RUMPELTEAZER - 3-15-13

Status
Not open for further replies.
Not a bad number at all, after 24 hours since the last shot and with all the mess yesterday.

It is hard to know since we are in new territory after her hypo. Some kitties are more sensitive to the insulin afterwards. If you can monitor, I think you can dose one unit. But you would want to get a 2-3 and +6. If that makes you nervous, you could give .5 it may not be enough to keep her numbers in the range you'd like, but you can always increase tonight. It is a little like the first few shots; we can't be sure how she will react.

It boils down to what you are comfortable with. After yesterday, you know what to do if she ever dips low again. But I understand if you are a little gun shy.
 
Sue and Oliver (GA) said:
Not a bad number at all, after 24 hours since the last shot and with all the mess yesterday.

It is hard to know since we are in new territory after her hypo. Some kitties are more sensitive to the insulin afterwards. If you can monitor, I think you can dose one unit. But you would want to get a 2-3 and +6. If that makes you nervous, you could give .5 it may not be enough to keep her numbers in the range you'd like, but you can always increase tonight. It is a little like the first few shots; we can't be sure how she will react.

It boils down to what you are comfortable with. After yesterday, you know what to do if she ever dips low again. But I understand if you are a little gun shy.

She is running around like everyone else waiting for food. :smile:

I will be able to test during the day...so I think I will go with 1 unit.

Now she is all off the shot-schedule I am trying to get her on again. Oh well....minimal sleep for fur-mom again....but sacrifices are needed for the ones we love. :smile:

I will be going for more FF tomorrow .... I will check around here for a recommended 'treat' for her for after tests. Any you particularly prefer? I'll need to buy enough for the rest of the gang too. :lol:
 
Oliver loved Bonito flakes - freeze dried fish. Niko hates them. Niko likes PureBites; they come in several flavors. Both are carb free and should be at PetSmart.

I'll be around today and will watch for your numbers.
 
Thanks Sue.

She ate almost 2 cans of FF ;-)

I will post during the day.

Have to do some stuff around the house today....fish tank cleaner than my house !!! :lol: :lol: :roll:
 
If you go with 1 unit, you may wind up lowering it tonight. Why? With 1 unit, you may be "shooting through the bounce", ie keeping with a dose for 1 shot after a hypo incident to control the resulting high glucose level. Tonight, be very cautious; going down so low during a hypo/ low numbers incident generally earns a dose reduction of 0.25 units.
 
BJM said:
If you go with 1 unit, you may wind up lowering it tonight. Why? With 1 unit, you may be "shooting through the bounce", ie keeping with a dose for 1 shot after a hypo incident to control the resulting high glucose level. Tonight, be very cautious; going down so low during a hypo/ low numbers incident generally earns a dose reduction of 0.25 units.

I will be testing today @ +2 +3 +6 . She did not get a shot at all last night. I will be very careful....and will post results during the day.
 
BTW....I just remembered something else the vet said yesterday. She said that human meters may not be reliable (Hmmmm...hello!!! Humans rely on them!?!?!?) She indicated that she is more interested-in/prefers to know what "clinical signs" are (how she acts during the day/etc.) I guess that is more like the protocol she uses.

Just a little humor here.....The new box of ReliOn Lancets now has 5 different color lancets. Hmmmm...I wonder what color Rumpelteazer will like the best. :lol:
 
Oh, damn. Try the higher carb food first - just a little - and retest in 15 minutes.

I am sorry, Misty. I did not dream she would drop low again.
 
You now know the drill:

Every 15 minutes, test until up around 70; then test every 30 minutes

Rub syrup on the gums; if unconscious, an oral syringe may be used to give it rectally

high carb food in 1-2 teaspoon amounts every test
- mixed syrup and food may be given with oral syringe if not eaten.
 
Looks like the breakfast food may be starting to kick in with the 75.

329 ~AMPS (7:30 AM), 1.00 unit @ 8:20 AM

35 ~ +3 (10:20AM)
75 ~ +3.5 (11:07AM)
 
I have been using a new box of test strips since this hoopla began. They match meter as F-3. I still have a few of the F-4's left...so I tried to get a reading from one of those. Couldn't get one....she is not liking me poking so much at all. I wanted to see if the F-3 strips were a possible cause of the stupid numbers the last couple days.
 
That's good. Agree with BJ - probably a food spike. Maybe give it 20 minutes and retest. The food should last a little while, but we can probably expect it to go down again as it wears off, so you could then feed her a little more.
 
If you are concerned about the test strips, test yourself and let us know what you get.
 
Sue and Oliver (GA) said:
Did you use the new strips for today's amps? It wasn't low, which I would expect it to be if the strips were reading low.

I have been using the new strips since the 12th or 13th of March. If it was the 12th....used F-4's at AMPS....then switched to F-3's for my tests after I picked her up from vet. If it was the 13th....started with the F-3's and have been using them since.
 
