RUMPELTEAZER 10-8-13 AMPS = 112

Status
Not open for further replies.

misty1477

Very Active Member
No test before work

AMPS = 112 @ 7:45AM

0.2 unit @ 8:15AM

1 tsp Greek yogurt before breakfast
 
Nice pmps, Misty. I am glad - but amazed- that yesterday's cycle turned out okay. I know food brings her up, but that was a low number to shoot. Next time, I would sure skip.
 
Sue and Oliver (GA) said:
Nice pmps, Misty. I am glad - but amazed- that yesterday's cycle turned out okay. I know food brings her up, but that was a low number to shoot. Next time, I would sure skip.

Thanks Sue....I updated my notes. :smile:
 
No test before work

AMPS = 112 @ 7:45AM

0.2 unit @ 8:15AM

1 tsp Greek yogurt before breakfast

137 @ 1:15PM (+5)
 
Makes me think we need to see if there is a diluent for ProZinc; she's trying hard to get off the insulin.
 
BJM said:
Makes me think we need to see if there is a diluent for ProZinc; she's trying hard to get off the insulin.


:o :o :o :o :o :o

I wish.....I wish.....I wish.....

Is there a diluent? I never heard of anything like that.
 
Rumpelteazer WANTs to join Bubbles!!!! They can "sniff" the bottle together, and be Green!
Come on!! :smile:
The diluent would have to come from the pharmacy that compounds the PZI, I am thinking. Would your vet be able to purchase that for you?
 
greenae said:
Rumpelteazer WANTs to join Bubbles!!!! They can "sniff" the bottle together, and be Green!
Come on!! :smile:
The diluent would have to come from the pharmacy that compounds the PZI, I am thinking. Would your vet be able to purchase that for you?


:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :thumbup :thumbup :thumbup :thumbup

RumpelT has not been back to the vet since she told me to dose 1.5 units and RumpelT hypo'd. I was :twisted: at my vet. Story is in one of my posts somewhere on FDMB.

I don't even know if any vets in my area know very much about treating FD, let alone the diuent. :roll:

Guess I will have to do some research.

We cat_pet_icon GREEN. :-D :-D
 
No test before work

AMPS = 112 @ 7:45AM

0.2 unit @ 8:15AM

1 tsp Greek yogurt before breakfast

137 @ 1:15PM (+5)

PMPS = 200 @ 7:45PM

Little Less Than 0.8 unit @ 8:30PM

Guess I should start doing a test before I leave for work again...to see what goes on overnight.
 
So good in the am, not as good in the pm...Would 0.5u PZI for both doses do the trick?
As far as the diluent, I wonder if you could contact the company on the bottle?
 
greenae said:
So good in the am, not as good in the pm...Would 0.5u PZI for both doses do the trick?
As far as the diluent, I wonder if you could contact the company on the bottle?


I will think about the 0.5 AM/PM tomorrow. I work night-shift....soooo...I have to get to bed soon.....brain is tired + still have to give shot + clean up the mess my civvies make when they eat Friskies (get it all over the kitchen floor.....hmmm...almost forgot....as soon as I let RumpelT into the kitchen she is like the 'food vacuum'....LOL)

Will see about contacting the company tomorrow.
 
Good luck! And get some sleep. She seems very close. Bubbles numbers were similar last week, and I was down to what looked like 0.25u (altho,I really did not feel I was giving a precise/accurate dose), then all of a sudden her pancreas seemed to start working full time. ( I hope they keep behaving!) I am hoping the same happens for you. :smile:
 
greenae said:
Good luck! And get some sleep. She seems very close. Bubbles numbers were similar last week, and I was down to what looked like 0.25u (altho,I really did not feel I was giving a precise/accurate dose), then all of a sudden her pancreas seemed to start working full time. ( I hope they keep behaving!) I am hoping the same happens for you. :smile:


I guess Mr. P chose to visit/stay with Bubbles instead of RumpelT. No fair. :lol:
 
I have to say I like your scale, Misty. You are giving less than .5 on the lower numbers and a little more on the higher. I would not give .5 (which would be a hefty increase comparatively) on anything below 180 or so. You are giving more in the pm than in the am which might account for a lower amps; you could decrease a little for the pm shot.

But I really think her numbers are more food influenced than anything else - she eats more in the day than at night and she is higher then.
 
Sue and Oliver (GA) said:
I have to say I like your scale, Misty. You are giving less than .5 on the lower numbers and a little more on the higher. I would not give .5 (which would be a hefty increase comparatively) on anything below 180 or so. You are giving more in the pm than in the am which might account for a lower amps; you could decrease a little for the pm shot.

But I really think her numbers are more food influenced than anything else - she eats more in the day than at night and she is higher then.


I agree that food influences her numbers. I will add your info to/update my notebook. :smile:
 
Wouldn't eating during the day and not during the night warrant a larger dose for daytime and a smaller dose at night? Is it possible that 0.5u for each dose might be worth a shot (no pun intended :smile: ) That would lower the night time dose, raise the daytime dose and allow for more insulin to cover daytime eating, and maybe give a better daytime nadir. Just wondering?
 
Sue, I was not suggesting raising the dose. I was wondering/asking if lowering the PM dose to 0.5u might give a higher AMPS that she could comfortably give a 0.5u, which would allow a dose greater than 0.2u, to cover the eating she does during the day. And then she would be giving the same dose AM and PM, as was suggested to me when Bubbles PS numbers started to change/drop. Who knows? Maybe even 0.4u q 12h would work?
 
I am confused then. Mmisty is giving .2 in the 100 range, .4 under 150 and .8 if she gets a 200+. If you are suggesting lowering the .8 to .5, that's worth a try. But I wouldn't want to see her raise any of the other doses to .5

Rumpel is a puzzle that I have always felt would be solved by food. She is still eating too much for her regulated numbers, finishing off the other cat's food. Misty has tried most everything, feeding them all smaller meals during the day for example. But with multiple cats, it is hard.

I think there may also be a thyroid issue as she has such eating issues, but Misty struggles with finances and is reluctant to visit the vet.
 
It's not easy caring for our furry friends. I think we are all doing the best we can, and I am so glad we have this forum to learn, question, commiserate and share. :smile: Thank you all for being here!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top