad:
Hope it's just something that will pass quickly.

RumpelT should eat something before you shoot. See if she will when you try again.

I'll check back.


I have been watching her...not interested in food today. As far as I can tell...she only ate about 1/4 can FF at the most. She has always GOBBLED it down like she didn't eat in a week and then went to mooch out of the other kittehs' bowls!!

Good grief....it is getting late for a shot. If I have to wait 12 hours after she gets one this morning....I am screwed for tonight' schedule. Sorry, if stuff seems to be "all about me"....but I am the one who is responsible for her and I have such a messed-up work schedule. Last night someone asked me to post me schedule. I will put it in a post today.
 
BJM said:
Remember to look at the spreadsheet - observe the amount of drop at a similar starting point. If you stayed well above 50, it should be safe to shoot.
AND
When you have concerns about eating, you can reduce the dose with an insulin like Prozinc. And sometimes insulin stimulates appetite, too. So you observe the cat.

Note: sometimes a bit of active play will stir up appetite by triggering the behavior cycle of hunt, catch, kill, eat, eliminate, groom, and sleep.


I will shoot .25 and test again in an hour. Sound okay?
 
I think you are ok to shoot .25 Misty. We can try to figure out the rest of the day then.
 
by Grayson & Lu » Fri Mar 22, 2013 10:17 pm

Hey Misty.

I initially shot Grayson at 6:30 am/pm - thinking that that was best for my schedule. I still had to wake up in the middle of the night to test. It was very poor quality sleep/rest for me. I've since adjusted to +/- 10 am/pm. I have the luxury of popping home from work at 10 am - takes me about 15 min total as I live close. That way I see his nadir time (+8-+9 on Levemir) both in the morning and after work. You may want to see if tweaking his schedule can help.

One person shot 10/14, others did a sliding scale, a few shot TID. Some found that kitty needed less insulin at night as they would drop significantly more than during the day... they did a varied dose amt. That's the good thing about ProZinc - although it's best at a 12/12 schedule, it allows some level of flexibility. All of these, however, should only be tried after you've got a REALLY good sense of how YOUR kitty responds to the insulin.

Perhaps a time change would be helpful for you?

A time change would be awesome; however, it does not seem like it can happen. My work schedule is on another post today....sometime after this one.

I have no idea when I will be able to try any of your suggestions. It has been almost a month and I still do not have a good sense of how RumpelT responds to the insulin. Everything is so erratic and my work schedule (damn I hate to keep bringing that up) is so messed-up, it seems like this is going to be a very long and bumpy ride until I figure out what works the best.
 
Safety is good.

Better high for a day, than too low for a moment.

Looking at the spreadsheet, a similar starting number a few days ago with 0.25 units given, didn't take her too low.
 
by Carl & Bob » Fri Mar 22, 2013 10:23 pm

Misty,
If you have time tomorrow, can you detail your work schedule for us? I know it's seven days a week, and awful hours (unless you're a vampire, lol). But maybe we can figure out how to make this routine work better for you, and actually allow for some sleep in there somewhere. Obviously, this schedule is not doing you any good, but there's got to be a better way.

Well Everyone.....HERE IT IS::::

Monday + Tuesday + Wednesday + Thursday + Friday + Saturday
Up at 12:30AM - Leave by 1:00AM - Return home anywhere between 7:00AM and 7:45AM ----- Depending on what goes on with work, could be later.

Saturday (For Sunday work) - Up at 10:30PM - Leave nlt 11:00PM - Return home Sunday Morning between 8:30AM and 9:30AM or 10:00AM


I live alone and do not have anyone available at required times to help me. :YMSIGH:

I have been rushing right home after work to deal with RumpelT. I used to stop for gas and/or grocery shop before I came home. Now I come home, deal with the kittehs and then go back out to do errands.

I read the posts about 45 minute naps...I have known about that for a long time. My body does not want to sleep during the day....it will only doze off for 1/2 to 1 hour ONE TIME and that is all.