BJM said:
If you are concerned about the test strips, test yourself and let us know what you get.


I tested myself..... 130. I have no clue as to what 'my' normal would be. confused_cat
 
I would say they are fine then. They aren't giving you all low or high numbers. But as BJ suggested, try them on yourself. You want to be in the 100s.
 
misty1477 said:
...I tested myself..... 130. ...

When did you last eat? 130 for a fasting number would be on the high side.
Over 140 non-fasting and you should talk with your doc. (I'm an epidemiologist)
 
Sue and Oliver (GA) said:
She is a little stressed out, BJ and probably had a lot of coffee this am?

Yup, stress will raise glucose levels in humans, too.
 
BJM said:
misty1477 said:
...I tested myself..... 130. ...

When did you last eat? 130 for a fasting number would be on the high side.
Over 140 non-fasting and you should talk with your doc. (I'm an epidemiologist)

Had bowl of cereal at about 9:15 or 9:30.

Tried to use the 'last' F-4 on myself....would not pull any blood at all. My finger is bleeding like crazy....wish 'ears' worked that good. :smile:

Sorry for the delay between posts.....my wireless mouse is going to say "see ya....better buy a new one" to me soon. I have to use the mouse pad on my laptop....I hate those things!!!
 
For a non-fasting glucose on a human, you're OK. A little more protein for breakfast, perhaps ;-)

Re-test Rumpelteazer?

I've got to pop out for about 1.25 hours for a lunch thing, but I'll be back.

Check at 30 minute intervals. I think you can offer low carb food in 1-2 teaspoon amounts to keep the glucose from dropping at this point.
 
AM shot was at 8:20

So Noon would be in +4 range.

Will test her again now ... feed her 2 teaspoons of FF & then test again at 1:00
 
Looking good, Misty. She has had 2 rising tests; we'd like to see three. And you can't relax completely until you pass that +6 mark. So I would test again in 30 minutes to make sure she gets that 3rd rising number and then maybe a couple hours after that.

I do wonder about your amps. I wonder if it was a bad test and she was really lower than that. (Sometimes it is off because of too much or too little blood) But I didn't think about it since it was about what we would expect after 24 hours without insulin. But the drop at +2 (almost 300 points) was very unusual.

Regardless, you have done great. (It is easier the second time, don't you think?) and she is in much better numbers sooner than she was yesterday.
 
Sue and Oliver (GA) said:
Looking good, Misty. She has had 2 rising tests; we'd like to see three. And you can't relax completely until you pass that +6 mark. So I would test again in 30 minutes to make sure she gets that 3rd rising number and then maybe a couple hours after that.

I do wonder about your amps. I wonder if it was a bad test and she was really lower than that. (Sometimes it is off because of too much or too little blood) But I didn't think about it since it was about what we would expect after 24 hours without insulin. But the drop at +2 (almost 300 points) was very unusual.

Regardless, you have done great. (It is easier the second time, don't you think?) and she is in much better numbers sooner than she was yesterday.


I will test her again at 1:00PM ... that would be 30 minutes since last test/little FF. Jeepers Cats....THAT is NOW !!!

Seems like I have had quite a few posts yesterday & now today about her drops/etc being "unusual". <<<<Banging hand against head>>>>

It is easier I guess...I understand a bit more....but I only wish is that she will straighten out soon. Don't take this wrong....but....my world is in a shambles since all of this started...important things that must be done are not being done/overslept for work again/cats missed monthly flea treatment/bills not paid/work paperwork not taken care of...I will stop now....don't want to take up 10 pages. :YMSIGH:
 
I'm back; looking good, certainly better than yesterday's wild ride!

I notice that you shot almost an hour later than the pre-test. To check for rising numbers you need to test at +11.5 AND at pre-shot. Then look to see if the numbers rose, fell, or are about the same.
When did you feed?

329 ~ AMPS (7:30 AM)
1.00 unit (8:20 AM)
35 ~ +2 (10:20AM)
75 ~ +2.5 (11:07AM)
85 ~ +3.5 (12:00PM)
126 ~ +4.5 (12:35PM)
 
Well, if it is any consolation, we will probably suggest you hold off giving any insulin for awhile. Maybe a few tests tomorrow so she doesn't sneak up and get high. Sometimes - but not always - a bout with low numbers throws them into normal numbers without insulin. We'll hope for that outcome.
 
So that's +5? Holding pretty steady (all meters have a 20% variance so the last two numbers are basically the same) It's up to you. You can wait till +6 and get a number or test again in 30 minutes. I think she will be okay, but I am doubting myself after my advice this am.
 
BJM said:
I'm back; looking good, certainly better than yesterday's wild ride!

I notice that you shot almost an hour later than the pre-test. To check for rising numbers you need to test at +11.5 AND at pre-shot. Then look to see if the numbers rose, fell, or are about the same.
When did you feed?

