RUMPELT-3-21-13-AMPS=294 then 328-191@+2-202@+4

Status
Not open for further replies.

misty1477

Member Since 2013
294 @ 7:15AM

NO SHOT SINCE .25 @ 8:35AM ON 3-19-13

Ate approximately 1/2 can FF before I went to work at 1:30AM (is that 'last night' or 'this morning' for people with normal life schedules???? :roll: )

Fed FF for breakfast

328 @ 8:15AM
.25 Shot @ 8:20AM
191 @ 10:20AM (+2) Only ate half of the 1 tsp FF treat after test


Is she regulating without insulin???? OR Are numbers okay because she has had NO DRY FOOD since the end of February ?????

Will be feeding now....any comments?
 
Re: RUMPELTEAZER - 3-21-13

This is so hard to advise, Misty. A cat, off insulin, should range from 40 -120, with the majority of the time in double digits. She is higher than that. But we know her pancreas is working to being her down some on her own and those drops to lower numbers are very unpredictable. I think she needs a tiny bit of insulin to help out. But to give it, you will need to monitor and intervene if she drops low.

If she were mine (and I am VERY aware she is not) first I would retest to see if she is headed up or down. If up, I would give her a drop of insulin and test at +2 to see how she is headed. If she drops low early, go on Health and get guidance. (it will be the same routine you did before, feeding small amounts of food and testing every 15 minutes). I will not be around today and will be leaving on a 9 day trip tomorrow, so I can't be here to help past the next 4 hours.

I don't know what Carl would advise. He and I have been talking off the board and he is aware that most of us do advocate micro dosing. He doesn't want to confuse you so he says he won't advise on dosing. I wish this weren't the case; I would rather you got 2 views and decided on your own.

It could be that she will continue to come down without insulin, but I think she needs some insulin to help her out. One of the measures we use is the renal threshold. Any time spent above 250 is hard on her organs. We want her to run under that number. She is not doing that consistently on her own.

I am sorry I will not be around to guide you for the next week+. I will send a pm to Robin and Donna and BJ and ask them to weigh in.
 
re: 3/21/13 Rumpelteazer AMPS 294

She is still above where it is safe for her body.

The renal threshold, the level at which glucose is high enough to spillout through the kidneys, is about 240.

Levels in a diabetic cat need to be no lower than 50 with as much time as possible spent below 240.

Optional: if you title your 1st post of the day with the AMPS, and edit the 1st post w/ successive glucose levels, it provides a quick mini-summary during the day.
Ex 3/21/13 Rumpelteazer AMPS 294, ###, ###, etc
 
Re: RUMPELTEAZER - 3-21-13

I agree RumpelT needs some insulin to help out. If it were my kitty, I would shoot some insulin at that amps. But, I am fully aware you have a different schedule than I, and if you shoot insulin, you need to be around to test and possibly feed some higher carb food to keep the numbers from dropping too low.

You have to take care of you, so you can take care of your kitty. So you have to sleep and you have to work. I know this is a hard problem, but only you can answer what you need to do.

If you do decide to shoot, .25 would be a good place to start I think. No more for sure. It's possible a drop or two may help, but I do not know much about micro-dosing so I can't weigh in on that. And only if you can get a +2 reading and feed some food with carbs in it if the cat starts to go low.

I am here today but in and out. You can PM me if you need help, and I will check in as often as I can.
 
Re: RUMPELTEAZER - 3-21-13

Thanks Sue....

I will test her now and see where she is after food.

I wish Carl would continue to give his take on dosing. I like to have all the info I can get. :smile:

His awesomely jumbo post the other night was very helpful.

Anyhooo...Have A Nice Vacation, Sue !!! :-D
 
Re: RUMPELTEAZER - 3-21-13

donnahc said:
I agree RumpelT needs some insulin to help out. If it were my kitty, I would shoot some insulin at that amps. But, I am fully aware you have a different schedule than I, and if you shoot insulin, you need to be around to test and possibly feed some higher carb food to keep the numbers from dropping too low.

You have to take care of you, so you can take care of your kitty. So you have to sleep and you have to work. I know this is a hard problem, but only you can answer what you need to do.

If you do decide to shoot, .25 would be a good place to start I think. No more for sure. And only if you can get a +2 reading and feed some food with carbs in it if the cat starts to go low.

