Ruby 2/18 (with a recap of last night's curve)

Status
Not open for further replies.

arozeboom

Very Active Member
AMPS 405

Last night
PMPS 407
+4 284
+6 242
+8 210
+10 262

Almost exactly 2 hours between +10 and +12 and HUGE jump. Can anyone explain that?
 
I can't explain it, but it is not abnormal. Last night Kitty was 121 at +8--her pm preshot due to tid dosing. I waited 1.5 hours and she was close to 280--more than doubled! What I have found with Prozinc is, once it is out of the body--be that 8, 10, or 12 hours---it is GONE!!!! So, my take is Ruby got 10 hours of duration last night. You might shoot the same dose today and get 12 hours of duration-- it is just part of the variability of the cycle.

Hang in there!
 
I read through yesterdays thread and I think that shooting early probably will only mess with your schedule.

Maybe we can try to make her late nadirs work for her. Now that you've gotten her to shootable numbers at both PS's maybe increase the dose scale to push her nadir back to later again but not too low, make sure she is rising and shoot that.

Lets see what others think.
 
+6 220
Pretty good!

She and I finally went to bed around 7:00. For the first time in weeks she slept in the bed with me. Now she's perky with lots of purrs and she keeps wanting to have her ears and tummy scratched.

What kind of increase do you think?
 
Very nice whole cat report.

I was thinking an increase of .1u at a time to be able to shoot a decent number, not too high and not too low.
 
Tremendous that Ru is feeling good and asking for attention! Best of luck with the .5 tonight. We’re rootin’ for Ruby!
 
Very happy that there is a great "whole Cat" report
Good luck on the small increase, somtimes that is all it takes!
 
We do really appreciate everyone's support and encouragement. It really goes help to know you all have our backs!
 
Out of curiosity...will you be testing Ruby a couple hours before PS? To see is she has a definite pattern of zooming up those last couple of hours?
 
Yup. I'm going to test her in about 20 minutes, which will be +10. I think I'll do it at +11 also.

I have another question...I was really late cleaning the litter box today after pulling the all nighter. Ru and Midgie have always shared a box and have never had any problems.
I just went to clean it and one of them had peed just outside of the box. So close that its entirely likely that they were actually in the box, but their bum wasn't all the way in.
Its obvious the box needed to be cleaned so it very well could be from that, all the litter had been pushed towards the front of the box. But, with as quiet as Ru is
this weekend, I'm worried that the bladder infection is back. Is there a home test, or do I need to wait until Monday and go to the vet? She's notoriously bad about urine tests
at the vet. Not that I think she's likely to let me try to test her here. She's EXTREMELY private about her box habits. If we walk into the utility room while she's going about her business,
she will literally stop in the middle and take off until we leave.
 
+10 379

We're on the way back up.
On the good side, she's running around and playing like a kitten right now.
 
If she jumps the last 2 hours you will probably see a red preshot... I don't know anything about microdosing but I wonder if she is getting enough insulin? Just doesn't seem like you are getting traction. Also, seems as if nadir has plenty of room to go down. IDK but I'll let those more familiar weigh in.
 
arozeboom said:
+11 441

Fuuuuuudge. I'm thinking we've probably got a vet visit in our near future.

I guess I was typing when you posted this. Not nice if you plan on waiting the hr. Doesn't seem like there is enough insulin to hold her.
 
I started her on dinner early so I can get a shot into her. I don't want her to go any higher.

I went with a fat .5.
 
Amy - I do not know or understand all the differences in insulins. With that said, understanding your frustrations with Ruby's high PSs, I've been scratching my head trying to figure it all out.

I know ProZinc has a duration of 10-14 hours. I have no idea what the PZI duration range is (and can't find it on the web). I know you've thought of changing to Lantus, hoping for better numbers for Ruby, but the change in how it works has slowed your switch. Have you given any thought to trying ProZinc instead of PZI? It's very much like PZI, but also a bit different. It still has the ease of no shed, so that's good, but perhaps ProZinc will last a bit longer in Ruby than the PZI. No insulin acts identically in every cat (one of those ECID things), so they may act the same or very different in Ruby.

Ruby obviously goes through the insulin well before the next shot time. Maybe it's the type of insulin. Worth a thought anyway.

I wonder what the other more experienced folks think?????
 
Robin can prob give you more info on other insulins. I know she used Lantus for awhile. Marcy and Klinger have used all the insulins I think.
Sue probably follows some folks from here that have switched. I am not good at getting on the other boards often. I know Barbara and Thumper, and Sue and Samwise have switched from PZ.

When I was thinking of switching, I posted our info/background on the lantus and lev boards and asked what people thought. My current vet says he saves Lantus for cats that won’t regulate on ProZync. I threatened to switch twice, and our numbers got better :lol: :lol: :lol: So it’s good to threaten anyway!

All joking aside, I was afraid to leave the flexibility of PZ. My schedule is weird, sometimes I work at night, weird hours, get held up way later than I expect, sometimes I have to slide Asher around or we have to make sure Tom or I can be here when we normally wouldn’t. The tighter “rules” with Lantus scared me off a bit, but obviously I would do it if it would be best for my kitty.
 
I threatened to switch her and it seem like she's just gotten worse!
My schedule is really my big hesitation. Yes, most of the time I have pretty regular hours but if I need to stay late at the office, I only find out shortly before I would normally leave. I also very rarely get away at lunch. Ruby won't let the husband do anything to her but play and pet so I'm pretty much on my own for the testing and shooting.

I've posted on the Lantus boards and they were encouraging but talked about how "tight" the regulation needs to be. I don't have room to get much tighter.

I am curious to hear from anyone who has switched away from Lantus, why they did switch.
 
+4 274

I'm not doing another curve on her tonight. I might check her once more before I go to bed, but I'm going to give her a break for the most part, now that I know she's back to a better range for awhile.
 
I've tried Lantus twice and twice came running back to PZ.

It's a long story but the last time I switched to Lantus was because I had Harley so well regulated on PZ that I was dosing as needed, sometimes going days and weeks without insulin. I wanted OTJ sooooo bad that I thought if I switched to Lantus I could shoot lower numbers and finally get him off insulin. Shortly before the switch he was dx as a kidney kitty. When we made the switch he became unregulated again and I couldn't get it under control. Was it his kidneys? Maybe. Did being unregulated finish his kidneys off? Maybe. I'll never know for sure. But at this point I wish I had stayed with PZ and being regulated. It may have given me a little more time with him but the end result would have been the same, his kidneys failed.

Our story is different than yours, but you asked.

Feel free to look at our ss.

Robin
 
Sorry, I lost him about a month ago, I havn't had the heart to put the GA behind our names. I guess I should go do it now. I think I want to change his avatar too.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top