Sue and Oliver (GA) said:Not a bad number at all, after 24 hours since the last shot and with all the mess yesterday.
It is hard to know since we are in new territory after her hypo. Some kitties are more sensitive to the insulin afterwards. If you can monitor, I think you can dose one unit. But you would want to get a 2-3 and +6. If that makes you nervous, you could give .5 it may not be enough to keep her numbers in the range you'd like, but you can always increase tonight. It is a little like the first few shots; we can't be sure how she will react.
It boils down to what you are comfortable with. After yesterday, you know what to do if she ever dips low again. But I understand if you are a little gun shy.
BJM said:If you go with 1 unit, you may wind up lowering it tonight. Why? With 1 unit, you may be "shooting through the bounce", ie keeping with a dose for 1 shot after a hypo incident to control the resulting high glucose level. Tonight, be very cautious; going down so low during a hypo/ low numbers incident generally earns a dose reduction of 0.25 units.
Sue and Oliver (GA) said:Did you use the new strips for today's amps? It wasn't low, which I would expect it to be if the strips were reading low.
BJM said:If you are concerned about the test strips, test yourself and let us know what you get.
misty1477 said:...I tested myself..... 130. ...
Sue and Oliver (GA) said:She is a little stressed out, BJ and probably had a lot of coffee this am?
BJM said:misty1477 said:...I tested myself..... 130. ...
When did you last eat? 130 for a fasting number would be on the high side.
Over 140 non-fasting and you should talk with your doc. (I'm an epidemiologist)
Sue and Oliver (GA) said:Looking good, Misty. She has had 2 rising tests; we'd like to see three. And you can't relax completely until you pass that +6 mark. So I would test again in 30 minutes to make sure she gets that 3rd rising number and then maybe a couple hours after that.
I do wonder about your amps. I wonder if it was a bad test and she was really lower than that. (Sometimes it is off because of too much or too little blood) But I didn't think about it since it was about what we would expect after 24 hours without insulin. But the drop at +2 (almost 300 points) was very unusual.
Regardless, you have done great. (It is easier the second time, don't you think?) and she is in much better numbers sooner than she was yesterday.
BJM said:I'm back; looking good, certainly better than yesterday's wild ride!
I notice that you shot almost an hour later than the pre-test. To check for rising numbers you need to test at +11.5 AND at pre-shot. Then look to see if the numbers rose, fell, or are about the same.
When did you feed?
329 ~ AMPS (7:30 AM)
1.00 unit (8:20 AM)
35 ~ +2 (10:20AM)
75 ~ +2.5 (11:07AM)
85 ~ +3.5 (12:00PM)
126 ~ +4.5 (12:35PM)
I did AMPS @ 7:30AM .... posted here....waited for response as what to do.
So by you saying "To check for rising numbers you need to test at 11.5 and at preshot" .... Oh God help me .... what time do I test & maybe shoot at the end of today? When should I test her next?
BJM said:Only leave out low carb food at this point, unless she starts dropping again.
misty1477 said:All she gets to eat is FF...that is low carb, correct?BJM said:Only leave out low carb food at this point, unless she starts dropping again.
Do you mean let her 'free-feed' for the rest of today?
These test times are so messed up today....what "times" should I test her?
Sorry guys...I am very stressed today....and I do not drink coffee ..... :lol: Actually....I wish I had an alcoholic beverage right now. :roll:![]()
Any of the classic Fancy Feast are low carb.
Free-feeding is OK. They are lovin' this right now! :lol: I will make sure NO food after 5:00PM CORRECT ?
When do you want her shot time? 7:30? 7:30 would be nice
Now back up 30 minutes from that and test. 7:00 ? I will test her today at 7:00PM
Test at possible shot time 7:30 Then retest at 7:30PM
Evaluate if rising or falling.
Feed.
If she's under 200 no shot
if she's between 200-300, no shot if you won't be home; if home AND rising, a skinny 0.25 at most
If she's above 300 AND rising, between 0.25 to 0.5 units at most
No more 1 unit shots for now. Okay
misty1477 said:I will make sure NO food after 5:00PM CORRECT ?
BJM said:With U-40 syringes Making A Reference Gauge May help for doses smaller than the measurement lines on the syringe.
(This makes use of geometry some of us encountered in high school or later.)