I used to be in bed Sunday Night through Friday Night no later than 7:00PM....most of the time by 6:30PM.
I used to be in bed on Saturday Night (for Sunday work) no later than 6:15PM.

Please don't think that I am trying to make this "all about me". I know I am responsible for RumpelT and I want to do what is best for her. Actually, she is taking this a zillion percent better than I am...happy + eats + ears bleed real good now (they "do" learn to bleed) + doesn't mind ear pokes now + sleeps + etc. I am the one that looks and feels like sh**.

I can't seem to get anything accomplished during the day....Anyone want to come to PA and help clean a 10-room house ???? :lol:
 
AMPS = 315 @ 7:55AM

Fed FF - Hardly ate any of it (another glitch in the pattern to deal with ) --- No other weird symptoms.

.25u @ 9:10AM

269 @ 10:10AM (+1) Did not eat FF treat after test. Seems to want a lot of attention from me today.
 
So far so good Misty. Would like to see you get a little more food into her if she'll eat. Maybe a bit later she will be hungry.
 
donnahc said:
So far so good Misty. Would like to see you get a little more food into her if she'll eat. Maybe a bit later she will be hungry.


Hope so. Don't want to have to throw out what was not eaten this morning. Thank god for those plastic containers with lids!!! Only wish I could toss them in the dishwasher...I am 'doing dishes' by hand twice a day now ?!?!?!?
 
Misty,
Do you think you might be able to fall asleep by 6pm? The reason I ask is that I think you might be able to go with a schedule of shots of noon and midnight.

It would mean getting up at a few minutes before midnight to test and feed, shoot at midnight. Then you can run errands if needed on the way home like you used to do.

To me, it looks like Rumple normally hits nadir before the six hour mark. If you shot at noon, you could go to bed by five or six hours after her shot, and not need to test and feed for six hours. This would also let you get an occasional test during the latter part of the "midnight till noon cycle, like a +8 or +10 in the morning. Not critical, but nice to know once in a while. It also wouldn't make your life all about the kitty right after you get home from work.

The only issue would be the Saturday night shot, but that's only one shot a week you'd have to work around.

Personally, with Prozinc, I don't think an hour or two either way is a deal breaker. You can adjust dosage around that. If you shoot early, you can shoot a little less for that one time if the numbers tell you that you need to do so.
 
AMPS = 315 @ 7:55AM

Fed FF - Hardly ate any of it (another glitch in the pattern to deal with ) --- No other weird symptoms.

.25u @ 9:10AM

269 @ 10:10AM (+1) Did not eat FF treat after test. Seems to want a lot of attention from me today.
299 @ 1:10PM (+4) Ate 1tsp FF as treat
 
Carl & Bob said:
Misty,
Do you think you might be able to fall asleep by 6pm? The reason I ask is that I think you might be able to go with a schedule of shots of noon and midnight. Although a noon and midnight schedule sounds good in theory, it would be a little tough. I would have get ALL of the kittehs on a feeding schedule that is way out of their norm. When I walk in the door from work....food is "expected" :lol:

It would mean getting up at a few minutes before midnight to test and feed, shoot at midnight. Then you can run errands if needed on the way home like you used to do. I can run errands like I have been doing lately...it is a pain to have to 'go back out', but I can deal with it.

To me, it looks like Rumple normally hits nadir before the six hour mark. If you shot at noon, you could go to bed by five or six hours after her shot, and not need to test and feed for six hours. This would also let you get an occasional test during the latter part of the "midnight till noon cycle, like a +8 or +10 in the morning. Not critical, but nice to know once in a while. It also wouldn't make your life all about the kitty right after you get home from work. Like I noted above, they ALL expect to be fed as soon as I walk in the door....they always did. It would be a funny video to see the gang in action at that time :lol:

The only issue would be the Saturday night shot, but that's only one shot a week you'd have to work around. This shot will always be one to work around :roll: I already have my daughter set-up to call me at 10:45PM tonight to make sure I am up....nice to have a day job with weekends off so you can stay up late and watch tv/go out to eat/enjoy company with friends/etc. :YMSIGH:

