RUMPELTEAZER-3-22-13 - AMPS=443

Status
Not open for further replies.
donnahc said:
So are you going to shoot insulin again this morning?

I guess I should. I apologize....BUT....I am sooooo damn confused with this.

I will give her .25 I guess. At this point I don't know what the heck to give her. Sorry if I sound angry. I am just at my wits end....I look at her SS and read post from days past and I feel like a total confused idiot and do not know what to do.
 
Damn it..... Gave .50 instead of .25

I have to run errands sometime today. Will wait to see what happens before I go.

:YMSIGH: confused_cat :roll:
 
What, exactly are you confused about?

The objective is a dose that may be safely given every 12 hours
AND
Doesn't take the cat below 50 on a human glucometer
AND
Keeps the glucose as low as possible.

You know what to do if she gets below 50 and you're prepared to handle it.
You know that you want to shoot a rising number in the morning, when food hasn't been given.

Its an ongoing experiment to find what works for your cat and no one has a crystal ball. We're making guesses based on our experiences and reading.

You have some data on effects of shot amounts at various starting points and the results of that during daytime hours. It shows that during the day, 0.25 doesn't take her down below 50. So shooting 0.5 might do that. That is today's experiment.
 
Yes definitely test then if you shot more. I would say test at +1.5 or 2 for sure then we can figure out how much thereafter. Make sure you have higher carb food around in case you have to bring up lower numbers. I have to go help my Mom today but I'll be checking in on my phone.
 
BJM said:
What, exactly are you confused about?

The objective is a dose that may be safely given every 12 hours
AND
Doesn't take the cat below 50 on a human glucometer
AND
Keeps the glucose as low as possible.

You know what to do if she gets below 50 and you're prepared to handle it.
You know that you want to shoot a rising number in the morning, when food hasn't been given.

Its an ongoing experiment to find what works for your cat and no one has a crystal ball. We're making guesses based on our experiences and reading.

You have some data on effects of shot amounts at various starting points and the results of that during daytime hours. It shows that during the day, 0.25 doesn't take her down below 50. So shooting 0.5 might do that. That is today's experiment.


BJM....sorry I sound so cranky today.

I understand what you are saying. I guess I am feeling a tad impatient....I know I shouldn't feel like that....I know this takes time.

Your last 'paragraph' indicates that maybe I did a good thing by screwing-up and giving the 0.5 dose. I will test her again @ +1.5 which will be 9:45AM.
 
That's a good number. You mentioned errands? How long would you be away?
 
Carl & Bob said:
That's a good number. You mentioned errands? How long would you be away?

About 2 hours .... if I run my butt off .... which I usually do anyway. If I leave by 10:15 or 10:30, I should be back no later than 12:30.
 
Ok, then give her a tsp of food on your way out the door, and just test her when you return. And drive carefully!
 
Looking over the past 7 days, when she started in the
400s, a dose of 0.25 did not bring her any lower than 171
300s, a dose of 0.25 did not bring her any lower than 185

That gives you over 100 points that you can go lower, during the day, when you are feeding.
 
Carl & Bob said:
Ok, then give her a tsp of food on your way out the door, and just test her when you return. And drive carefully!

Will do.

Have to go to Walmart for more strips + store for more FF. I hate driving during the day...too many idiots on the road. My driving is all done during overnight hours....only have to watch out for our "4-legged" friends....and at least most of the time, they 'actually' look before going on the road. :smile:
 
The bight side to this is that you won't be dealing with the 3am Walmart crowd, which can be pretty scary :lol:
 
Carl & Bob said:
The bight side to this is that you won't be dealing with the 3am Walmart crowd, which can be pretty scary :lol:


Thank You for the chuckle. I really needed one today. :-D :lol: :lol:
 
Try answering crisis line phone calls @ 3 am! (A former life!) Careful - "they" are watching you!
 
AMPS = 443 @ 7:30AM

Fed FF
Shot .5 unit @ 8:15AM

323 @ 9:45AM (+1.5)
Ate 1tsp FF @ 10:20AM I ran errands.
172 @ 12:50PM (+5.5 ???) Ate 1tsp FF after test
 
BJM said:
Try answering crisis line phone calls @ 3 am! (A former life!) Careful - "they" are watching you!

What's the number....in case I need it? :lol: "They"??? Who they?? Just let "they" watch me !!! I won't even go there on that note. :lol: :lol:


misty1477 said:
Carl & Bob said:
Ok, then give her a tsp of food on your way out the door, and just test her when you return. And drive carefully!

Will do.