I am here today but in and out. You can PM me if you need help, and I will check in as often as I can.

I will test her now and give .25 shot. It has been about 1 hour since she ate. I will be able to test her throughout the day.
 
Re: RUMPELTEAZER - 3-21-13

328 @ 8:15AM

This is about 1 hour after first test + food.

I will shoot .25.
 
Re: RUMPELTEAZER - 3-21-13

Ok Misty. Let us know where you are at around +1.5 or 2. I'll be checking in.

Do you have any high carb wet food on hand? Food like "gravy lovers", something that has gravy in it, which means flour, which means higher carb and will bring up low numbers when you feed it?

Also, while I think of it, I see you are in PA. Me too. Where a bouts, if you don't mind me asking?

Let me know about the food. It is really necessary with your cat to have a hypo kit ready to go. No to scare you, but we ALL have to be ready for low numbers. So Karo or honey, low carb and high carb food, etc. I always say if I am prepared, it is insurance against needing the supplies.

Keep us posted.
 
Re: RUMPELTEAZER - 3-21-13

donnahc said:
Ok Misty. Let us know where you are at around +1.5 or 2. I'll be checking in.

Do you have any high carb wet food on hand? Food like "gravy lovers", something that has gravy in it, which means flour, which means higher carb and will bring up low numbers when you feed it?

Also, while I think of it, I see you are in PA. Me too. Where a bouts, if you don't mind me asking?


I will test at +1.5 or 2. I have honey ... and here are the FF flavors I have:
Chopped Grill Feast - Classic
Tender Liver & Chicken Feast - Classic
Turkey & Giblets Feast - Classic
Tender Beef Feast - Classic
Tender Beef & Liver Feast - Classic

Jeepers Cats....just got 48 cans on Monday....have to get more tomorrow. 6 out of my 7 are eating FF now !!!


I live in Dallas....only a few hours from you.
 
Re: RUMPELTEAZER - 3-21-13

It's great you have converted 5/6! At some point, you could consider Friskies pâtés. They are cheaper and come in bigger cans.

You need a few cans of gravy lovers or chicken in gravy - those kinds of FF flavors. If she goes low, you can pour off the gravy and give her it, and with just a few extra carbs bring low numbers up. Mark them as high carb so you don't feed them regularly. Doing that is a longer fix than Karo.
 
Re: re: 3/21/13 Rumpelteazer AMPS 294

BJM said:
She is still above where it is safe for her body.

The renal threshold, the level at which glucose is high enough to spillout through the kidneys, is about 240.

Levels in a diabetic cat need to be no lower than 50 with as much time as possible spent below 240.

Optional: if you title your 1st post of the day with the AMPS, and edit the 1st post w/ successive glucose levels, it provides a quick mini-summary during the day.
Ex 3/21/13 Rumpelteazer AMPS 294, ###, ###, etc

I entered your info in my log book ... have been making notes as people post....so I can keep track.

I will update my first post today with her test results as you suggested.

Thanks.
 
Re: RUMPELTEAZER - 3-21-13

Oh, You're right up the turnpike past Wilke Barre. So yeah, hour and a half. Cool :-D

Yes, I too would advise making sure you have some sort of gravy food on hand always. Today if you can get it. I never let my supply dwindle below 2 cans. You can steer the numbers with food, and high carb gravy food is the easiest way to do it I find.

Keep us posted momma. you're doin' good!
 
Re: RUMPELTEAZER - 3-21-13

Sue and Oliver (GA) said:
It's great you have converted 5/6! At some point, you could consider Friskies pâtés. They are cheaper and come in bigger cans.

You need a few cans of gravy lovers or chicken in gravy - those kinds of FF flavors. If she goes low, you can pour off the gravy and give her it, and with just a few extra carbs bring low numbers up. Mark them as high carb so you don't feed them regularly. Doing that is a longer fix than Karo.


I was looking at the Friskies in my local store .... noticed that they contained "rice" so I didn't get them. Wish they didn't make the print so darn small on cans....will have to remember to take my glasses shopping with me. :lol: :lol: Knowing my crew....they would not all like the same flavor....at least with the FF, the fuss-pots can get a flavor they will eat....It's A Smorgasboard !!!! :roll: :roll: :lol: :lol:

Since I will be going to store later today or most likely tomorrow...I will grab a few cans of the 'gravy' type. If I do need them today (I HOPE I DON'T) the store is only 2 miles from my house....real quick to get there & back.
 