Personally, with Prozinc, I don't think an hour or two either way is a deal breaker. You can adjust dosage around that. If you shoot early, you can shoot a little less for that one time if the numbers tell you that you need to do so. I did not know this....I was under the impression that it HAD TO BE 12 hours apart. If this is possible....and I can be confident enough about if I should/how much I should shoot....I believe I could work with 7:30-7:30 or 7:45-7:45 schedule. Then even if I happen to get home a half-hour or hour late from work, I can adjust her dose if needed. Is this a correct assumption? The midnight test/feed/shot thing has me a little leary....if I happen to oversleep or her number is not good at that time, I will lose time I might need to retest and deal with any hypo issues if they would occur. Sorry if I am being a pain in your butt....but, rest assured I really appreciate your (and everyone elses) thoughts and suggestions. Let me know what you think....thanks soooo much. :smile:
 
Prozinc is more flexible than depot insulins like Lantus and Levemir. So, if it is needed you can
1) change the dosing at pre-shot based on the glucose level and your observations of how things work for the cat
2) change the timing to be other than every 12 hours.

And sometimes both. We start at 12 because it helps establish a routine and helps you learn how the insulin works in your cat.

During the day, cats tend to be more active and eat more; it would make sense to have a higher dose then.

During the night, cats tend to be less active and to eat less; it would make sense to have a lower dose then.
 
I know we have had kitties here on this board that have done 10/14 and 11/13 schedules with ProZync. Also TID dosing which is 3 times a day. I have never done it myself so have no experience with it.
 
BJM said:
Prozinc is more flexible than depot insulins like Lantus and Levemir. So, if it is needed you can
1) change the dosing at pre-shot based on the glucose level and your observations of how things work for the cat
2) change the timing to be other than every 12 hours.

And sometimes both. We start at 12 because it helps establish a routine and helps you learn how the insulin works in your cat.

During the day, cats tend to be more active and eat more; it would make sense to have a higher dose then.

During the night, cats tend to be less active and to eat less; it would make sense to have a lower dose then.


Interesting. So I could try the 7:30-7:30 or 7:45-7:45 schedule and not worry my crazy head off if I am running late.

I have to giggle about your last 2 sentences....my kittehs are major "sleepy-heads". They eat-sleep-eat-sleep.... amazing none of them are obese! Will play around a little in the evening. Hmmmm...maybe such lazy-bones because they are all older cats.
 
AMPS = 315 @ 7:55AM

Fed FF - Hardly ate any of it (another glitch in the pattern to deal with ) --- No other weird symptoms.

.25u @ 9:10AM

269 @ 10:10AM (+1) Did not eat FF treat after test. Seems to want a lot of attention from me today.
299 @ 1:10PM (+4) Ate 1tsp FF as treat
344 @ 4:10PM (+7) Ate 1tsp FF as treat
 
Will check number @ 7:30PM or 8:00PM to see how she is. Maybe I will be able to do everything earlier tonight so I can get sleep. I could leave her some FF out before I leave.
 
Looks like the shot this morning didn't make much of an impression on her. But no worries, as any data is useful data.

I did not know this....I was under the impression that it HAD TO BE 12 hours apart.
Bob was on pzi for ten weeks. I can count the number of times he got his shots exactly 12 hours apart on one hand. My schedule was as difficult as yours - My shift changed every week, and so did my days off:-) Like most people, I just worked with what I had and tried my best. prozinc is pretty flexible.
 
This morning's dose was only 0.25ish units because RumpelT wasn't eating much.

I suspect that planning to do tonights insulin @ 7:30 would be fine.
 
It does look like she got back some appetite when you gave her snacks?
 
BJM said:
This morning's dose was only 0.25ish units because RumpelT wasn't eating much.

I suspect that planning to do tonights insulin @ 7:30 would be fine.

Oh....BJM.....That will be awesome.....thank you.
I can't wait until I am confident on the whens/how-much/etc. ..... I must be driving all of you crazy.
 