Have to go to Walmart for more strips + store for more FF. I hate driving during the day...too many idiots on the road. My driving is all done during overnight hours....only have to watch out for our "4-legged" friends....and at least most of the time, they 'actually' look before going on the road. :smile:

I know we are OT here...but...anyhooo...first stop was the bank. I am at a complete stop at the red light. BUUMMPP!!!! WTF!!! Idiot lady hits the back of my vehicle. I get out...she gets out. She says "It was my (meaning 'her) fault." No sh** lady....you hit me!!! DUHHH. Good thing my CRV has the spare tire on the back..she bumped that...no damage...YAY !! She had some dirty-looking scrapes on her front bumper....oh well!!!.

Then.....idiot driver does not know what "yield" means when trying to enter the highway....I had to "floor" my car to get out of the way. Yeah..55 to 75 in less than 10 seconds!!!.

Soooo...happy to be home. :-D
 
BJM said:
Nice blue, with lots of cushion.


flip_cat

Test again at 4:00PM with 1 tsp FF after?

Maybe .50 is good dose?

Vet appt. on Tuesday....I feel like cancelling it....vet will freak-out if she finds out what I have been doing. :roll:
 
AMPS = 443 @ 7:30AM

Fed FF
Shot .5 unit @ 8:15AM

323 @ 9:45AM (+1.5)
Ate 1tsp FF @ 10:20AM I ran errands.
172 @ 12:50PM (+5.5 ???) Ate 1tsp FF after test
261 @ 4:00PM (+9) Ate 1 tsp FF after test
 
If the vet visit is to run a curve, save your money. You can do a curve yourself, and have been.
If it is to collect a fructosamine, save your money. The fructosamine is an average and you've got daily data, so there's no point.
 
I agree with BJ. You can do those things on your own. Your vet should be a partner in your cat's care, you deal with FD 24-7.

You are doing a great job Misty. I think you are learning a lot and it WILL all get easier as time goes on. Honest. I freaked out at the beginning too.
 
BJM said:
If the vet visit is to run a curve, save your money. You can do a curve yourself, and have been.
If it is to collect a fructosamine, save your money. The fructosamine is an average and you've got daily data, so there's no point.


donnahc said:
I agree with BJ. You can do those things on your own. Your vet should be a partner in your cat's care, you deal with FD 24-7.

You are doing a great job Misty. I think you are learning a lot and it WILL all get easier as time goes on. Honest. I freaked out at the beginning too.


Thanks for your reassurance. :-D

I am sure that vet visit is to run a curve. I can cancel appointment by "truthfully" saying that it is not in the budget this week. I will have to be getting my own meds next week.....$$$$$$..... :sad: :sad: :roll:

Since her shot was @ 8:15AM and by looking at her SS, would a PMPS be good @ 7:15 and then food + another .5 shot? Maybe I should wait until PMPS @ 7:15 and see what numbers are first. Hmmmmmm....decisions....decisions. :YMSIGH:
 
If you can swing it, the amps and pmps should be 12 hours apart.

I always test, feed, then shoot within about a 15 minute period. You want to test on an "empty" stomach so you get a true reading, not one tainted by food.
Then you feed and make sure no one throws up :roll: :lol: because you want food on board when you shoot. Then you know you can shoot insulin safely.
 
I just tested her @ 7:15PM 327

I guess I can wait until 8:15. I wish we could do this stuff 8 or 10 hours apart. I am finding this 12-hour-apart very hard to adjust to....work/sleep schedule is awful. Looks like another 3-1/2 hour sleep night for fur-mom. ohmygod_smile ----- tomorrow night will only be 2-1/2 hours sleep......I HATE MY JOB !!!
 
I can only imagine how tough this is with your schedule Misty. You have to take care of you too. So if you have to do shots a little off the 12 hour schedule, it can probably be worked out somehow. If you shoot early, really it is a dose increase. If you shoot late, it is a dose decrease.

I found with us, consistency was what worked. I feed the exact thing every day. I try to hold doses for as long as I can as long as everything is working well. I try real hard to shoot exactly 12 hours apart.
That is what worked for us, but every cat is different.

BUT...Life happens. Sometimes I get home late. Sometimes things get screwed up. But if I am consistent I get more consistently good numbers. So we all have to try our best. And if you don't take care of you, you can't take such good care of your kitties. It's a balancing act.
 
If you are careful, it is possible to shoot other than 12 hours apart with Prozinc.

Because you don't feed (much) overnight when away, that could be the slightly shorter interval, say 11 hours and with a slightly reduced dose (right now, 0.25), while during the day would be the slightly longer interval with the slightly increased dose (right now, 0.5) to cover the extra feeding during the day. You'll need to see how it works by watching the overall pattern of dose & response.

A note on naps: for a nap to feel restful, it should be a multiple of 45 minutes, or about the time for a sleep cycle. Trying to wake up at a time not a multiple of 45 minutes is usually more difficult and less refreshing. So a nap of 45 min, 1.5 hr, 2.25 hr, or 3 hr should work. (I have a sleep disorder, so I researched this!)
 