Re: RUMPELTEAZER - 3-21-13

A tiny bit of rice helps hold the food together during processing and the product may still have < 10% of calories from carbohydrates.

If your cat has an allergy to rice, then by all means avoid it. If the carb calories fall within the 10% level and the cat likes it, go for it.

"The dose makes the poison"
 
Re: RUMPELTEAZER - 3-21-13

BJM said:
A tiny bit of rice helps hold the food together during processing and the product may still have < 10% of calories from carbohydrates.

If your cat has an allergy to rice, then by all means avoid it. If the carb calories fall within the 10% level and the cat likes it, go for it.

"The dose makes the poison"

Thanks for the info. No allergies as far as I know. Just "flavor-fussy" kittehs. It is a cat-thing. :roll:
 
Re: RUMPELTEAZER - 3-21-13

Yes cats are fussy. Thank god Asher likes the gravy food so he eats it when I need him to. We joke that he goes low some nights just so he can be served his favorite gravy :lol:

So in about 15 mins you are gonna test a +2?
 
Re: RUMPELTEAZER - 3-21-13

Have my cell-phone alarm set :lol:

Will post results in my first post of today...like BJM suggested.
 
Re: RUMPELTEAZER - 3-21-13 - TEST RESULTS UPDATED IN FIRST P

Misty,
BJ meant for you to update the "subject line" on your first post. So it would read "AMPS ~ 294, +2 ~ 191, "

That way people can see the numbers before even opening the thread.

After each test, you just edit it again.

I would give her just a tsp of low carb food and test again at +4.

Carl
 
Re: RUMPELTEAZER - 3-21-13 - TEST RESULTS UPDATED IN FIRST P

Carl & Bob said:
Misty,
BJ meant for you to update the "subject line" on your first post. So it would read "AMPS ~ 294, +2 ~ 191, "

That way people can see the numbers before even opening the thread.

After each test, you just edit it again.

I would give her just a tsp of low carb food and test again at +4.

Carl


Ooooops....had a 'stupid moment' with the subject line thing. I 'thought' that is what I was supposed to do. Give me a "DUHHHH".

Will tsp and do +4.
 
Re: RUMPELTEAZER - 3-21-13 - TEST RESULTS UPDATED IN FIRST P

I think a 191 is good. If I were you I'd test again at +3, then if all is well you could wait again until a little later.

Edit: do what Carl said...sounds like good advice to me!

My cat always nadired (low point) a little later in the day, like +7 but other cats nadir earlier. Dunno what RumpelT has done for you, she may not have a pattern yet since her pancreas makes random appearances and you guys are pretty new to shooting insulin.
 
Re: RUMPELTEAZER- 3-21-13- AMPS=294 then 328 - 191 @ +2

Hi Misty,

I'll be around most of the day today too if something comes up.

A hint for the higher carb or gravy food, any foods for that matter is to write the carb % on the top of the can with a sharpie, that way you will know at a glance if the carb % is 4%, 8% or 16%.

If you test and get a low (hypo) number and begin to panic, that is not the time to run around looking for the food charts to determine the carbs, it's especially helpful when steering the numbers because you may be able to bring her #'s up by feeding a medium carb food like 10 to 14% instead of squirting karo in her mouth and having to deal with the carb overload later.
 
Re: RUMPELTEAZER- 3-21-13- AMPS=294 then 328 - 191 @ +2

Rob & Harley (GA) said:
Hi Misty,

I'll be around most of the day today too if something comes up. Cool

A hint for the higher carb or gravy food, any foods for that matter is to write the carb % on the top of the can with a sharpie, that way you will know at a glance if the carb % is 4%, 8% or 16%. Great idea + I love "sharpies" ... yellow highlighters too. :smile:

If you test and get a low (hypo) number and begin to panic, that is not the time to run around looking for the food charts to determine the carbs, it's especially helpful when steering the numbers because you may be able to bring her #'s up by feeding a medium carb food like 10 to 14% instead of squirting karo in her mouth and having to deal with the carb overload later.
 
