RUMPELTEAZER 11-25-13 AMPS = 138 -- OTJ TRIAL SOON???

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: RUMPELTEAZER 11-25-13 AMPS = 138 -- TRYING NO SHOT IF

Sorry, Misty, I didn't explain myself well. My concern was shooting a falling number under 150. This amps wasn't falling, so I think you could have shot it.

I think you could still skip and see what happens, or go ahead and shoot a little late if you can adjust for tonight. Either way no biggie - just gathering data. :mrgreen:
 
Re: RUMPELTEAZER 11-25-13 AMPS = 138 -- TRYING NO SHOT IF

Sue and Oliver (GA) said:
Sorry, Misty, I didn't explain myself well. My concern was shooting a falling number under 150. This amps wasn't falling, so I think you could have shot it.

I think you could still skip and see what happens, or go ahead and shoot a little late if you can adjust for tonight. Either way no biggie - just gathering data. :mrgreen:

I can still shoot. Will do 0.2 unit.

Any comments on doing an OTJ trial?
 
I don't know. You certainly could. You are shooting tiny amounts anyway....

The thing that I don't get about Rumpel is that food still brings her numbers up. The common "wisdom" is that, if their pancreas is working, food lowers their numbers. It's the usual test you try if you are wondering if there is pancreatic action. You feed. If the numbers go down, the pancreas is working. If the numbers go up, it isn't. But food has always brought up her numbers, right? Even when she is in the 100s.
 
Sue and Oliver (GA) said:
I don't know. You certainly could. You are shooting tiny amounts anyway....

The thing that I don't get about Rumpel is that food still brings her numbers up. The common "wisdom" is that, if their pancreas is working, food lowers their numbers. It's the usual test you try if you are wondering if there is pancreatic action. You feed. If the numbers go down, the pancreas is working. If the numbers go up, it isn't. But food has always brought up her numbers, right? Even when she is in the 100s.


Yes Sue....food always brings her numbers up. I guess this would mean that pancreas isn't working.

She has been a puzzle to all of us all along. I am confident that I am doing everything right with testing/food/doses/etc......maybe I am doing something wrong OR I just have to have a goofy sugarcat. :roll: :roll: :roll:
 
Misty, Simon isn't by the book on this either. Tonight I tried the test, feed, test thing and it did go down a little (waited 30 mins to retest after he ate about 1/4 to 1/3 can of FF. He went down five points. I always thought he would go up after eating. I had no idea that "wisdom" says the BS will go down after feeding in a cat. It goes UP in a human so this surprised me. But, this actually happened tonight although it was a small decrease but in 30 mins time, it was still a good result.

Maybe once you try an OTJ trial and see where Rumple's numbers go without any insulin it will be different and his pancreas will process food differently. I decided not to shoot Simon the other night on a 131 number because it was two hours late (I worked late) and thought why not skip it tonight since it is not a high number (hubby tested but did not shoot at his normal time) so I tried it and the next day, he was lower! So I skipped again and again and he has been going down ever since. I am praying it lasts but right now, we are in the OTJ trial.

I think you might try this since as Sue said, you are shooting very tiny doses anyway. It can't really hurt to see what 24 hours of no insulin brings him. Either way, he is definitely giving you some healing numbers lately. :smile:
 
122 @ 1:20AM
FF

AMPS = 138 @ 7:25AM

0.2 unit @ 8:30AM
FF

140 @ 1:30PM (+5)

PMPS = 188 @ 7:40PM

0.6 unit @ 8:30PM
 
Simon'sMommy said:
Misty, Simon isn't by the book on this either. Tonight I tried the test, feed, test thing and it did go down a little (waited 30 mins to retest after he ate about 1/4 to 1/3 can of FF. He went down five points. I always thought he would go up after eating. I had no idea that "wisdom" says the BS will go down after feeding in a cat. It goes UP in a human so this surprised me. But, this actually happened tonight although it was a small decrease but in 30 mins time, it was still a good result.

Maybe once you try an OTJ trial and see where Rumple's numbers go without any insulin it will be different and his pancreas will process food differently. I decided not to shoot Simon the other night on a 131 number because it was two hours late (I worked late) and thought why not skip it tonight since it is not a high number (hubby tested but did not shoot at his normal time) so I tried it and the next day, he was lower! So I skipped again and again and he has been going down ever since. I am praying it lasts but right now, we are in the OTJ trial.