Carl & Bob said:
Looks like the shot this morning didn't make much of an impression on her. But no worries, as any data is useful data.

I did not know this....I was under the impression that it HAD TO BE 12 hours apart.
Bob was on pzi for ten weeks. I can count the number of times he got his shots exactly 12 hours apart on one hand. My schedule was as difficult as yours - My shift changed every week, and so did my days off:-) Like most people, I just worked with what I had and tried my best. prozinc is pretty flexible.


Makes me feel more at ease knowing that ProZinc is 'flexible'. Not knowing that was what was making me crazy I think. Hmmmm....vet never mentioned that + the ProZinc website is kind of useless when it comes to info.

I know this is a stupid "wondering" thought.....but.....I wonder how long before she is on some kind of regular consistent dose. I know EIC + my work schedule. I guess I should stop wondering. ;-)
 
AMPS = 315 @ 7:55AM

Fed FF - Hardly ate any of it (another glitch in the pattern to deal with ) --- No other weird symptoms.

.25u @ 9:10AM

269 @ 10:10AM (+1) Did not eat FF treat after test. Seems to want a lot of attention from me today.
299 @ 1:10PM (+4) Ate 1tsp FF as treat
344 @ 4:10PM (+7) Ate 1tsp FF as treat
435 @ 7:10PM (+10)
PMPS = 379 @ 7:40PM

Will feed & shoot .25 u now.

Will try to test again before I leave for work. Will leave 1/4 can out too. I have to get to bed by 8:00 so I hopefully can do this.
 
Misty,
Since her number has climbed this early, you would be okay giving a shot early tonight. .25 or .5 I think either would be ok based on the data you've collected so far. If you would rather be cautious, since you'll be at work all night, then .25 is fine, I think.
 
Just saw your update... I would go with the .25 and feeding:-) And try to get some sleep.
 
Carl & Bob said:
Misty,
Since her number has climbed this early, you would be okay giving a shot early tonight. .25 or .5 I think either would be ok based on the data you've collected so far. If you would rather be cautious, since you'll be at work all night, then .25 is fine, I think.


Thanks...I am doing .25

Tomorrow is another day of fun & games :roll: :smile:
 
I know this is a stupid "wondering" thought.....but.....I wonder how long before she is on some kind of regular consistent dose. I know EIC + my work schedule. I guess I should stop wondering
.

I've been here almost two years and I have never stopped wondering ;-)

But this is why you are doing all this testing and keeping it all on the spreadsheet. Each day you are seeing how much a certain dose can do on a given preshot number. From that history, you'll have an idea what dose makes sense. It might not be the same amount day and night. I adjusted Bob's dose based on his numbers a lot. It's just a matter of keeping good records and seeing what has worked.

Right now, it seems that some days, .25u is good, and other days the .5u seems to work good. Someplace, there's a "line in the sand" that you'll feel like "if higher than this number, I shoot .5, but if lower that that, I shoot .25u. And if too low, I don't shoot at all.
 
You're doing fine.

You're getting lots of data that will start to show patterns. Sometimes when I look at a spreadsheet, I zoom out so all I see is the color patterns. As the data accrues, you start to get an overall perspective of how its going.
 
I'll chime in too. I always had 1 night a week that I had to shoot an hour late but by adjusting the dose it didn't really throw things off.

Don't worry, you'll get the hang of this, it just takes time.
 
I have always had time adjustments here and there with no problems, sometimes an hour early/hour late. I've been in traffic jams or having to stop for cat food or new supply of test strips, after an unavoidable late work day, and just shot when I got home, and tried to make up the adjustment in the next shot.
 
.25u @ 9:10AM

269 @ 10:10AM (+1) Did not eat FF treat after test. Seems to want a lot of attention from me today.
299 @ 1:10PM (+4) Ate 1tsp FF as treat
344 @ 4:10PM (+7) Ate 1tsp FF as treat
435 @ 7:10PM (+10)
PMPS = 379 @ 7:40PM

Will feed & shoot .25 u now.

293 @ 10:55PM Before I left for work.
Ate 2 tsp FF
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top