After reading that some time ago, I tried the 45 minute nap schedule, and it worked for me too (thanks BJ)!

The .5 dose seems to be good on a preshot like this morning's number, yes. I don't know if it would be okay on a 350 or a 300, but today it did great.
 
AMPS = 443 @ 7:30AM

Fed FF
Shot .5 unit @ 8:15AM

323 @ 9:45AM (+1.5)
Ate 1tsp FF @ 10:20AM I ran errands.
172 @ 12:50PM (+5.5 ???) Ate 1tsp FF after test
261 @ 4:00PM (+9) Ate 1 tsp FF after test
327 @ 7:15PM (+11)
291 @ 8:15PM (+12) PMPS

Fed FF
 
What do you think? Number wasn't rising. Could be called "flat" since the +9.
 
BJM said:
The objective is a dose that may be safely given every 12 hours
AND
Doesn't take the cat below 50 on a human glucometer
AND
Keeps the glucose as low as possible.

You know what to do if she gets below 50 and you're prepared to handle it.
You know that you want to shoot a rising number in the morning, when food hasn't been given.

Its an ongoing experiment to find what works for your cat and no one has a crystal ball. We're making guesses based on our experiences and reading.

You have some data on effects of shot amounts at various starting points and the results of that during daytime hours. It shows that during the day, 0.25 doesn't take her down below 50. So shooting 0.5 might do that. That is today's experiment.


BJ...

Shooting 0.5 didn't take her down below 50 today...good ..... yes?
Seemed like she had good numbers today ... I think .... but at PMPS she dropped down? confused_cat Wait...numbers still okay because of the 20% thing....Right?
 
donnahc said:
Sounds good Misty. You're gonna leave food out when you go to work, right?

Yes...I can leave her .... half a can/whole can/tsp ???? I will probably have to feed all of them again...because they will all come into the kitchen and want some.
 
I only have one other cat I have to "treat" like the diabetic, can't imagine your whole gang misty :shock: :lol:

I would say a half can out that she could get to. What does BJ and Carl think?

I just assumed she did shoot Carl. Is that the case Misty?
 
Well I think your choices are .5 or .25. :-D
What are you thinking? .25 since you will be at work?

And leave some fud out?
 
No, no problem, I wasn't sure if you were waiting for input or what.

If you can...
Feed her on the way out the door,
I think you could consider .25u, but nothing higher than that.

After you wake, but before you leave, can you get a quick test?
 
Carl & Bob said:
No, no problem, I wasn't sure if you were waiting for input or what.

If you can...
Feed her on the way out the door,
I think you could consider .25u, but nothing higher than that.

After you wake, but before you leave, can you get a quick test?

I will shoot .25u now.

I will have to make sure I get up earlier to test her and then feed everyone....they will all want food if they know more is around.

I just hope I get a good number at that test because I will have to leave for work.

This is definitely NOT going to work tomorrow night.....I work from 11:00PM Saturday until about 8:30AM Sunday .

Be back in a bit....gotta go give shot and wash food bowls.
 
Sounds good Misty. Think about what you need sleep-wise for you and when you need to shoot for that tomorrow. I am sure we can come up with a plan for you.
Remember the taking care of you part too :-D
 
This is definitely NOT going to work tomorrow night.....I work from 11:00PM Saturday until about 8:30AM Sunday
Tomorrow night is a lifetime from now. We'll help you figure that out tomorrow ;-)

And if I remember correctly, your out-the-door time is like 1am? I'll be around then. I can sleep in tomorrow. For the first time in ten days, I won't be setting my alarm clock :-D
 
donnahc said:
Sounds good Misty. Think about what you need sleep-wise for you and when you need to shoot for that tomorrow. I am sure we can come up with a plan for you.
Remember the taking care of you part too :-D

Before all of this FD stuff, I would be in bed no later than 7:00PM ... most of the time by 6:30.


Carl & Bob said:
This is definitely NOT going to work tomorrow night.....I work from 11:00PM Saturday until about 8:30AM Sunday
Tomorrow night is a lifetime from now. We'll help you figure that out tomorrow ;-)

And if I remember correctly, your out-the-door time is like 1am? I'll be around then. I can sleep in tomorrow. For the first time in ten days, I won't be setting my alarm clock :-D

Do you want me to test/feed/maybe shoot and post here before I go to work later?

I am scaring my kittehs....they know I am getting upset. :sad: :cry:
 
You have already shot the .25 right?

Later, you can test and post the number, and feed at that time as well.
 
Carl & Bob said:
You have already shot the .25 right?

Later, you can test and post the number, and feed at that time as well.


Yes I did shoot .25

I hope I get up in time to do the stuff before I have to leave. If there isn't a post, that means I overslept and couldn't do it. :YMSIGH:

G'night for now. I gotta get to bed.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top