I think you might try this since as Sue said, you are shooting very tiny doses anyway. It can't really hurt to see what 24 hours of no insulin brings him. Either way, he is definitely giving you some healing numbers lately. :smile:

On 11-22-13:
AMPS = 130 @ 7:40AM
Ate 2-1/2 cans FF
Shot 0.4 unit @ 8:30AM
58 @ 2:00PM (+5 nadir)
Ate 2 cans FF (lunch)
130 @ 3:40PM (+7)
PMPS = 194 @ 8:20PM

See how she reacts to food? Yes....she does eat alot. :roll:

Maybe I will try tomorrow...after I see what her AMPS looks like. With RumpelT.....everyday is a surprise. :YMSIGH:

I showed Rumpelteazer Simon's blues and greens on his ss. Told her that is how her sheet should be looking. She said she would try her best. :smile:
 
Here's a thought ... maybe she's eating a lot because the insulin is pushing here with hunger. And if she eats more than enough to match the insulin, the glucose goes up.


If you can spread her food out at all (frozen, maybe), her body might not spike without the insulin
 
BJM said:
Here's a thought ... maybe she's eating a lot because the insulin is pushing here with hunger. And if she eats more than enough to match the insulin, the glucose goes up.


If you can spread her food out at all (frozen, maybe), her body might not spike without the insulin

I am not sure if the way she eats (below) is spreading it out correctly. She is ravenous at meal time. :YMSIGH:
Here is her current feeding schedule:
Before AM shot = 2-1/2 cans FF
After (+5) test = 2 cans FF
Before PM Shot = 2-1/2 cans FF
After 1:30AM Test = 1/2 can FF

Sometimes she will scarf up whatever FF/Friskies the civvies left on their plates.
She eats real real real fast.
She weighs 11 pounds which is normal for her.
 
18+ oz of food per day for an 11 pound cat tells me something is off.

If I remember correctly, you've ruled out hyperthyroid,

I'm really thinking the insulin could be pushing the food consumption.
What's her activity level like?
Would you consider her overweight?
Does her appetite vary with the glucose level, ie., hungrier when lower?
What does her poop look like?
 
BJM said:
18+ oz of food per day for an 11 pound cat tells me something is off.

If I remember correctly, you've ruled out hyperthyroid,

I'm really thinking the insulin could be pushing the food consumption.
What's her activity level like?
Would you consider her overweight?
Does her appetite vary with the glucose level, ie., hungrier when lower?
What does her poop look like?

No hyperthyroid.
Activity = eat + groom + poop + pee + sleep ----- Was never a run-around-the-house-like-crazy kind of kitty.
She is not overweight. Was always around 11 pounds before FD set in.
Appetite is always the same. Ravenous !!!!
Poop is not as 'stinky' and 'goopie' since I only give her FF now. She might scarf a little Friskies from the civvies leftovers, but I "think" just having Friskies might have been causing the goopie-stinky poopies.

Confused as to what you mean by
insulin could be pushing the food consumption
. :smile:
 
Insulin causes glucose to enter the cells, removing it from the bloodstream.
Not enough glucose triggers hunger.
Hunger leads to eating.
Eating raises glucose back up.
If the insulin is gone by the time the glucose rises, the glucose stays elevated.

Thus, if you have too much insulin, it may result in extreme hunger.
 
Sue and Oliver (GA) said:
That is an incredible amount of food. I can't imagine that she eats that much and stays a reasonable weight. My 16 pound Maine Coon only ate 3 cans of FF daily.

You like your new vet, right? How about calling her and asking what might cause that kind of appetite. I did a search and came up with lots of ideas. Many won't fit her.

http://www.cat-world.com.au/increased-appetite-polyphagia-in-cats


She only started eating so much when diagnosed with FD. She always had a weird-shaped body....if I find a picture that I took and/or something I find online I will try to post it here.

Will give the vet a call. Maybe I can email her link to updated ss or something so she can see her numbers. I hope I don't have to take her for any tests....budget is out-of-wack due to snow tires purchase.

I will check out your link in a bit.

BTW-----can I have your 16 pound Maine Coon ???? I Love Maine Coons. :smile: :lol:
 
Oliver is gone-died of heart disease. He was 17 years old and had lived an indulged happy life. BTW, you don't need any more cats. :mrgreen:

Hope the vet has some ideas. She is eating an incredible amount of food - i would say it is definitely not normal.
 
Sue and Oliver (GA) said:
Oliver is gone-died of heart disease. He was 17 years old and had lived an indulged happy life. BTW, you don't need any more cats. :mrgreen:

Hope the vet has some ideas. She is eating an incredible amount of food - i would say it is definitely not normal.

:oops: I didn't know Oliver was your MC. Me bad. :oops:

I can deal with more cats...just not the sugar variety. :lol:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top