329 ~ AMPS (7:30 AM)
1.00 unit (8:20 AM)
35 ~ +2 (10:20AM)
75 ~ +2.5 (11:07AM)
85 ~ +3.5 (12:00PM)
126 ~ +4.5 (12:35PM)

I HATE THIS DAMN LAPTOP MOUSE>>>>WANT MY WIRELESS BACK !!

I did AMPS @ 7:30AM .... posted here....waited for response as what to do.

So by you saying "To check for rising numbers you need to test at 11.5 and at preshot" .... Oh God help me .... what time do I test & maybe shoot at the end of today? When should I test her next?

I am so sorry...but...today is not going well for "me". Rumpelteazer is taking the day in stride...no problem.
 
329 ~AMPS (7:30 AM)

1.00 unit @ 8:20 AM

35 ~ +2 (10:20 AM)
75 ~ +3 (11:07 AM)
85 ~ +4 (12:00 PM)
126 ~ +4.5 (12:35 PM)
117 ~ +5 (1:09 PM)

Maybe get another test at +6

Only leave out low carb food at this point, unless she starts dropping again.

This evening, test at 7:30 and 8:00; determine if rising/falling/level
Post question for dose help and feed while waiting for response.

And decide then about a shot.
Definitely, if she is in the 300s, 1 unit is too much, so no more than 0.5, and to be really cautious after this 2nd hypo, 0.25 would be safer.

Between 200 and 300 - will you be home to monitor? if not, don't shoot. If yes, you could eyeball 0.25 units and maybe even squeeze out some drops first.

If she is under 200, NO insulin.

Are you using U-100 syringes or U-40? Its possible to make a reference gauge for the U-40's to help consistancy in measuring the dose.
 
I did AMPS @ 7:30AM .... posted here....waited for response as what to do.

So by you saying "To check for rising numbers you need to test at 11.5 and at preshot" .... Oh God help me .... what time do I test & maybe shoot at the end of today? When should I test her next?

I think you can put the meter down for now. Test her at 7pm which would be 30 minutes before her PM shot. Test again at 7:30 PM. That will tell you if her PMPS (the 7:30 test) is a rising number or not. That's important because you don't want to give insulin on a number that you know is a falling number. That probably wouldn't happen, but it's a good safety tip.

You don't want her to eat between +10 and her PMPS test so that you know that food isn't influencing her numbers. Sort of a "fasting BG" is what you want.

There's a chance that you won't be giving a shot tonight. That depends on the numbers you get.

Carl
 
BJM said:
Only leave out low carb food at this point, unless she starts dropping again.

All she gets to eat is FF...that is low carb, correct?

Do you mean let her 'free-feed' for the rest of today?

These test times are so messed up today....what "times" should I test her?

Sorry guys...I am very stressed today....and I do not drink coffee ..... :lol: Actually....I wish I had an alcoholic beverage right now. :roll: :-D
 
YIKES.....our posts are overlapping now. I will try to figure out what to do.

I use the ProZinc needles. The U"40" ones.
 
misty1477 said:
BJM said:
Only leave out low carb food at this point, unless she starts dropping again.
All she gets to eat is FF...that is low carb, correct?
Do you mean let her 'free-feed' for the rest of today?
These test times are so messed up today....what "times" should I test her?
Sorry guys...I am very stressed today....and I do not drink coffee ..... :lol: Actually....I wish I had an alcoholic beverage right now. :roll: :-D

Its OK. You've been through the wringer

Any of the classic Fancy Feast are low carb.
Free-feeding is OK.
When do you want her shot time? 7:30?
Now back up 30 minutes from that and test. 7:00 ?
Test at possible shot time 7:30
Evaluate if rising or falling.
Feed.
If she's under 200 no shot
if she's between 200-300, no shot if you won't be home; if home AND rising, a skinny 0.25 at most
If she's above 300 AND rising, between 0.25 to 0.5 units at most

No more 1 unit shots for now.
 
Any of the classic Fancy Feast are low carb.
Free-feeding is OK. They are lovin' this right now! :lol: I will make sure NO food after 5:00PM CORRECT ?
When do you want her shot time? 7:30? 7:30 would be nice
Now back up 30 minutes from that and test. 7:00 ? I will test her today at 7:00PM
Test at possible shot time 7:30 Then retest at 7:30PM
Evaluate if rising or falling.
Feed.
If she's under 200 no shot
if she's between 200-300, no shot if you won't be home; if home AND rising, a skinny 0.25 at most
If she's above 300 AND rising, between 0.25 to 0.5 units at most

No more 1 unit shots for now. Okay
 
BJM said:
With U-40 syringes Making A Reference Gauge May help for doses smaller than the measurement lines on the syringe.

(This makes use of geometry some of us encountered in high school or later.)

Thanks BJM. I will check it out. My geometry teacher told me that I was good in geometry because I "...have a creative mind." :lol:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top