Re: RUMPELTEAZER- 3-21-13- AMPS=294 then 328 - 191 @ +2

misty1477 said:
Rob & Harley (GA) said:
Hi Misty,

I'll be around most of the day today too if something comes up. Cool

A hint for the higher carb or gravy food, any foods for that matter is to write the carb % on the top of the can with a sharpie, that way you will know at a glance if the carb % is 4%, 8% or 16%. Great idea + I love "sharpies" ... yellow highlighters too. :smile:

If you test and get a low (hypo) number and begin to panic, that is not the time to run around looking for the food charts to determine the carbs, it's especially helpful when steering the numbers because you may be able to bring her #'s up by feeding a medium carb food like 10 to 14% instead of squirting karo in her mouth and having to deal with the carb overload later.

Me too :-D
 
NOTES FROM THIS MORNING:
NO SHOT SINCE .25 @ 8:35AM ON 3-19-13
Ate approximately 1/2 can FF before I went to work at 1:30AM (is that 'last night' or 'this morning' for people with normal life schedules???? :roll: )
Fed FF for breakfast



294 @ 7:15AM
328 @ 8:15AM
.25 Shot @ 8:20AM
191 @ 10:20AM (+2) Only ate half of the 1 tsp FF treat after test
202 @ 12:20PM (+4) Ate little more than 1 tsp FF treat after test
 
misty1477 said:
NOTES FROM THIS MORNING:
NO SHOT SINCE .25 @ 8:35AM ON 3-19-13
Ate approximately 1/2 can FF before I went to work at 1:30AM (is that 'last night' or 'this morning' for people with normal life schedules???? :roll: )
Fed FF for breakfast



294 @ 7:15AM
328 @ 8:15AM
.25 Shot @ 8:20AM
191 @ 10:20AM (+2) Only ate half of the 1 tsp FF treat after test
202 @ 12:20PM (+4) Ate little more than 1 tsp FF treat after test
227 @ 2:34PM (+6) Ate 1 tsp FF treat after test
 
misty1477 said:
misty1477 said:
NOTES FROM THIS MORNING:
NO SHOT SINCE .25 @ 8:35AM ON 3-19-13
Ate approximately 1/2 can FF before I went to work at 1:30AM (is that 'last night' or 'this morning' for people with normal life schedules???? :roll: )
Fed FF for breakfast
294 @ 7:15AM
328 @ 8:15AM
.25 Shot @ 8:20AM
191 @ 10:20AM (+2) Only ate half of the 1 tsp FF treat after test
202 @ 12:20PM (+4) Ate little more than 1 tsp FF treat after test
227 @ 2:34PM (+6) Ate 1 tsp FF treat after test
282 @ 4:30PM (+8) Ate 1 tsp FF treat after test
 
misty1477 said:
misty1477 said:
misty1477 said:
NOTES FROM THIS MORNING:
NO SHOT SINCE .25 @ 8:35AM ON 3-19-13
Ate approximately 1/2 can FF before I went to work at 1:30AM (is that 'last night' or 'this morning' for people with normal life schedules???? :roll: )
Fed FF for breakfast
294 @ 7:15AM
328 @ 8:15AM
.25 Shot @ 8:20AM
191 @ 10:20AM (+2) Only ate half of the 1 tsp FF treat after test
202 @ 12:20PM (+4) Ate little more than 1 tsp FF treat after test
227 @ 2:34PM (+6) Ate 1 tsp FF treat after test
282 @ 4:30PM (+8) Ate 1 tsp FF treat after test
302 @ 7:20PM (+11) Fed FF for supper

Ha Ha....Question of the day......TO SHOOT or NOT TO SHOOT ? :YMSIGH:
 
Well I think that is a shoot able number but do you feel ok shooting when you will be at work?
Can u feed more or leave food out?
 
donnahc said:
Well I think that is a shoot able number but do you feel ok shooting when you will be at work?
Can u feed more or leave food out?

I can shoot .25 unit now & leave some food out when I leave for work (about 1:00AM).
 
Rob & Harley (GA) said:
That sounds reasonable, can you test in between to see where she is headed?


Gave her .25 unit. Cannot test in between....going to sleep now. Will leave some FF out before I go to work @ 1:00AM ... or 1:30AM. Hoping I don't oversleep.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top